增强能力

展览的第一部分介绍了增强人类身心的物理和生物科技。从增强人体机能的修复术,到改变人类思维方式的医疗干预,这部分展览探讨了成为半机器人意味着什么。

展示的作品来自:Aimee Mullins、House of Natural Fiber、SPRINT and WAAG Society、Sophie de Oliveira Barata、Addie Wagenknecht、Corinne Mariaud、ORLAN、Marc Owens、Lorenz Potthast、Chris Woebken 和 Kenichi Okada、Nina Sellars、Stelarc、Neil Harbisson、Moon Ribas 以及动力博物馆(悉尼)藏品。

《地震臂和声色学头部》

《地震臂和声色学头部》,2015 年
Cyborg Arts,Neil Harbisson 和 Moon Ribas

半机器人基金会 (Cyborg Foundation) 由 Neil Harbisson 和 Moon Ribas 共同创立。 Harbisson 最为人所知的便是将一款天线植入了自己的颅骨。他已被英国政府正式认可为半机器人。他的天线可使其将颜色感知为声波。他的合作者 Moon Ribas 是一位现代舞编导,她致力于对能够感知运动的设备进行实验研究。这些艺术家不再将技术用作创作工具:它构成了其身体的一部分,充当了其感觉和感知能力的延伸。两个真人大小的控制学雕塑包含传感器,这些传感器使雕塑能够实时连接到某些数据并连接到艺术家的身心。
《Aimee Mullins 猎豹腿》

《Aimee Mullins 猎豹腿》,2001 年
Howard Schatz

Aimee Mullins 首次受到全世界的关注是因为她运动员的身份。她天生没有腓骨,2 岁的时候就必须学会使用假腿行走。整个儿童时期,她都跟同龄运动员一样锻炼。1996 年,她参加了亚特兰大残奥会,期间她身穿以猎豹后腿结构为原型制作的碳纤维假肢参与竞赛,引发大众对她的异样原制短跑腿的热烈争议。后来,应著名时装设计师亚历山大麦昆 (Alexander McQueen) 的邀约,Mullins 第一次以模特的身份出现在伦敦的一个秀场上,并成为改变人们对残疾人看法方面的意见领袖。 
STELARC 表演的骨架人视频


《骨架人》,2017 年
Stelarc
在澳大利亚珀斯市 Chrissie Parrot Arts 剧场所举办的边缘世界艺术节 (Fringe World) 上展示的 Daedalus 作品
声音处理:Petros Vouris
参与人员:Tim Jewell、Steve Berrick、Alwyn Nixon-Llyod、Steven Aaron Hugues、Rodney Parsons 和 Paul Caporn

Stelarc 最近的一次表演是 2017 年在澳大利亚珀斯市表演的《骨架人》。Stelarc 被绑在一个特别设计制作的机器人外骨骼上,并由外骨骼带动他行动。 骨架人是一个可支持 64 种身体姿势组合的姿势生成系统。骨架人的脊柱中植入了一个惯性空间定位器。随着骨架人在行动过程中不断地振动,惯性空间定位器可像单弦琴一样发出高低起伏的声波。Stelarc 在行动时用到的每条肢臂上都佩戴了加速计和陀螺仪,用于跟踪和移动多频道扬声器系统中产生的声音。这些声音在本质上属于骨架人身体的一种延伸。 
ORLAN


《自我艺术交融》,Entre-deux(法语)(自我艺术交融:两者之间,1994 年)
ORLAN


ORLAN 是一位富享国际盛誉的法国艺术家,她将自己的身体用作艺术作品的表达媒介、原材料以及视觉呈现的载体。 

ORLAN 自 1994 年开始创作了一组题为《自我艺术交融》的数字摄影作品,该作品呈现了她本人与人类历史上的艺术杰作相互融合的画面。在该件作品中,ORLAN 将她本人的图像与桑德罗·波提切利的著名画作《维纳斯的诞生》重叠,借此表达人类美学标准所存在的相对性和主观性。 ORLAN 将她本人与象征着美貌的维纳斯女神的图像融合交汇,展现传统美与新潮美、古典美与现代美以及神秘美与实在美相互映衬的画面。ORLAN 的艺术作品表达了她对人类的身体状态、对不同时代和不同文化给女性所施加的美学标准以及随之而来的压力的质疑。

AUGMENTED ABILITIES

The first section of the exhibition presents physical and biological ways in which we have augmented our minds and bodies. From prosthetics that augment bodily functions to medical interventions that change how we think, this part of the show explores what it means to be a cyborg today.

Featuring: Aimee Mullins, House of Natural Fiber, SPRINT and WAAG Society, Sophie de Oliveira Barata, Addie Wagenknecht, Corinne Mariaud, ORLAN, Marc Owens, Lorenz Potthast, Chris Woebken and Kenichi Okada, Nina Sellars, Stelarc, Neil Harbisson, Moon Ribas and works from the Museum of Applied Arts and Sciences (Sydney). 

Sonochromatic Head and Seismic Arm

Sonochromatic Head and Seismic Arm, 2015
Cyborg Arts, Neil Harbisson and Moon Ribas

The Cyborg Foundation was co-founded by Neil Harbisson and Moon Ribas.  Harbisson is best known for having an antenna implanted in his skull. He is officially recognised as a cyborg by the British government. His antenna allows him to perceive colours as sound waves. His collaborator, Moon Ribas, is a contemporary choreographer who experiments with different cybernetic devices that allow her to perceive movement in a deeper way. These artists no longer use technology as a tool for creation: it constitutes part of their body as an extension of their capacities for sensation and perception. The two life-size cybernetic sculptures contain sensors that allow the sculpture to connect to certain data in real time and to the body and mind of the artists.
Aimee Mullins Cheetah Legs

Aimee Mullins Cheetah Legs, 2001
Howard Schatz

Aimee Mullins first received worldwide media attention as an athlete. Born without fibulae in both legs, at 2 years old, she had learned to walk on prosthetic legs, and spent her childhood doing the usual athletic activities of her peers. She competed in the 1996 Paralympic Games in Atlanta with woven carbon-fiber prostheses that were modeled after the hind legs of a cheetah, sparking a media debate about the radical design of her prototype sprinting legs. Mullins later made her runway debut as a model in London at the invitation of fashion designer Alexander McQueen and has been influential in changing perceptions of people with varying abilities. 
Stickman Video, STELARC


StickMan, 2017
Stelarc
Performance at Daedalus, Fringe World, Chrissie Parrot Arts, Perth
Sound by Petros Vouris
Assisted by Tim Jewell, Steve Berrick, Alwyn Nixon-Llyod, Steven Aaron Hugues, Rodney Parsons, Paul Caporn

One of Stelarc’s most recent performances was StickMan performed in Perth in 2017. Stelarc was strapped to a custom-engineered robotic exoskeleton that choreographed his movement. StickMan was a gesture generating system capable of 64 possible combinations. An Inertia Spacialiser Unit was strung down StickMan's spine like a monochord to generate fluctuating waves of sound as the StickMan vibrated with movement. Accelerometers and gyroscopes were attached to each moving limb on Stelarc’s body tracking and moving the sounds generated across a multichannel speaker system. The sounds themselves were an extension of StickMan’s body. 
ORLAN


Self-Hybridation, Entre-deux (Self-Hybridation, In-Between 1994)
ORLAN


ORLAN is an internationally acclaimed artist from France, who makes her own body the medium, the raw material, and the visual support of her work. 

Since 1994, ORLAN has worked on a digital photographic series entitled, Self-Hybridization where her image merges with masterpieces of art history. In this example, ORLAN overlays her own image with Botticelli’s famous artwork, The Birth of Venus, in an attempt to draw attention to the relativism and subjectivity of our aesthetic canon.  The artist melds and hybridises her own image with that of Venus, the goddess of beauty, juxtaposing conventional beauty with less conventional; the classic and the modern; the mythological and the tangible. ORLAN’s artwork is an interrogation of the status of the body, the aesthetic canons imposed on women through time and culture, and their related pressures.