创造环境

不管承不承认,人类都在改变并创造着环境。这一部分将为您分析飞速发展的科学和技术如何改变着人类所生存的环境。

其中包括 Laura Allcorn 创作的人类授粉项目(授粉工具包)——专为本次展览而设计的时尚配件奖品。蜜蜂承担着为植物授粉的重担,对粮食的产出有着重大影响。这件作品反映了蜜蜂种群崩溃带来的社会与环境影响。

展示的作品来自:Laura Allcorn、Superflux、Anthony Dunne & Fiona Raby、Nikolaus Geyrhalter、The Centre of PostNatural History、赵仁辉和利亚姆·扬  
 

世界动植物

《世界动植物指南》,2013 年
Robert Zhao


新加坡艺术家赵仁辉创作的《世界动植物指南》旨在通过一系列方式记录和反思人类的干预行为正在逐渐地改变着自然世界这一现象。

该指南将呈现各种奇异生物和生命形式,探索它们在变化的世界中如何以出人意料的方式应对压力。该系列还记录了人类为了满足科学研究、美学装饰等目的进行人为干预,通过基因工程实现变异的其他有机体。

《人工授粉计划》

《人工授粉计划》,2009 年
Laura Allcorn


世界上三分之一的农产品都依赖蜜蜂来授粉。但从 2006 年开始,蜜蜂就渐渐神秘地消失了。人们将这一现象称为蜂群崩溃综合症。如果授粉的工作必须由人类来承担会怎么样? Laura Allcorn 是一位美国设计师、演讲者兼制造商,为了呼吁大家关注蜜蜂授粉对人类的重要作用,她设计制作了一套手动授粉工具,不仅可用于授粉,还可用作时尚配饰。

这些手动授粉工具的制作目的在于引起人们对蜂群崩溃综合症所带来的社会和环境影响的思索。

《觅食者》

《觅食者》,2009 年
英国设计师 Anthony Dunne 和 Fiona Raby


《觅食者》是英国设计师 Dunne 和 Ruby 针对如何解决粮食生产问题创作的一个作品。世界粮食正处于紧缺状态。联合国表示在未来 40 年中我们需要将粮食生产量提高 70%。Dunne 和 Raby 提出一个观点:是否可以利用合成生物学技术和模仿哺乳动物、鸟类、鱼类和昆虫的消化系统制作的新型消化设备从非人类食用的食品中提取出营养价值呢? 

《觅食者》这一作品设想有一群人利用自己的双手改变命运,并开始制作这种设备。他们利用合成生物学技术培育“胃部微生物细菌”,并结合使用电子设备和机械设备以便最大限度地从城市环境中获取营养价值,从而弥补饮食的商业化和局限性等缺陷。这群人被称为新型城市觅食者。 

《新城市:后人类生产机器》,利亚姆·扬

《新城市:后人类生产机器》,2014 至 2015 年
利亚姆·扬

 

利亚姆·扬是一位原籍澳大利亚的建筑师,活跃于设计、虚幻和未来领域。《新城市》是一个以近未来式天际线为主题的动画系列,并在不断更新中。创作者将在世界各地探险时为记录新产生现场而拍摄的照片仔细地拼凑、组合在一起,构成未来的城市天际线。

《新城市:后人类生产机器》将全球商业基础设施刻画成地球上的“传送带”。厂房无限地蔓延,而人体也被当做一种机器,成为生产线的一部分。生产线将消费城与在线购物中心、海上贸易自动集装箱中心、经过动作编程的工厂机器人和“探索地球”的超大型采矿设备相连。

AUTHORING ENVIRONMENTS

We are authors of our environment, whether we want to acknowledge it or not. This section analyses how we are transforming the very environment we live in due to far-reaching advances in science and technology.

It includes The Human Pollination Project by Laura Allcorn, a pollination tool kit, designed to be won as a fashion accessory. It raises questions about the social and environmental implications of the collapse of bee populations, which are responsible for pollinating the plants that grow into the food we eat.

Featuring: Laura Allcorn, Superflux, Anthony Dunne & Fiona Raby, Nikolaus Geyrhalter, The Centre of PostNatural History, Robert Zhao Renhui and Liam Young.  
 

Flora and Fauna of the World

A Guide to the Flora and Fauna of the World, 2013
Robert Zhao


A Guide to the Flora and Fauna of the World by Singaporean artist, Robert Zhao Renhui, seeks to document and reflect on the myriad ways in which human action and intervention are slowly altering the natural world.

The guide presents a catalogue of curious creatures and life-forms that have evolved in often unexpected ways to cope with the stresses and pressures of a changed world. Other organisms documented in the series are the results of human intervention, mutations engineered to serve various interests and purposes ranging from scientific research to the desire for ornamentation.

The Human Pollination Project

The Human Pollination Project, 2009
Laura Allcorn


Honeybees provide pollination for over one third of our food supply. Since 2006, honeybees have been mysteriously disappearing. This phenomenon is known as colony collapse disorder. What if humans had to assume the pollination responsibility from the honeybee? Aiming to draw attention to the human reliance on honeybee pollination, Laura Allcorn, a designer, story-teller, and maker from the USA  has created a hand pollination toolkit, designed to be worn as a functional fashion accessory.

These hand pollination tool kits aim to ask questions about the social and environmental implications of colony collapse disorder.

Foragers

Foragers, 2009
Anthony Dunne & Fiona Raby, UK


In Foragers, British designers, Dunne & Ruby address the issue of food production. The world is running out of food. The UN state that we need to produce 70% more food in the next 40 years. Dunne & Raby ask what if we could extract nutritional value from non-human foods using a combination of synthetic biology and new digestive devices inspired by the digestive systems of other mammals, birds, fish, and insects? 

Foragers imagines a group of people who take their fate into their own hands and start building such devices. They use synthetic biology to create “microbial stomach bacteria”, along with electronic and mechanical devices, to maximise the nutritional value of the urban environment, making up for any shortcomings in the commercially available but increasingly limited diet. These people are the new urban foragers. 

New City: Machines of Post Human Production, Liam Young

New City : Machines of Post Human Production, 2014-2015
Liam Young

 

Liam Young is an architect, originally from Australia, who operates in the spaces between design, fiction and futures. New City is an ongoing series of animated skylines of the near future. Photographs taken on expeditions around the world documenting emerging phenomena have been meticulously stitched together and reimagined to form future city skylines.

New City: Machines of Post Human Production depicts the global trade infrastructure as a planetary-scaled conveyor belt. Along this endless factory floor, the human body has been enlisted as a machine, just one more component of a production line which connects the cities of consumption to the online shopping distribution centers, the autonomous container ships of maritime trade, the rows of choreographed factory robots and the super-scaled mining equipment that roam the Earth.