Geography of SingaporeGeography of Singapore

新加坡地理

新加坡是一座位于北纬 1 度的热带岛屿,形似一颗从两侧拉宽的钻石。她面积很小,仅有 700 多平方公里,东西国境相距约 50 公里。岛虽小,但岛上及其周边的地理风貌极具特色,定会让前来新加坡度假的您不虚此行!

马来西亚半岛位于新加坡的北面,中间隔着一条柔佛海峡(Straits of Johor),通过两条长堤与新加坡相连。

但新加坡并非只有一座岛,她的四周还环绕着 63 座较小的岛屿(马来语称为 “Pulau”)。其中最知名的莫过于圣淘沙(Sentosa):它位于主岛南面,是一处度假胜地,岛上设施一应俱全,包括高尔夫球场、历史遗迹、环球影城主题公园、综合性度假村、居民社区、酒店、沙滩和餐厅等。圣淘沙与主岛以长堤相连,还有轮渡、缆车和火车来往其间。

如果要寻找更加野性的体验,不要错过新加坡的另一座知名岛屿:乌敏岛(Pulau Ubin)。这座小岛位于新加坡东北部,是乌敏-哈提卜(Ubin-Khatib)重要鸟类保护区的一部分,栖息着种类繁多的留鸟和候鸟,堪称观鸟爱好者的天堂。在乌敏岛,您还能见到新加坡罕见的一道风景:Kampung,即传统村落。乌敏岛也是骑行、露营和徒步的热门地点。

新加坡南部有一片名为姊妹岛(Sisters’ Islands)的群岛,还有圣约翰岛(St John’s Island),它们的珊瑚礁是一套令人着迷的生态系统的重要组成部分,为濒危海洋物种提供了庇护所。

新加坡河沿岸设有步行走廊和自行车道,是早晨和傍晚的好去处。在滨海湾观光完毕后,不妨去滨海湾金沙酒店(Marina Bay Sands)顶层空中花园享用晚餐或喝点饮料,您也可以直接去观景台观看新加坡南部的水域和岛屿,以及这座迷人小岛的港口和海岸线。

Geography of SingaporeGeography of Singapore

GEOGRAPHY OF SINGAPORE

A tropical island just a degree north of the Equator, Singapore is shaped like a diamond that’s been elongated on the sides. At just over 700 square kilometres in area and a mainland of approximately 50 kilometres from east to west, Singapore is definitely not a large country. For such a tiny island though, it manages to fit in plenty of interesting geography.

To the north of Singapore is Peninsula Malaysia, connected to Singapore via two causeways, and separated by the Straits of Johor. Across the Singapore Strait to the south is Batam, a small island of Indonesia, which is accessible by a short one-hour ferry ride.

Beyond the mainland, Singapore's territory includes about 63 smaller islands (Pulau, in Malay) surrounding it. Probably the most well-known of these is Sentosa, south of the mainland: a resort island that is home to golf courses, historical sites, theme parks, an integrated resort, a residential community, hotels, beaches and restaurants. Sentosa is connected to the main island via a causeway, as well as ferry, cable car and train.

For a much more wild experience, check out Singapore’s other well-known island: Pulau Ubin. North east of Singapore, Pulau Ubin is a bird-watcher’s paradise and part of the Ubin-Khatib Important Bird Area which sees a huge variety of native as well as migratory bird species. Pulau Ubin is also home to a rare sight in Singapore: a kampung, or traditional Malay village, and is a popular spot for cycling, camping and walking.

Apart from Sentosa, other notable members of Singapore's southern islands are the Sisters’ Islands, Pulau Hantu and St John’s Island. These largely undeveloped islands are part of a fascinating ecosystem with coral reefs that support endangered species of seahorses, clams and sponges.

Walking and cycling trails along the Singapore River make it an ideal place to spend a morning or evening in Singapore. Finish your journey at Marina Bay by heading to the top of Marina Bay Sands for dinner or a drink – or simply visiting the Observation Deck, where you’ll be able to see the southern waters and islands of Singapore, as well as the port and coastline of this fascinating island.