金沙空中花园公共观景台 - 新加坡旅游景点金沙空中花园公共观景台 - 新加坡旅游景点

在空中花园观船

新加坡属于岛国,处于世界最繁忙航道的要塞位置。大量船舶驶入新加坡——平均每天有1000艘左右船只停靠在新加坡港口,使其成为繁忙度位列世界第二的港口。每三分钟就有一艘船驶离或驶入新加坡,因此若有兴趣观赏这些巨轮,瞭望世界经济,这个岛国是个不错的选择。
滨海湾金沙空中花园 - 新加坡旅游景点

滨海湾金沙酒店空中花园则为观船狂热者提供了无与伦比的观赏视角。空中花园高出海平面200米,能够360度俯瞰城市和港口。巧的是,新加坡的飞机下滑道刚好经过空中花园。去空中花园朝海的一面看看吧。天朗气清之时,能领略到船舶远航、飞机翱翔的壮观景致。

新加坡不产石油,但却是世界第一加油港。满载石油的巨型油轮(VLCC)和超大型油轮(ULCC)在新加坡进进出出。油轮的特征是甲板平、船体宽、长度惊人,十分显眼。这些超级油轮长度能超过400米,是估计周围其他船只长度的参照物。

虽说观看巨型油轮激动人心,但最先映入游客眼帘的可能是集装箱船。集装箱船通常都载满集装箱,所以很容易看到。各种颜色的长方形集装箱整整齐齐地堆叠在甲板上。和油轮一样,集装箱船也比较长。

新加坡货船 - 新加坡旅游攻略

最大的集装箱船Emma Maersk将其亚洲首站安排在新加坡。Emma Maersk一趟可承载11000个集装箱。如果将这些集装箱首尾相连,将长达60多公里。各种集装箱船载着船货驶向新加坡或其他地方。边上有批注:cargo指海运货物,而shipment指陆运货物。

说到陆地,如果你在合适的时候去新加坡,或许能看到美国航空母舰驶入或驶出新加坡海军基地。航空母舰相当于水面上的机场,看到造型流畅、顶层平整的铁灰色船舰就可以确定那是航空母舰了。航空母舰会与护卫舰和驱逐舰等船舰一起作为一个战斗群航行,所以看到航空母舰时不妨找找四周是否还有其他海军舰艇。

民用船舶方面,可以看看那些海上建筑般的豪华游轮。许多豪华油轮都有带着游客环新加坡,而航海油轮则是航行于大陆之间。油轮船体高大,烟囱和两侧通常有缤纷夺目的商标。

游轮 - 新加坡旅游攻略

新加坡航道繁忙,所以港口必须保持整洁畅通。新加坡某些港口常有淤泥,所以每天都会有挖泥船在港口穿梭,为港口清除过多淤泥,使其保持一定深度。使用挖泥船还有另一个好处——它们带走的航道淤泥,会用于土地开垦项目。

所有船舶都有名称和辨识标记,所以可以用望远镜搜寻船名。船名一般在船头或者船侧。可以通过船名试着猜猜原产国。不然也可以看看船尾的旗帜,某些船会升起它们的国旗。

此外还有载车船、渡轮、领航艇、拖船及其他航海船舶汇集于新加坡海岸。观船既适合单独品味,也可以多人观赏,现在,去空中花园欣赏美丽海景吧。

Skypark Observation DeckSkypark Observation Deck

SHIP SPOTTING FROM THE SKYPARK

Singapore is an island, strategically located along some of the world’s busiest waterways. Plenty of ships call into Singapore – about 1000 ships on average are within Singapore’s port every day – making it the world’s second busiest port. With a ship leaving or entering Singapore every three minutes, the island is a treat for anyone interested in watching the world’s economy travelling on the backs of these giants.
Skypark in MBS

For ship watching enthusiasts, the Marina Bay Sands SkyPark offers the perfect vantage point. At 200 meters above sea level, the Sands SkyPark has 360° views of the city and the port. And it just so happens that Singapore’s glide path for aircraft passes by the SkyPark. On a clear day, head to the sea facing side of the SkyPark for an awesome view of these vessels.

While Singapore does not produce any oil, it is the world’s top bunkering port. You’ll get a great view of the VLCCs (Very Large Crude Carriers) and the ULCCs (Ultra Large Crude Carriers) carrying oil into and out of Singapore. It’s easy to recognise a crude oil carrier with its flat deck, wide body, and impressive length. These supertankers can exceed 400 metres in length and provide a great yardstick with which to estimate the length of other surrounding ships.

While spotting a massive crude carrier is exciting, you’ll likely see a container ship first. Container carriers are easy to spot because they are usually full of containers. Long rectangular boxes of all colours are stacked neatly onto the decks of their carriers. Like their crude carrier sisters, container carriers can reach large lengths.

Container Ship

The largest container ship, the Emma Maersk, made its first Asian port of call in Singapore. The Emma Maersk can carry 11,000 containers in one voyage. If these containers were placed end to end, they would cover a distance exceeding 60 kilometres. There are plenty of container carriers, each with its cargo destined for Singapore or elsewhere. On a side note, cargo refers to items that travel by sea, but shipment refers to items carried over land.

Speaking of land, if you’re in Singapore at the right time, you might just spot an American Aircraft Carrier sailing in or out of Singapore’s naval bases. The carriers are floating airports which make them easy to identify with their slick shapes, flat tops and steel grey colour. The carrier travels as part of a battle group which includes frigates and destroyers so keep a lookout for the accompanying naval ships.

On the civilian front, look for the cruise ships with their distinctive building-like structures that span almost the entire length of the ship. Many cruise ships carry passengers around Singapore but the ocean-faring ones travel between continents. These ships are tall and often sport colourful brand marks on their funnels and sides.

Cruise Ship

Because Singapore’s shipping lanes are so busy, the harbour must be kept deep and clear. Silting occurs quite frequently in parts of Singapore’s harbours so every day special ships called dredgers ply the harbour to keep it deep and free of excess sediment build up. In doing so, the dredgers perform an added benefit – they take up this sediment from the shipping lanes, and use them for land reclamation projects.

All ships have names and identification marks, so if you have a pair of binoculars, zoom in on the ship’s name. It’s usually towards the front of the ship, on either side. Try guessing the country of origin from the name. Otherwise look for a flag behind the ship. Several ships fly their country’s flag.

There are also car carriers, ferries, pilot boats, tugs, and an assortment of other sea faring vessels that line Singapore’s coast. Ship spotting is a great activity to do on your own or with a group, so head to the SkyPark and look to the seas.