在新加坡观鸟

很多人不会把新加坡和野生动植物联系起来。但是,新加坡的鸟类品种丰富、数量众多,无论您是鸟类学专家,还是观鸟新手,您都会觉得观鸟活动十分有益、给人启迪。观鸟是适合全家人一起开展的活动;孩子们都喜爱这项活动,它适合各种体魄的人,在新加坡也容易开展。

新加坡的鸟类将近有 400 种,有一部分是易危或濒危物种。新加坡的气候和自然栖息地比多数人想象的更具多样化,红树林、沼泽、河流和草原一个都不少,为留鸟和候鸟提供了丰富的环境。

双溪布洛自然公园是新加坡最适合进行观鸟活动的地点之一。东亚迁徙线是主要的全球鸟类迁徙路线之一,这座公园就是这条迁徙线上的重要中途站。每年九月到次年三月期间,鸟群会在这片自然保护区为数众多的泥滩上停留,泥滩的数量可达数百甚至数千。您一个人就能轻松地探索公园,但让一位专家为您做向导会让这次体验更有收获。您会了解到公园里的自然栖息地为什么适合候鸟,例如食蜂鸟、翠鸟和红脚鹬,并仔细寻找易危、受威胁和濒危的鸟类。

奶牛农场采石场(Dairy Farm Quarry)是另一个观鸟的好地方。这座采石场毗邻武吉知马自然保护区——这是一座原始雨林,是全国生物多样性最丰富的地方之一——适合观察黑枕黄鹂、红眼绿毛八哥、黄腰太阳鸟和啄花鸟。同样,这项活动一个人就能轻松地开展,但是如果您在网上订购一位向导,可能会让您收获更多。

拉柏多公园等地也有很多不同种类的鸟。拉柏多公园是观察白腹海雕的好地方,10,000 新元纸币上就有这种鸟。即便您找不到这种鸟,拉柏多公园还有 70 多种鸟类供您观察。中央集水区(Central Catchment)由岛中央的各个蓄水池(例如麦里芝蓄水池、实里达蓄水池上段和贝雅士蓄水池上段及下段)组成,也栖息着众多鸟类和其他动物。

观鸟的最佳时间是清晨,或者下午晚些时候至傍晚早些时候(下午 5 点到 7 点)。要让您的观鸟之行更加舒适惬意,记得带上一副望远镜、一双舒适的步行鞋、驱虫剂、饮用水、帽子、用来速写和速记的小笔记本。不要穿亮色的衣服,以便更好地隐蔽自己。速写或记录对鸟类的描述时,尽量记录它的行动方式、发出的声音、栖息的数种以及头部、喙和翅膀的颜色,这些信息有助于您识别它。

如果要一个人去观鸟,自然学会(新加坡)出版了一本《新加坡观鸟实地指南》;此外,NSS Bird Guide 这款 iPhone app 也是不错的辅助工具。自然学会(新加坡)和国家公园都会定期举办观鸟活动,请留意官方网站上的最新消息。

BIRD WATCHING IN SINGAPORE

Bird watching is a great accessible activity for the whole family and all fitness types. While most people don’t associate Singapore with wildlife, the island is home to a diverse and fascinating population of birds. Whether you’re an ornithology expert or a novice bird-watcher, you’ll find a bird watching session rewarding and enlightening.

There are almost 400 species of bird in Singapore, some of which are vulnerable or endangered. Singapore’s climate and natural habitats are more diverse than most realise – consisting of mangroves, marshes, rivers and grasslands – providing rich environments for resident and migratory birds. 

Sungei Buloh Nature Park is one of the best spots for bird watching in Singapore. The park is an important stopover in the East Asian Flyway, one of the major global migratory routes for birds. Every year from September to March, thousands of birds stop over on the mudflats of the reserve. You can easily explore the park by yourself, but going on a guided walk with an expert may make the experience much more rewarding. You’ll understand how the natural habitats in the park are suitable for migratory birds such as bee-eaters, kingfishers and Redshanks – and look out for vulnerable, threatened and endangered bird species. 

The Dairy Farm Quarry is another ideal bird-watching spot. Located adjacent to the Bukit Timah Nature Reserve – a primary rainforest and one of the most biodiverse spots in the country – the quarry is an ideal place to spot black-naped oriole, gosly starlings, crimson sunbirds and flowerpeckers. Again, this is easily done independently but if you look online for a guided walk, you’ll probably get a lot more out of it.

Other spots like Labrador Park are also home to many diverse species of birds, with more than 70 types to look out for. Labrador Park is a good place to try to spot the White-bellied Sea Eagle, which also appears on the S$10,000 banknote. The Central Catchment area, consisting of reservoirs in the middle of the island (such as MacRitchie, Upper Seletar, Upper Peirce and Lower Peirce) is also home to a diverse group of birds and other fauna. 

The best time to go bird watching is early in the morning, or in the late afternoon to early evening around 5pm to 7pm. A pair of binoculars, comfortable walking shoes, insect repellant, water, a hat, and a small notebook to jot down quick sketches will also make your session more comfortable and enjoyable. Avoid wearing bright colours so that you blend in to the environment better. When sketching or noting down the description of a bird, try to note how it moves, the sound it makes, the type of tree it’s on, and the colours of the head, beak and wings; these details will help you identify the species.

For independent bird watching, the Nature Society (Singapore) publishes a book called A Field Guide to the Birds of Singapore; in addition, the NSS Bird Guide iPhone app is an ideal companion. Both the Nature Society (Singapore) and National Parks hold regular bird watching sessions, so stay updated on their websites.