书架书架

新加坡的书店

在制定新加坡旅游行程时,书店可能不会是首选,不过书虫们如果知道狮城遍布优质书店,一定乐意到那里消磨一下午的。

新加坡书店 - 翻开的书

新加坡本土的Books Actually是狮城独立书店领域的先驱之一。除了罕见的珍贵书籍和亚洲文学作品,这里也有古色古香的礼品和文具。Books Actually同时运营着出版社,为当地作家新秀提供了被阅读、被聆听的平台。

Books Actually的所有者还创办了另一家叫Polymath & Crust的书店,专门提供心理学、电影、艺术、科学、旅游、美食等领域的非小说书籍。这两家书店都会定时举办有趣的活动,并在其网站和社交主页上发布详细内容。

翻开的杂志

达士敦山上古色古香的Littered With Books也必定让爱书者心满意足——店员会热心向你推荐读物,然后你可以安逸舒适地窝在角落里翻阅。

想寻觅珍稀绝版书,可以到Gohd Books碰碰运气,这家店既有实体店也有网上书店,而且可以发货到全世界。

这里不得不提及新加坡最大的书店:位于义安城的日本连锁书店纪伊国屋书店。这家大型书店藏有约40万册保管良好的书籍,其中包括各种精选的日本书籍、杂志和文具。

你可以逛逛新加坡的书店,带点专属于新加坡的东西回家—— 一本关于新加坡文化或历史的书、由当地作家讲述的一系列短篇故事、或者一个手工制作的笔记本。比起普通的纪念品,这些令人心生愉悦的宝贝肯定会让你的新加坡回忆更加宝贵!

BookshelfBookshelf

BEST BOOKSTORES IN SINGAPORE

Bookstores might not necessarily spring up immediately as one of the top places to visit in Singapore, but book lovers will be pleased to know that the island boasts a number of excellent independent and popular bookstores worth spending an afternoon in.  
Singapore Bookstore - a book

The home-grown success story that is Books Actually is one of the pioneers of the independent bookstore scene in Singapore. Aside from rare books and Asian literature, you’ll also find a range of vintage gifts and stationery. Books Actually also runs a publishing arm that gives local emerging writers a platform to be read and heard.

The owners of Books Actually branched out to another bookstore called Polymath & Crust, specialising entirely in nonfiction books that span the areas of psychology, film, art, science, travel and food. Both stores regularly run interesting events, details of which are published on their website and social media pages. 

opened book

Littered With Books on Duxton Hill is also sure to delight book lovers — it’s a charming, quaint space with cozy reading corners and staff recommendations all over the shop.

For rare and out-of-print books, check out Gohd Books, which has an online store in addition to its physical store, and ships worldwide.

Singapore’s biggest bookstore deserves mention here: the Japanese chain, Kinokuniya, located in Ngee Ann City. This massive store stocks about 400,000 well-curated books including a wide selection of Japanese books, magazines and stationery.

Potter around Singapore’s bookstores and find something uniquely Singaporean to bring home — a book about Singapore’s culture or history, a collection of short stories by a local author, or a handcrafted notebook. These delightful alternatives to the usual souvenirs will make your Singapore memories much more valuable!