宇宙与艺术

宇宙与艺术展是一次宇宙艺术之旅,探索我们从何处而来以及去向何处。本次展览群英荟萃,汇聚了东西方哲学、古代和现代艺术以及科学和宗教,探讨人类如何不断思考自身在宇宙中的存在。

梦想、神话和艺术视野是亘古不变的主题,世界各地的人们几千年来一直在努力探索宇宙。本次展览展出超过 120 幅原创艺术品、科学工艺品和手稿,展示出全球各地数个世纪来的宇宙观。 

首先展出与佛教、印度教和耆那教紧密相关的神圣宗教艺术品。然后呈现文艺复兴时期最知名天文学家(伽利略、开普勒、牛顿和哥白尼)的著作,这些作品首次在新加坡展出。Björn Dahlem、Mori Mariko Pierre Huyghe、Andreas Gursky、Wolfgang Tillmans 和 Sugimoto Hiroshi 等艺术家创作的当代艺术品带您探讨对宇宙的全新科学思考。展览最后展出专为太空设计的艺术品,带您领略有关艺术和文化如何影响宇宙探索方式的独特见解。

这次展览旨在歌颂人类对宇宙及其神秘久远的痴迷。揭示这种痴迷如何成为宗教崇拜的象征,如何激发艺术与文学灵感,以及如何促成有史以来最具革命性的科学发现。

展览通过四大主题娓娓道来: 

 

(单击开始探索)
 

Taketori Monogatari(竹取物语)
17 世纪
手卷
日本国学院大学收藏
 

黑洞 (M-Spheres)
Björn Dahlem
2016 年
木头、钢铁、荧光灯、灯泡、颜料
柏林 Guido W. Baudach Gallery 和东京 Hiromi Yoshii Gallery 友情提供
东京森美术馆安装后景观,2016 年
摄影:Kioku Keizo
照片提供者:东京森美术馆
 

石炭纪
Sugimoto Hiroshi
明胶银盐相纸
1992 年
Gallery Koyanagi 友情提供
 

“月球”乐谱:国际空间站指挥官 - 正在火星上聆听。
Nomura Hitoshi
2009(照片),2013(乐谱),2009–2013 (CD)
照片、乐谱、CD
森美术馆收藏
友情提供:JAXA Space Environment Utilization Center
摄影:Toyonaga Seiji        
照片提供者:ARTCOURT Gallery

点击下载 展出艺术品完整名录 


配套活动
 

对话:你就是宇宙(已结束)
4 月 1 日,周六 | 下午 2:00
表达画廊Expression Gallery,4楼

和我们一同在对话活动中畅想浩瀚宇宙,从艺术、文化、历史和科学的角度探索宇宙的奥秘。思考我们人类的存在,人类对于宇宙的畅想和演说的不断发展,以及人类的未来。 

将于《宇宙与艺术》展览开幕当日举办,可在博物馆大堂免费报名参加。

公众导览
周日
5 月 7、 14 日 | 中午11:30 – 12:30,下午 5:00 – 6:00
5 月 28 日,6 月 4、 11、 18、 25 日 | 下午 5:00 – 6:00
周五家庭日
4月 7、14、21 及 28 日,5 月 5 、12 、19 日 | 下午3:00 - 4:00

周六(中文)
5 月 6、13、20、27 日,6 月 3、10、17、24 日 | 下午4:00 – 5:00

展览入口,3层

我们是谁?在浩瀚的宇宙中我们究竟有多么渺小? 文化、艺术和科技在研究宇宙的进程中发挥着怎样的作用?和我们一起踏上穿梭时空的旅程,一起探寻宇宙的奥秘。

*购买《宇宙与艺术》展览门票即可免费体验。

每次导览最多限25人,先到先得。导览开始前5分钟会在展览入口处分发等级贴纸。

创造自己的宇宙蓝图
4月7、21日,5月5日、19日,6月2日、30日 | 下午4:30 - 5:30
彩虹屋、地下2层

和我们一起用最古老的图片影印技术来创造出美丽的宇宙蓝图。

每人收费8新元。最多限20人,先到先得。


 


关于我们的合作伙伴
 
本展览由东京森美术馆与艺术科学博物馆联合举办。

 


森美术馆

森美术馆位于日本著名的标志性摩天大楼 — 六本木新城森大楼,这是一家举足轻重的现代美术馆先驱,一直致力于引入全球风格迥异的艺术创造实践。自 2003 年 10 月成立以来,该美术馆通过大力推广“当代”和“国际”艺术理念,开发了自己独特的艺术形式;此外,通过提供广泛的展览和学习计划,以全球视角展示尖端视觉艺术、建筑和设计,该美术馆致力于让所有人都能够理解当代艺术。其一贯奉行的“艺术+生活”原则是打造丰富多姿的社会,让艺术与人们的生活密切相连。

有关更多信息,请访问: www.mori.art.museum/eng

 

 

亚洲文明博物馆

亚洲文明博物馆是区内唯一专门探讨亚洲艺术遗产的博物馆,更集中探索新加坡人的祖传文化。博物馆于 2015 年年底和 2016 年年初,分别开放两座新翼及新画廊。博物馆成立于 1993 年,并在 2003 年迁移到新加坡河畔的现址,展览新加坡国家博物馆由 19 世纪起的藏品。亚洲文明博物馆重点展示亚洲文化源远流长的历史,诉说亚洲各地文化以及亚洲与世界文化之间的关联。

展览品展示了在国际贸易下的经商和意念交流的故事,以及宗教及信仰在亚洲流传的经过。新加坡在历史上是著名的港口城市,汇聚来自世界各地的人们,因此成为见证亚洲历史的交汇点。特别展览为新加坡观众带来世界各地的宏伟展品。一年一度的河之夜等节目,鼓励观众更积极参与文化艺术。

更多资讯请访问: www.acm.org.sg

THE UNIVERSE AND ART

The Universe and Art is an artistic voyage through space, exploring where we came from and where we are going.

It weaves a rich constellation of Eastern and Western philosophies, ancient and contemporary art, and science and religion, to explore how humanity has constantly contemplated its presence in the universe.

Long the subject of dreams, mythologies and artistic visions, the universe has been studied by people from around the world for millennia. Featuring over 120 original artworks, scientific artifacts and manuscripts, this exhibition presents visions of the universe from across the globe and through the centuries. 

It begins with sacred religious artifacts linked to Buddhism, Hinduism and Jainism. It continues with masterworks by the most renowned Renaissance astronomers, Galileo, Kepler, Newton and Copernicus, which are on show in Singapore for the first time. New thinking on the universe is explored in contemporary artworks by Bjorn Dahlem, Mariko Mori, Pierre Huyghe, Andreas Gursky, Wolfgang Tillmans, Hiroshi Sugimoto and more. The exhibition concludes with artwork devised specifically for space, providing unique insights in how art and culture have influenced how we explore the universe.

At its heart, the exhibition celebrates humanity's age-old fascination for the universe and its mysteries. It shows how the universe has been an object of religious worship, a source of artistic and literary inspiration, and the basis of some of the most revolutionary scientific discoveries of all time.

The exhibition narrative unfolds through four main themes: 

( Click To Explore )
 

Taketori Monogatari ("The Tale of the Bamboo Cutter")
17th Century
Hand Scroll
Collection of Kokugakuin University Library, Japan
 

Black Hole (M-Spheres)
Björn Dahlem  |  2016
Wood, steel, fluorescents, light bulbs, stain
Courtesy: Guido W. Baudach Gallery, Berlin and Hiromi Yoshii Gallery, Tokyo
Installation view at the Mori Art Museum, Tokyo, 2016

Photography: Kioku Keizo
Photo Courtesy: Mori Art Museum  

Robotic Jellyfish Drone (Cyanea Machina)
Vincent Fournier  |  2013
Collection of the artist   

‘moon’ score: ISS Commander - Listening to it on Mars, now.
Hitoshi Nomura  |  2009 (photograph), 2013 (score), 2009–2013 (CD)
Photograph, score, CD
Collection of Mori Art Museum, Tokyo
Courtesy: JAXA Space Environment Utilization Center
Photo: Toyonaga Seiji
Photo courtesy: ARTCOURT Gallery, Japan

Download the complete list of artworks here.
 



PROGRAMMES
 

Conversations: You are the Universe (CONCLUDED)
Saturday, 1 April | 2pm
Venue: Express Gallery, Level 4

Humanity has always sought to catalogue the heavens and make visible the invisible forces we yearn to understand. Nothing beckons us like the mystery and majesty of the universe in our quest to grasp our place in it.

Turn your imagination to the cosmos and hear from speakers from diverse disciplines and backgrounds as they investigate the universe from the perspectives of art, cultural history, philosophy and science.

Held in conjunction with the opening of The Universe and Art and as part of the Art and Science of Space season.

*Free. Register in the lobby.

Public Guided Tour

Sunday 7 & 14 May | 11:30am – 12:30pm & 5:00pm – 6:00pm
Sunday 28 May, 4, 11, 18 & 25 June | 5:00pm – 6:00pm
Family Fridays 7, 14, 21 & 28 Apr, 5, 12 & 19 May | 3:00pm – 4:00pm

Saturday 6, 13, 20, 27 May | 4:00pm – 5:00pm (Mandarin)

Venue: Exhibition Entrance, Level 3

Who are we? What is our place in the universe? How do cultures, art and technology play a part in understanding the cosmos?  Join us in this enlightening tour as we journey through time and space to ponder some of the universe’s deepest mysteries. 

Complimentary to ticket-holders of The Universe and Art.

Up to 25 participants on a first-come, first-served basis. Registration stickers will be given out five minutes before tour begins at exhibition entrance.

Make Your Own Cyanotype Universe
Family Fridays 7 & 21 April, 5 & 19 May | 4:30pm – 5:30pm
Rainbow Room, Basement 2

Join us in Cyanotype Universe where we use one of the oldest printing techniques to create beautiful photographic blueprints of space.

S$8 per participant. Up to 20 participants on a first-come, first-served basis.


 


ABOUT THE PARTNERS
 
The Universe and Art is jointly curated and organized by Mori Art Museum and ArtScience Museum, in association with the Asian Civilisations Museum. 

 


Mori Art Museum

Mori Art Museum, located on the top floor of Roppongi Hills Mori Tower skyscraper, a noted landmark of Tokyo, is a pivotal and pioneering contemporary art museum that has been introducing diverse artistic practices from around the world. The Museum since its establishment in October 2003 has developed its own distinctive approach to art - by embracing the concepts of “contemporary” and “international” - and is committed to making contemporary art more accessible to all people by presenting a wide range of exhibitions and learning programs that feature cutting-edge visual arts, architecture and design in a global perspective. Its continuing “Art + Life” principle is to realize an enriched society where art relates to all aspect of life.

For more information, visit: www.mori.art.museum/eng

 

 

Asian Civilisations Museum

The Asian Civilisations Museum is the only museum in the region devoted to exploring the artistic heritage of Asia, especially the ancestral cultures of Singaporeans. The museum has launched two new wings with new galleries in late 2015 and early 2016. Founded in 1993, and in its present building by the Singapore River since 2003, the museum’s collection grew out of the 19th-century Raffles Museum. The ACM spotlights the long historical connections between the cultures of Asia, and between Asia and the world.

Objects on display tell stories of the trade and the exchange of ideas that were the result of international commerce, as well as the flow of religions and faith through Asia. Singapore’s history as a port city that brought people together from all over the world is used as a means of examining the history of Asia. Special exhibitions bring magnificent objects from around the world to our Singapore audience. Programmes like the annual River Nights encourage visitors to connect more closely with culture and the arts.

For more information, visit: www.acm.org.sg