滨海湾金沙艺术科学博物馆 2015 年艺术科学常驻计划滨海湾金沙艺术科学博物馆 2015 年艺术科学常驻计划

感谢参观,此展览现已结束

2015 年艺术科学常驻计划

艺术科学博物馆是 2015 年艺术/科学常驻计划的荣誉合作伙伴,该计划由 IDMI 艺术与创造实验室和新加坡国立大学香灰莉木学院联合创办。

感谢您访问 2015 年艺术科学常驻计划,此活动已结束。请访问近期展览页面以查看更多近期展览。
 
  • 艺术家
  • TeZ 访谈
意大利跨学科艺术家 Maurizio Martinucci (TeZ)

Maurizio Martinucci

今年,我们很高兴能够邀请到意大利跨学科艺术家 Maurizio Martinucci (TeZ) 于 2 月至 5 月期间驻留新加坡。 他将利用 4 个月驻留时间开始其为期两年的项目 Bioluminescent Drifter Swarms。 TeZ 与他的同伴美国科学家 David Fries 共同设想和开发该项目,最后将创造出非凡的水生生物,具有编配声音和光影舞台效果,同时美化场景并收集科学数据的功能。 随着项目推进将在此处增添更多信息。
 
您可于 2015 年 5 月 7 日(周四)在艺术科学后期欣赏 TeZ 的另一个项目 PV868

我们针对 TeZ 的常驻计划、创作灵感以及将艺术和科学结合运用的价值对他进行了采访。 如需了解更多详情,请参见 TeZ 访谈选项卡。

您能否简单概括一下您计划在常驻期间进行的项目?
 
主要项目就是设计能够在海洋或其它水生环境中进行科学操作,并可在露出水面时做出声光编排动作的自主水下机器人 (AUV)。 按照一定顺序排列的声光信号将形成某种元语言,在传达水下分析结果的同时,以一种合乎审美的方式表达出来。 该项目的暂定名称为 "BDS",即“Bioluminescent Drifter Swarms”的首字母缩写。 事实上,这项工作将耗时两年时间,在新加坡启动,并将在佛罗里达州和荷兰继续。
 
其它卫星艺术/科学项目(其中大多数与生态和可持续发展有关)将与 NUS 的学生以及新加坡的其它城区农场主、极客和市民科学家团体共同开展。 其中一个项目就是调查脉冲电信号信号对土壤的影响以提高种子和植物的生长和健康水平。
 
另一个项目则将关注通过超指向性超声波脉冲,例如水中的天然激光束,来刺激浮游生物发光的可能性,例如
 
您常驻期间的工作灵感从何而来?
 
我特别想要创作一个或多个水下艺术项目。 我是一名潜水员,并经常被海洋环境中的迷人生物所吸引。 后来,我结识了南佛罗里达大学一位同样对艺术抱有激情的科学家 David Fries,他恰好是 AUV 领域的一位优秀专家。
 
David 是我在 BDS 项目中的合作伙伴。 我们集思广益,想出了设计可以在水中刺激生物发光的仿天然水下无人机的思路。 大多数人认为无人机会飞行在空中,而地面机器人也已发展得相当完善,很少有人会思考并关注水下运载工具所能胜任的巨大应用范围。 不过新加坡则是这其中的例外,每一年,SAUVC(新加坡自主水下机器人挑战赛)都会在此召开。
 
新加坡和艺术科学博物馆具体将怎样为您的常驻项目获得成果提供支持?
 
在 SAUVC 的带动下,新加坡成为全世界仅有的 3 个将这项技术和应用作为国际和公共事业进行推广的国家之一,重视程度甚至超过军事或专项领域。 新加坡无疑是一块发展先进技术应用的肥沃土壤,并似乎已在可持续发展和城市发展的策略制定方面占据了特殊的地位。
 
同样的,艺术科学博物馆在向大众展示跨学科教育对于支持与当今所有人类活动所面临挑战的步伐相一致的新范式的关键性方面,也是成绩卓著。 我实在无法想到比现在正在展出的《Da Vinci》展览更好的示例来说明这一点。 我很荣幸能被选中,在这样一个久负盛名的场所来代表那些将艺术与科学加以融合的新兴从业人员。
 
您如何看待艺术和科学在您工作中的相关性?
 
单这一个问题就得花上很多篇幅才能详细说明! 不过,我总是说,在寻求统一多个学科而不是尝试跨越它们的整体主义范式下观察和实践时,艺术和科学之间没有真正的差别。
 
我很喜欢艺术科学博物馆的名称并没有将“艺术”和“科学”这两个词分开的做法! 这非常关键,而且是激发公众的潜在意识,并推翻将学科进行分割和专门化的传统观点的最佳方式。
 
在我的作品中,我曾提出"光谱感觉器官"的定义,旨在涵盖模态现象的多样性以及将这些现象转化为我们的意识的认知机制。 因此,我的作品会探索"所有会震动的东西",并力求通过更加传统或突破传统的方式来将声、光、电、磁、化学和机械波动传达至人类的"感觉所在地"(感觉器官)。 我更倾向于把它视为一项开放性的跨学科研究,而不是一种艺术创作策略。 艺术品会自然而然地从通常出人意料的实验吸引力中显现出来。
 
您希望在常驻期间结束时能获得怎样的成果?
 
我希望至少能完成 BDS 第一阶段的实用性设计,可能还有用 NUS 声学研究实验室提供的一些激动人心的机器人进行的实验,David 将在实验中安装一些用于光谱测定和光/视频投影的新型光学传感器/驱动器。 这是负责将艺术和科学加以结合的核心技术!
 
我还会努力开展电气栽培方面的工作,并希望能在其它地点进行平行实验,这将展示出在利用天然能源(太阳能、水和空气)的前提下,电力对植物的潜在有利影响。 我还会用照片和视频来记录这些实验。
 
生物发光性浮游生物电波也在此次常驻计划的工作范围内,工作时可在水槽内显示
 
您希望人们能从您常驻计划的结果中学到些什么?
 
人们会了解到水下无人机的新浪潮以及它们永久性的潜在用途。 他们还将了解到能够促进植物生长和健康的无形现象。 也许他们还能学到光能够通过化学和天然方法产生,而这是最常用的水下沟通方式。
 
我希望人们能够通过各种"出人意料"而大开眼界。 只要一百个人里有一个人能生出好奇心,并继续关注我的实验所提出的开放式问题,我就认为我的常驻计划是成功的!

Art Science Residency 2015 at ArtScience Museum, Marina Bay SandsArt Science Residency 2015 at ArtScience Museum, Marina Bay Sands

ART SCIENCE RESIDENCY 2015

ArtScience Museum is the proud partner of the 2015 Art/Science Residency Programme, which is hosted by the IDMI Arts and Creativity Lab and Tembusu College at the National University of Singapore.

Thanks for visiting Art/Science Residency 2015, this event has ended. Visit our What's On page for more upcoming exhibitions.
 
  • Artist
  • Interview with TeZ
Italian interdisciplinary artist, Maurizio Martinucci (TeZ)

Maurizio Martinucci

This year, we are delighted to invite Italian interdisciplinary artist, Maurizio Martinucci (TeZ) to Singapore from February - May, who will use the four-month long residency to begin his two-year project Bioluminescent Drifter Swarms. The project, ideated and developed in collaboration with TeZ’s fellow American scientist David Fries, will result in the creation of extraordinary aquatic creatures, with capabilities for orchestrated choreographies of sound and light, enhancing scenic and collecting science data simultaneously. More information will be added here as the project progresses.
 
You can enjoy another of TeZ’s project, PV868, at ArtScience Late on Thursday, 7 May 2015.

We interviewed TeZ about his residency and project, his inspirations, and the value of using art and science together. For more details, please refer to the Interview with TeZ tab.

Can you briefly summarize the project you are working on during your residency?
 
The main project consists in the design of autonomous underwater vehicles (AUVs)s that can perform scientific operations in marine or other aquatic environments, as well as orchestrated choreographies of sound and light when they emerge to the surface. The sequences of sonic and luminous signals will form some kind of meta-language for communicating the findings of the underwater analysis while offering an aesthetic form of expression. This project has the working title "BDS", Bioluminescent Drifter Swarms. It's in fact a two years endeavor that begins here in Singapore and will continue in Florida and Holland.
 
Other satellite art/science projects, mostly dealing with ecology and sustainability, will be conducted together with students at NUS and other groups of urban farmers, geeks, hackers and citizen scientists in Singapore. One of these projects is investigating the effect of pulsed electric signals to the soil in order to improve the growth and health of seeds and plants.
 
Another project will look at the possibility of stimulating bioluminescence in plankton through ultra-directional ultrasonic pulses, like natural laser beams in water.
 
What inspired your work for your residency?
 
I really wanted to develop one or more art projects underwater. I'm a scuba diver and have always been fascinated by the incredible life of the marine environment. I then met David Fries, a scientist at the University of South Florida, who shares a great passion for art too, and he's a great expert on AUVs.
 
David is my partner in the BDS project. We brainstormed the idea of designing nature-mimicking underwater drones that would simulate bioluminescence in the water. While most people look up in the sky for drones, and land robotics is also well developed, not many people are thinking and looking yet at the immense range of applications that underwater vehicles can offer. A notable exception to this is Singapore, however, where the international event SAUVC (Singapore Autonomous Underwater Vehicles Challenge) is organized every year.
 
How do Singapore and the ArtScience museum specifically lend themselves to the success of your residency?
 
With SAUVC, Singapore is among the only 3 countries in the world that is promoting this technology and applications as an international and public endeavor, beyond the military or other exclusive domains. Singapore is definitely a fertile ground for advanced technological applications and seems to occupy a specific position when it comes to devising strategies for sustainability and urban development.
 
Similarly, ArtScience Museum is excellent in showing the general public how interdisciplinary education is pivotal for embracing new paradigms that keep up with the current pace of changes in all human activities. I really can't think of a better example for this than the ongoing Da Vinci show. I am honored to have been chosen to represent this emerging strand of hybrid art-science practitioners at such a prestigious venue.
 
How do you see art and science being related in your work?
 
This question alone would take too many pages to be exhaustive! However, I always remark that there's no real difference between art and science when seen and practiced under a holistic paradigm that seeks to unite the disciplines rather than attempts to bridge them.
 
I like that the ArtScience museum doesn't really separate the words in its name! That is crucial and it’s the best way to reach the public subconscious, overriding the conventional notions of separated and specialised disciplines.
 
In my work I came up with the definition of "Spectral Sensorium" that aims at encompassing the diversity of modal phenomena and the mechanisms of perceptions that render these phenomena to our consciousness. My work thus explores "all that vibrates" and seeks for more or less conventional ways to present acoustic, optic, electric, magnetic, chemical and mechanical waves to the "seat of sensations" (sensorium) of human beings. I see it more like open-ended interdisciplinary research rather than a strategy for artistic creation. The artwork will naturally emerge from the often unexpected allure of the experiments.
 
What do you hope to achieve at the end of your residency?
 
I'm hoping to create at least the first practical design of the BDS, and maybe experiment with some of the existing vehicles by Acoustic Research Lab at NUS where we'd like to install some novel optical sensors/actuators by David that will function for both spectrometry and light/video projection. That's the core technology that will perform both the art and the science!
 
Also I'm working hard on the electroculture side and hoping to run parallel experiments at different locations that will show the potentially beneficial effects of electricity on plants, utilizing natural sources of energy (solar, water and atmospheric). I will document these experiments in pictures and videos too.
 
The bioluminescent plankton beams is also in the scope of this residency and, when working, could be on display in a tank.
 
What do you hope people can learn from the results of your residency?
 
People will learn about the new wave of underwater drones and their potential use for good. They will also learn about invisible phenomena that promote growth and health in the green world. Perhaps they'll also learn that light can be produced chemically and naturally, and that it's the most common means of communication underwater.
 
I hope people will just be fascinated by the "unexpected". If one person in every hundred becomes curious and keeps looking at the open questions of my experiments I would consider the residency a success!