面向现代的博物馆


伦敦自然史博物馆的独特珍藏无异于一套关于自然的恢弘记录,对全球都有着非常重要的意义。目前,世界各地的学者正在对它们积极展开研究,以期从中找出应对地球目前面临的挑战的方法。

每个时代,都会有新的概念和技术诞生,从而让藏品以崭新的方式跟我们沟通。相关样本和物品有望加深我们对于大海的了解,帮助我们建立起保护环境及生态系统的意识,促进我们对于太空的认知。

展览在此展区结束,展示着自然历史博物馆所珍藏的独特宝藏。从预测并减轻气候改变带来的影响,到妥善管理自然资源,相关收藏与我们每个人都息息相关。它们相当于一把把钥匙。利用它们,我们将能揭开过去的奥秘,从而开启未来的潜能。

 

特色展品
贾达尔石
贾达尔石
塞尔维亚
 
超人要小心了,超人归来中的公式表明,这种矿物和虚构矿物氪星石高度匹配。地质学家于2006年发现贾达尔石,自然历史博物馆的科学家分析发现,其构成是氢氧化钠锂硼硅酸盐。而将超人的英雄能力耗光唯一缺少的就是氟。
大闪蝶
大闪蝶
哥伦比亚和巴拿马

这些蝴蝶翅膀的鲜亮色彩是由微小的透明鳞片产生。当光线照射在这些鳞片上时会被分散,从而产生各种干涉图形,也就是我们所看到的颜色。和大多数物体通过染料和色素产生的色彩不同,这种结构颜色永不褪色。自然历史博物馆的科学家们正在实验室中培养带有这一属性的蝴蝶翅膀——以期重新创造结构颜色,从而生产着色方式更加环保的产品。

Latrobe gold nugget, Australia
拉筹伯金块
澳洲
  
这块重量为717克的黄金极为罕见且品质上佳,内在的晶体依然相当完好。它是由黄金立方体及八面体构成,其中有些立方体与八面体的横宽甚至超过1公分。因黄金质地较软,比较容易遭到侵蚀,故而晶体结构保存得如此完好的金块可谓稀世珍宝。它是在维多利亚州总督Charles Joseph Latrobe到访时,在澳洲的麦基弗矿场被挖掘出来,因此被以他的名字命名。
Neanderthal genome
尼安德特人基因组

   

尼安德特人是跟我们具有最近亲缘关系的古人类。那么,现代人跟尼安德特人之间,存在哪些差别?科学家现已复制出一位女性尼安德特人的完整基因组,并确认她跟现代人的基因相似度高达99%以上。不过分析结果同时也显示,她的父母属于近亲,可见近亲交配在尼安德特人当中较为普遍。DNA检测结果还表明,当我们的进化轨迹与尼安德特人的“分道扬镳”之后,人类身上与脑部功能、神经系统和语言相关的基因可能曾发生微妙的改变。

样本由德国莱比锡区的Max Planck Institute捐赠

A museum for a modern world


The exhibition ends with a close look at the unique treasures cared for at the Natural History Museum and the scientific pursuits and breakthroughs undertaken. Actively studied by top researchers around the world, these specimens help us tackle the biggest challenges our planet faces today. From predicting and mitigating the impact of climate change to more efficiently managing natural resources, these collections hold the key to unlocking the potential of the future through the mysteries of the past.
  
Highlights 
Jadarite
 
Jadarite
Serbia
 
Superman beware, this mineral is a dangerously close match to the fictional mineral kryptonite, according to its formula in Superman Returns. Geologists discovered jadarite in 2006, and when Natural History Museum scientists analysed it, they found its composition to be sodium lithium boron silicate hydroxide. All that is missing to drain Superman of his heroic powers is fluorine.

Morpho butterflies
 
Morpho butterflies
Colombia and Panama

The vibrant colour of these butterflies’ wings is produced by tiny transparent scales. They scatter light when it hits them, creating interference patterns we see as colours. Unlike most objects, which are coloured using dyes and pigments, this structural colour can never fade. Scientists from the Natural History Museum are growing butterfly wings with this property in the laboratory – hoping to recreate structural colour in order to help produce more environmentally friendly coloured products.



Latrobe gold nugget, Australia
 
Latrobe gold nugget
Australia
  
Incredibly rare and fine, this 717-gramme gold nugget still has its individual crystals intact. It is formed from gold cubes and octahedrons, some more than a centimetre across. Since gold is soft and erodes easily, a nugget preserving its crystalline structure is a superb find. The discovery came at the McIvor mine in Australia during a visit from Charles Joseph Latrobe, the Governor of the State of Victoria, so it is named after him.

Neanderthal genome
 
Neanderthal genome

   

How do modern humans differ from our closest ancient relatives, the Neanderthals? Scientists have replicated the complete genome of a female Neanderthal, which is more than 99 per cent identical to that of modern humans. However, it suggests her parents were closely related and that inbreeding was common among Neanderthals. The DNA also shows that after our evolutionary path diverged from that of the Neanderthals, human genes relating to brain function, the nervous system and language may have subtly changed. 

Sample donated by Max Planck Institute, Leipzig, Germany.