印度排灯节,彩绘的双手捧着蜡烛印度排灯节,彩绘的双手捧着蜡烛

新加坡的主要民族节日

到访新加坡的游客很快就会感受到这个岛国的多文化性——眼前的各色人群、耳畔的各种语言、缤纷诱人的美食,新加坡无时不在展示自身的多元性。如果你在新加坡适逢某个主要民族节日,就能更加深刻领略其多元风采。狮城各地市场喧嚣繁华,购物氛围热烈、价格低廉诱人,而岛上充满民族色彩的声色美味更是为节日锦上添花,让到访新加坡的游客留下美好难忘的回忆。这样的民族节日在新加坡不胜枚举,下面介绍的只是其中几个。
橘子和桃花
新加坡华人众多,在迎接农历新年时狮城会装扮一新,满城尽是中国红。牛车水是庆祝农历新年的中心,届时四处挤满了忙着买年货的人。牛车水街上张灯结彩,舞狮献瑞,还有凤梨酥和肉干等富有节日色彩的美食。过年时通常会举办妆艺大游行,彩车载着艺者、舞者和乐者,热热闹闹地驶过街道。农历新年一般为阳历二月,不过如果你在九月或十月去新加坡旅游,也还可以到牛车水感受中秋节的气氛,品尝美味月饼,观赏提灯游行。
粽子和大米
新加坡的穆斯林会在开斋节(又名Eid al-Fitr)举办各种活动。开斋节标志着斋月的结束,日期根据伊斯兰历法有所变化,不过目前一般是在七月左右。开斋节满溢欢乐,家人欢聚共庆,按照真正的新加坡方式享受最美味的食物。甘榜格南和芽茏士乃市场是庆祝开斋节的中心,这里五颜六色的服饰、椰蓉米粉蛋糕、海枣等华丽动人的美食以及来自新加坡本地及中东地区的各种曲奇饼与糕点都令人陶醉不已。斋月期间,可以到苏丹回教堂感受下具有深刻含义的盛大开斋仪式。
排灯节 - 五彩缤纷的灯和花
新加坡最重要的印度教节日要数屠妖节(排灯节)了。这场充满光明的节日于十月或十一月庆祝,届时新加坡各地的兴都庙都萦绕着特别的祷文,盏盏油灯照得满室通明,人们带着欢声笑语庆祝。小印度在屠妖节来临前一个月就开始洋溢着深厚的节日气氛了;这里有各种华衣锦服以及murukku烤饼(一种酥脆小点心)、奶香四溢的粗麦饼等美味小吃。在一、二月到访狮城的游客也可以到小印度过过大宝森节。虽然印度和世界各地的泰米尔人都过大宝森节,但只有在新加坡和马来西亚才能体验到最激动人心的大宝森节:几名信徒扛着饰有鲜花雀羽的穹形华盖沿途游行,许多信徒皮肤上都有穿孔,还用银针刺穿双颊和舌头。
各种文化影响造就了这片丰富多元的国土,体验新加坡的民族节日正是了解这些文化影响的绝妙方式。如果你有幸认识庆祝民族节日的新加坡朋友,说不定还可以受邀一起过节——在浓浓的家庭温暖中享受节日气氛,还有什么比这更美妙的方式呢?

henna hands holding tea light on diwalihenna hands holding tea light on diwali

MAJOR ETHNIC FESTIVALS IN SINGAPORE

It doesn’t take a visitor long to understand how multicultural Singapore is. From the diverse people, the languages you hear all around you, colourful sights and fascinating array of food, Singapore’s pluralism manifests itself at every turn. If you’re in Singapore during any of the major ethnic festivals, you’re in for an extra treat. Aside from the amped-up shopping and slashed prices, ethnic quarters on the island turn into bustling marketplaces featuring sights, sounds and tastes that are sure to make experiencing a festival one of the most memorable things to do in Singapore. Here are just a few of the many ethnic festivals you can see in Singapore.
Mandarin Oranges Plum Flowers
With a majority Chinese population, Singapore gets dressed up in bright red for Chinese New Year. Chinatown is the centre of the Chinese New Year celebrations, and is filled with people buying food and decorations. You’ll also see the streets of Chinatown lit up, lion dancers and a range of festive treats such as pineapple tarts and bak kwa (sweet barbequed pork). Chinese New Year is usually followed by the Chingay Parade, a carnival-like street parade with floats, performers, dancers and musicians. Chinese New Year usually falls around February, but if you’re in Singapore around September or October, you can still head to Chinatown for the Mid-Autumn Festival, a harvest festival celebrated with delicious mooncakes and lantern parades.
Ketupat Rice Dumpling
The Muslim population in Singapore bursts with activity during Hari Raya Puasa, also known by its Arabic name Eid al-Fitr. The festival marks the end of Ramadan, a holy month of fasting for Muslims. The date shifts based on the Islamic calendar, but is roughly around July for the current years. This festival of fast-breaking is celebrated with an abundance of joy, family time and — in true Singaporean fashion — the most delicious food. Step right into the heart of Hari Raya Puasa at Kampong Glam and Geylang Serai Bazaar and you’ll be fascinated by the colourful clothes, gorgeous cakes and delicacies such as ketupat (rice cakes) and dates — and no end of cookies and pastries from the region and the Middle East. During the month of Ramadan, step into the Sultan Mosque to experience the profound and significant fast-breaking rituals.
Colourful Lamps With Flowers at Diwali
The most significant of the Hindu festivals in Singapore is Deepavali, also known as Diwali. This festival of lights is celebrated around October or November, with special prayers at the Hindu temples all over Singapore, the lighting of oil lamps and joyful celebrations. At Little India, the Deepavali spirit takes foothold about a month before the day itself; you’ll see resplendent clothes and snacks such as murukku (a crunchy, savoury snack) and light, buttery semolina biscuits. Visitors to Singapore earlier in the year around January or February can also head to Little India for Thaipusam. Although this festival is celebrated by the Tamil community in India and around the world, it is only in Singapore and Malaysia where you will see it in its most dramatic form: where several devotees carry large, semicircular canopies decorated with flowers and peacock feathers along a processional route, many of which are attached to their skin with piercings — along with spears pierced through their cheeks and tongues.
Experiencing an ethnic festival in Singapore is a fascinating way to understand the many cultural influences that make up the rich tapestry of the country. And if you’re fortunate enough to have a Singaporean friend celebrating the festival, you might even get an invitation to experience it with them — and what better way to enjoy a festival than with the warmth of a family?