新加坡货币新加坡货币

新加坡的货币

新加坡货币蕴含着丰富的信息。我们不仅从法定货币的角度谈论新加坡货币,还会介绍自1965年新加坡独立以来那段被写进新加坡纸币的丰富历史文化遗产。要了解新加坡货币,就需要迅速翻阅新加坡之所以成为新加坡的故事。首先让我们讲讲这些纸币和硬币背后广为人知的故事吧。
新加坡硬币

深受许多新加坡人怀念的一元纸币如今已停产,改用一元硬币了。兰花是新加坡的国花,兰花系列于1967年(新加坡独立后两年)发行,正面印有万代兰珍妮特兰花。纸币背面则是住宅公寓楼群,不过没有出现任何人物或车辆。纸币辨识度高,仍然是收藏家和许多怀旧新加坡人的灵感来源。所以如果你有缘获得这种纸币,请用心珍藏,这是绝无仅有的新加坡遗产。

兰花系列纸币深受欢迎,发行的面额有1新加坡元、5新加坡元、10新加坡元、25新加坡元、50新加坡元、100新加坡元、500新加坡元、1000新加坡元和10000新加坡元。著名的十元兰花纸币成为了这个年轻国家的标志,正面是新加坡地图上浮现四支互相紧握的大手。这个标志表达了新加坡对民族团结的态度(新加坡有四大民族)以及成为亚洲金融强国的决心。

新加坡两元纸币

兰花系列纸币的人气延续到了1984年的船版纸币,该系列纸币展示了曾停泊于此的不同船只——从19世纪的传统帆船到现代集装箱船。如果你有幸找到10000新加坡元面额的船版纸币,就会看到正面是一艘大型散装货船,背面则是新加坡的国庆阅兵以及舞龙表演。船版纸币出自托马斯德拉鲁之手,目前仍在流通,不过极为罕见。如果你能收集到任何一张船版纸币,就会觉得自己福星高照了。

如果你想收藏相对容易获得的货币,可以看看新加坡现在流通的肖像系列纸币,特别是一千新加坡元纸币。纸币正面是新加坡第一任总统尤索夫·宾·伊萨克的肖像,背面则是新加坡国歌完整缩印版。

新加坡钞票

而新加坡纸币也不会令科技迷失望。每一张纸币都设有从触觉和视觉到紫外线机制和具体设计特点的一系列防伪设置。将任何一张现代纸币放在UV光下,原本看不见的图像和图案就会显现出来。每一张纸币的右上角都有凸点盲文,这是为了帮助视障者识别纸币的面额。

新加坡有各种纸币面额,有些面额的纸币流通较广。一般来说,使用较多的为十元和五十元面额。五十新加坡元的纸币是由聚合物制成的(其他面额的纸币也是如此),抗撕性更强。而且,如果你忘记把裤袋里那一小叠五十元纸钞拿出来就把裤子扔到洗衣机内翻洗,或许还不会特别糟糕。聚合物纸币于1990年作为实体货币发行。而且,五十元纸币是第一款由当地人(蔡名智)设计的纸币。

博物馆展览

旧纸币自是颇有风韵,但现在流通的纸币也有自己的故事。你知道有些纸币的序列号有时比纸币本身面额更受收藏家重视吗?在某次关于当时最新发行的肖像系列纸币拍卖会上,一张序列号为2AA000001的一千新加坡元纸币卖出了155000新加坡元的高价,相当于面额的155倍!

这个例子也很好地体现出,新加坡纸币承载着这个国家的历史故事,其意义远远超过了本身的面值。所以下次掏钱购物时,可以想想钱包的纸币以及它们静静讲述的故事。如果你是一位货币迷,可将参观新加坡硬币和纸币博物馆列于行程的首位。

Singapore CurrencySingapore Currency

CURRENCY OF SINGAPORE

There’s a wealth of information, literally, in Singapore’s currency notes and coins. We’re not just talking about legal tender, but a rich history and cultural legacy that’s been written into Singapore’s dollars and cents since its independence in 1965. To understand Singapore’s currency is to get a quick glimpse into the stories that have defined this island nation. So let’s start with the more popular stories these notes and coins have to tell.
Singapore Coin

Many Singaporeans fondly remember the one dollar note, which is no longer produced and is replaced exclusively by one dollar coins. The orchid is Singapore’s national flower, and the series introduced two years after independence, in 1967, showcased the Vanda Janet Kaneali Orchid, with the flip side featuring blocks of housing flats. The easily recognisable note is still is a source of inspiration for Singaporeans and collectors, and is a unique part of Singapore’s heritage.

The orchid series notes were extremely popular and came in denominations of $1, $5, $10, $25, $50, $100, $500, $1000, and $10000. The famous ten dollar orchid note became something of a symbol for the young nation, with its obverse showing four hands clasping each other (symbolising the nation's unity between the four major ethnic groups) overplayed on a map of Singapore, representing her determination in becoming an Asian financial powerhouse.

Singapore Two Dollar Note - Ship Series

The popularity of the orchid series followed through to the ship series notes in 1984, featuring different vessels that made port here, from traditional junks of the 1800s to modern container carriers. If you’re lucky enough to get hold of a S$10000 denomination, you’ll see a large bulk carrier on the front with a fiery dragon on the back overlaid with Singapore’s National Day Parade. The ship series notes were produced by Thomas De La Rue and are still in circulation, though extremely rare.

For something that’s relatively easier to come by, check out Singapore’s current portrait series notes, which has the portrait of Singapore's first president, Yusof bin Ishak, on the front. The back of a thousand dollar bill has the entire national anthem of Singapore printed in micro text.

Singapore Currency

If you’re fascinated by technology, Singapore notes will not disappoint. With its series of fraud-protection devices that span from touch and sight to ultraviolet mechanisms and specific design features, you can hold any modern note under a UV light to discover an unseen world of images and patterns. Each note is also coded with Braille in the form of raised dots on the top right to aid the visually handicapped in identifying the denominations.

Singapore has a variety of dollar bill denominations, some more widely used than others. Arguably the more used denominations are the tens and fifties. The fifty dollar note, like all the other bills, is made of polymer that’s more resistant to tears. This also means that leaving your wad of fifties in your pant pockets that are swirling around in the washing machine may not be the worst thing. The polymer note was issued in 1990 as a practical medium for notes. Equally significant is that the fifty dollar note was the first note to be designed by a local, Chua Mia Tee.

Museum Gallery

While it’s easy to get fascinated by older notes, the current collection has its own stories. Did you know that the serial numbers of some notes are sometimes worth more to collectors than the denomination of the note itself? At an auction of the then new portrait series note, a one thousand dollar note bearing the serial number 2AA000001 was sold for S$155,000. That’s 155 times the value of the denomination!

So the next time you make a purchase, consider the notes in your wallet and the stories they could tell. And if you’re a currency fan, place visiting the Singapore Coins and Notes Museum on top of your list of things to do in Singapore.