新加坡植物园 - 新加坡旅游景点新加坡植物园 - 新加坡旅游景点

新加坡植物园

新加坡许多商场有空调配备是有原因的:在狮城户外散步会很热!然而,新加坡四处散落着许多令人心旷神怡的户外场所,如新加坡植物园。如果不想被大中午的骄阳灼晒,可以在早晨或晚上到植物园散散步。

 

新加坡植物园中的凉亭 - 新加坡旅游景点

如果说新加坡是花园城市,那么植物园就是这座花园里花木最繁茂之地。植物园已有150年历史,占地64公顷,其画卷般的步道绵延数公里。植物园入园免费,开放时间为早上5点至午夜,十分适合晨起漫步、晚上玩飞盘游戏或者徜徉于新加坡丰富的自然遗产之中。

植物园建立于1859年,曾是新加坡主要农业发展(如开展橡胶树实验,而后橡胶树成为了东南亚地区的主要农作物)之地。想了解植物园的历史,不妨到园内的遗产博物馆参观一番。园内栽有47株遗产树,均散落于一条特别步道周围;这些古树代表了新加坡的特色植物及稀有品种。

新加坡植物园中小径 - 新加坡旅游景点
植物园还栽植着卓锦万代兰(胡姬花),这是新加坡最负盛名的象征之一。该杂交品种是由新加坡最杰出的亚美尼亚人之一——爱尼丝·卓锦女士(1854-1899)在自己花园内培植而成的。1981年,该品种被选为新加坡国花。想欣赏令人眼花缭乱的兰花,可以前往植物园内的国家兰花园,支付门票费即可入园。这里培育着1000多个品种的兰花以及2000多种杂交兰花,是这座花园城市的皇冠之珠。许多兰花都是植物园兰花培育项目(始于1928年)的成果。

游客也可探索植物园内的迷人世界。原始热带森林中50%以上的品种都是新加坡的稀有植物,周围十分凉爽。也可以到姜园、芬芳园、盆景园或疗养花园,了解一下植物如何培育以及用于治疗、烹饪及审美。植物园内还点缀着几汪湖泊,栖息着鱼、龟等野生动物。其中最出名的要数以一对疣鼻天鹅命名的天鹅湖了。

交响乐湖会举办几场免费的现场音乐表演——从大型乐队乐曲到古典音乐。湖中的田田莲叶上设有一座专用舞台,游人可以在湖畔宽广葱郁的草坡上铺一片野餐毯,一边与朋友家人品尝美酒奶酪,一边聆听星空下的美妙音乐。

到植物园游览就一定要去园内的餐饮场所逛逛,你可以在这里放松双腿、缓解疲累,同时享用当地美食和欧洲料理。 

Finally, reward yourself for getting some exercise walking around the Gardens by stopping by one of the food and beverage outlets located within the premises – there's nothing like a verdant view for enhancing your enjoyment of a meal!

Singapore Botanic Gardens BannerSingapore Botanic Gardens Banner

SINGAPORE BOTANIC GARDENS

There’s a reason there are so many air conditioned malls in Singapore: walking around the city can get really hot! However, there are many stunning outdoor places to enjoy in Singapore, and the Singapore Botanic Gardens is one of them. While you might want to avoid it in the searing midday or afternoon sun, strolling around the Botanic Gardens is one of the most peaceful ways to spend a morning or evening in Singapore.
Singapore Botanic Gazebo

If Singapore is a Garden City, the Botanic Gardens are the heart of its flora. Spanning 64 hectares, the Gardens have kilometres of picturesque walking trails and represent 150 years of history. It’s free to enter, and the Gardens are open from 5am to midnight, making it an ideal place to go for a morning walk, play a game of Frisbee in the evening, or delve right in to the rich natural heritage of Singapore.

The Gardens were founded in 1859 and were the site of Singapore’s major agricultural developments such as experimentation with rubber trees, which became a major crop in the region. The Heritage Museum in the Gardens is a great way to start to learn about the site’s history. There are also 47 Heritage Trees in the Gardens, and they can all be accessed through a special walking trail; these trees represent some of Singapore’s most characteristic flora, as well as rare species. 

Singapore Botanic Gardens green path through the gardens

The Botanic Gardens are home to one of Singapore’s most famous icons: the Vanda Miss Joaquim orchid. The world's first hybrid orchid originated in the garden of the amateur horticulturalist, Ms Agnes Joaquim (1854-1899), who was also one of the most prominent members of Singapore’s Armenian community. In 1981, the striking pink-and-white hybrid orchid was selected from among forty contenders to be Singapore’s national flower.

To check out a dazzling array of orchids, head to the National Orchid Garden, an attraction within the Botanic Gardens, which can be accessed with an admission fee. Here, you’ll see over 1,000 species and 2,000 hybrids of orchids: one of the crown jewels of this Garden City. Many of the orchids are part of the Gardens’ orchid breeding programme, which was started in 1928.

The Botanic Gardens offers many fascinating worlds for visitors to explore. Step into the cool surrounds of a primary tropical forest, with more than 50% of the species representing rare plants in Singapore. Or check out the Ginger Garden, Fragrant Garden, Bonsai Garden or Healing Garden to understand how plants are cultivated and used for therapies, food and aesthetics.

There are also several lakes in the Gardens, home to wildlife like fish, turtles and swans. Perhaps the most famous of these is Swan Lake, named after the pair of white swans that make their home on that lake. And at Symphony Lake, you can see free live music performances, from big band tunes to classical music. The lake houses a purpose-built stage, set among lily pads, and a vast green slope where everyone is welcome to bring a picnic blanket, wine, cheese and great company to listen to music under the stars. 

Finally, reward yourself for getting some exercise walking around the Gardens by stopping by one of the food and beverage outlets located within the premises – there's nothing like a verdant view for enhancing your enjoyment of a meal!