新加坡的印度教寺庙 - 新加坡旅游景点新加坡的印度教寺庙 - 新加坡旅游景点

新加坡印度教寺庙指南

印度教在新加坡历史悠久。虽然南印度移民迁至新加坡后才揭开了印度教在新加坡的近代篇章,但新加坡的印度教最早可追溯到公元7世纪,属贸易往来而非移民之产物。苏门答腊三佛齐帝国将印度教和佛教带到了淡马锡(当时的新加坡)。不过,直到19、20世纪大量移民涌入,才使得印度教成为了新加坡主要宗教之一。 
新加坡马里安曼寺庙 - 新加坡旅游景点

许多印度人是以东印度公司或其他贸易公司的契约劳工和苦力身份来到新加坡的。新加坡的印度教寺庙供奉的是印度移民所崇拜的各路神祇,而一般来自同个村镇或相同亚文化群体的印度人会用类似的仪式来做礼拜。

地处牛车水地区的马里安曼庙是新加坡最古老的印度教寺庙,牛车水也是颇具新加坡特色的观光、购物、美食场所。马里安曼庙由Naraiana Pillai于1827年兴建,此人为槟城一名政府职员,也是新加坡第一家建筑公司的创办者。该庙的建筑令人不禁联想到南印度的达罗毗荼庙。耸立于寺庙上方的塔门装饰着六层雕饰。 

新加坡印度教寺庙的石狮 - 新加坡旅游景点

若干年后(1855年),实龙岗路上的斯里尼瓦沙柏鲁马庙(一座供奉毗湿奴的大型寺庙)也竣工了。不过其塔门直至1966年才建成,塔门描绘了毗湿奴的不同化身,是印度神话领域的一大研究课题。

寺庙地面及周围地区曾经土地肥沃、草木繁茂,满是池塘和菜园。一道小溪流入寺庙,信徒在开始礼拜之前用溪水清洗自己。虽然如今溪流已干涸消失,但寺院有口井,用以纪念那道溪流。该庙也是每年大宝森节游行的起点,如果你来对了时机,就能亲身体验这场好玩的节日庆典。

大宝森节 - 新加坡旅游景点
大宝森节游行的终点为坦克路上的丹达乌他帕尼庙(当地人称之为雀替尔庙或坦克路庙)。该庙由雀替尔人(来自南印度雀替尔地区的钱币商人)于1859年建成,供奉穆卢干王(印度神话中也称苏巴马廉王或卡西克王)。每年一月与二月之间的满月之时,便是大宝森节。当天,信徒会举行各种赎罪以及感谢穆卢干王的仪式,所以游行才以该庙为终点。 
印度教寺庙的赤足 - 新加坡旅游景点

印度教寺庙需要赤足才能进入,你可以和其他游客一样将鞋履放在寺庙入口外。新加坡人通常都能接受大多数着装,但为表尊重,造访宗教场所时最好穿得保守一点。寺庙的大部分地方均可供人参观,但有些地方只许信徒入内参拜,而只有牧师才能进入庙内圣所。这些地方一般允许拍照,但最好在拍照前征得同意——特别是有其他人入镜或者拍摄私人仪式的时候。 

你也可以看看新加坡其他礼拜场所,这里不仅有清真寺教堂,还有中式寺庙,也有不少鲜为人知的宗教场所

Hindu Temple and SkyscraperHindu Temple and Skyscraper

GUIDE TO HINDU TEMPLES IN SINGAPORE

Hinduism has a long history in Singapore. While the more recent history of the religion has followed the story of southern Indian immigrants to Singapore, the earliest traces of Hinduism in the country date back to the 7th century ACE and were a product of trade relations rather than immigration. The Sumatran Srivijaya Empire brought Hinduism and Buddhism to Temasek, as Singapore was then known. It was only in the 1800s and 1900s, however, that the influx of immigration made Hinduism one of Singapore’s major religions. 
The Hindu temples in Singapore

Many Indians came to Singapore as indentured labourers and coolies, working for the East India Company or other trading companies. The Hindu temples in Singapore are dedicated to the various gods and goddesses that Indian immigrants worshipped. Often, a group of Hindus from the same village or town, or from the same sub-cultural group, would practise a similar form of Hindu worship.

The oldest Hindu temple in Singapore is the Sri Mariamman Temple in the Chinatown area. It was built in 1827 by Naraiana Pillai, a government clerk from Penang who also set up Singapore’s first construction company. The architecture of the temple is reminiscent of Dravidian temples in South India. The gopuram of the temple — the roof that rises above it — is decorated with six tiers of carvings. 

Hindu Temple - stone lion

Some years later, in 1855, the Sri Srinivasa Perumal Temple - a large complex dedicated to the god Vishnu - was built on Serangoon Road. The gopuram was only added in 1966, and is a study in Hindu mythology, depicting the many different incarnations of Vishnu.

The temple grounds were originally lush and fertile, with vegetable gardens, ponds and a stream used for ritual cleansing by people praying at the temple. Although the stream is now gone, a well in the temple courtyard is a reminder of its presence. This temple is also the starting point for the annual Thaipusam procession — one of the more interesting festivals to catch in Singapore if you arrive at the right time of year!

Diwali Shrine

The Thaipusam procession ends at another temple, the Sri Thendayuthapani Temple on Tank Road (also known as the Chettiar Temple or, simply, the Tank Road temple by locals). Granted national monument status in 2014, this temple was built in 1859 by the Chettiar community, who were primarily moneylenders from the Chettinadu region of South India.

The Sri Thendayuthapani Temple is dedicated to the Hindu god of war, Lord Muruga, who is also known in Hindu mythology as Lord Subramaniam, Karthik, or Kartikeya. During the festival of Thaipusam, held each year on the full moon between January and February, devotees carry out various acts of penance and gratitude to Lord Muruga, which is why the procession ends here. 

Hindu Temple Feet

When visiting a Hindu temple, you will be required to remove your footwear. You may leave your footwear along with others’ outside the entrance of the temple. Singaporeans are generally quite open-minded about most forms of clothing, but, as a mark of respect, it is always a good idea to dress on the conservative side when visiting a place of worship. Most places in Hindu temples are accessible to everyone, but some may be reserved for worshippers and only priests may enter the inner sanctums. Photography is also generally permitted but it’s a good idea to check before taking photos, especially of people and private ceremonies.

You may be interested to check out other places of worship in Singapore, from mosques and churches to Chinese temples and lesser known religious sites.