圣安德鲁教堂圣安德鲁教堂

新加坡历史悠久的教堂

新加坡曾是英国的殖民地,基督教就是从那时起开始传入新加坡。教堂的建造,最初是为了供基督教移民做礼拜。这些教堂完美展现了殖民地时期的建筑风格,也让我们看到了早期基督教徒的多元化。
亚美尼亚教堂

亚美尼亚教堂

新加坡最古老的教堂是建于1835年的亚美尼亚教堂,它是一座紧凑、典雅的白色建筑,位于禧街。教堂的建筑师是乔治·哥里门,他对新加坡殖民地时期的建筑起到了非常重要的作用。教堂风格参照了位于亚美尼亚的埃奇米艾津圣·格列高利教堂(St Gregory’s Church in Echmiadzin)。
亚美尼亚教堂
步入这座八角形建筑,你会震撼于它的寂静,这与外面的喧嚣形成鲜明的对比。教堂周围是精致美丽的花园,漫步于此,你会发现这里安放了许多著名亚美尼亚人的墓碑,其中包括卓锦·万代兰(Agnes Joaquim),新加坡的国花卓锦万代兰(胡姬花)正是以她的名字命名。但这里其实并不是墓地,墓碑均是后人从武吉知马迁移至此。
善牧主教堂

善牧主教堂

建于1847年的善牧主教堂距亚美尼亚教堂仅几步之遥,位于维多利亚街和勿拉士峇沙路(Bras Basah)之间。善牧主指的是法国传教士英伯(St. Laurent-Marie-Joseph Imbert),他的圣骨就安葬于此。善牧主教堂是新加坡的主教座堂,在新加坡罗马天主教徒心目中具有十分重要的地位。它拥有两组管风琴以及建造于二十世纪早期的大主教和教区长住宅。
圣约瑟教堂

圣约瑟教堂

离善牧主教堂不远处就是同样位于维多利亚街的圣约瑟教堂,由新加坡罗马天主教葡萄牙传教会建造。新加坡的葡萄牙传教会由来自葡萄牙波尔图的麦雅(Francisco da Silva Pinto e Maia)神父创立于1826年,神父去世后,传教会用神父捐献的资金和土地建造了一座小教堂。1906年,最初的São José教堂坍塌,人们于是在原址上修建了现在的圣约瑟教堂。它的显著特征是八角形穹顶尖塔以及淡蓝色和白色外观。
圣安德烈教堂

圣安德烈教堂

圣安德烈教堂是新加坡最大的教堂,气势磅礴壮观。它是圣公会新加坡教区的主教座堂。教堂占地数亩,规模宏大,新哥特式建筑风格,靠近市政厅地铁站,其高耸的尖塔使新加坡的天际线靓丽多姿。教堂拥有三面彩绘玻璃窗,用来纪念三位历史上有名的开拓者:史丹福·莱佛士爵士、约翰・ 克劳福德驻扎官和威廉·巴特沃思将军。它还保存着用被大火焚烧过的考文垂教堂木料制作的考文垂十字架,以及伊丽莎白二世在威斯敏斯特教堂加冕时用过的一段地毯。
圣乔治教堂

圣乔治教堂

圣乔治教堂坐落在僻静的登普西山,地处中央商务区外围附近。教堂周围草木葱茏,它建立之初主要服务于附近东陵军营(现在已变成时尚酒吧、餐厅、百货商铺一条街)。教堂风格简约,没有尖塔,只是简单的红砖和白色十字架,与周围绿茵相映成趣。下午来登普西山消遣是个不错的选择,而晚上可以去圣乔治教堂感受它带给你的宁静与祥和。
赞美教堂

赞美教堂

赞美教堂位于中心商务区,它不是严格意义上的教堂。起初它是一座修道院,名为耶稣圣婴修道院,由4名法国修女创建于19世纪50年代。如今,赞美广场还保留着以前的院落、回廊餐厅、商铺以及原来的哥特式小教堂;其拱形穹顶、精美涂饰和彩绘玻璃,美轮美奂,令人流连忘返。
探索新加坡的历史建筑,除了游览教堂,还可以拜访其他殖民地时期建筑桥梁店屋,追寻新加坡的历史影迹。

GUIDE TO HISTORICAL CHURCHES IN SINGAPORE

The construction of churches in Singapore began when the island was established as a British colony, to provide the influx of Christian immigrants with places of worship. Singapore’s churches are among the finest examples of colonial architecture in the city, and reveal the surprising diversity of the country’s earliest Christian population.
Armenian Church

Armenian Church of St. Gregory the Illuminator

The oldest church in Singapore, built in 1835, is the Armenian Church of St. Gregory the Illuminator. This compact, elegant white building on Hill Street is considered to be the masterpiece of George Coleman, an architect whose name is synonymous with colonial architecture in Singapore. Drawing on neoclassical influences, Coleman modelled the church after another church dedicated to St. Gregory in Echmiadzin, Armenia. 
Singapore Gregory Church
Step into the octagonal structure and you’ll be surprised at the sudden quiet, a sharp contrast from the busy street outside. The contemplative atmosphere extends to the well-manicured gardens around the church, where you can stroll around the tombstones of many prominent Armenians – although none were buried on the church grounds, and the tombstones were brought to this church from the Bukit Timah cemetery. Notably, one tombstone belongs to Agnes Joaquim, the horticulturalist creator and namesake of Singapore’s national flower, the Vanda Miss Joaquim orchid.
Cathedral of the Good Shepherd

Cathedral of the Good Shepherd

Consecrated in 1847, the Cathedral of the Good Shepherd on the corner of Victoria Street and Bras Brasah Road is the seat of the Archbishop of Singapore. The Good Shepherd to whom its name refers is St. Laurent-Marie-Joseph Imbert, a French missionary in Asia whose relics are housed in the Cathedral. The Cathedral also houses two organs and the ground holds the residence of the Archbishop and a Rectory built in the early 20th century.
St. Joseph’s Church

St. Joseph’s Church

St. Joseph’s Church was built on Victoria Street in 1826, with funds bequeathed to the Portuguese Mission in Singapore by its founder, Father Francisco da Silva Pinto e Maia of Porto. The first church built on this site was the Church of São José, but that was pulled down in 1906 to build the present St. Joseph’s Church. This was built in the Gothic Revival style, and is instantly recognisable by its octagonal domed tower and pale blue and white facade.
St. Andrew's Cathedral

St. Andrew's Cathedral

One of the most striking churches in Singapore and the largest Cathedral in the country is St. Andrew’s Cathedral, the centre of the Anglican Diocese in Singapore. Designed by Ronald MacPherson and constructed by Indian convict labourers, the Neo-Gothic Cathedral sits on a large square near City Hall MRT. It was built after the original cathedral (designed by George Coleman) was deemed unsafe and demolished after repeated lightening strikes.
St. Andrew's Cathedral

St Andrew's is renowned for its towering spires, and its three large stained glass windows dedicated to prominent colonialists: Sir Stamford Raffles, John Crawfurd and Major General William Butterworth. 

The site is also custodian to several notable artefacts: the Coventry Cross, made from two silver nails taken from the ruins of Coventry Cathedral; the Canterbury Stone, bestowed by the Metropolitan Cathedral Church of Canterbury; and a portion of the carpet used in the coronation of Elizabeth II in Westminster Abbey.

St George's Church

St George's Church

St. George’s Church's in Dempsey Hill stands on an open grassy hill and was originally built for British troops quartered in the nearby Tanglin Barracks (which is now home to a number of stylish bars, restaurants and shops). The architecture of the church is simple, with no spire — just red brick and a simple white cross against the surrounding greenery. Dempsey Hill itself is a great way to spend an afternoon in Singapore, and St. George’s is a peaceful way to usher in the evening.
Chijmes

Chijmes

Back in the CBD, Chijmes is the church that isn’t really a church anymore. It was originally a convent, started by four French nuns in Singapore in the 1850s, and was called the Convent of the Holy Infant Jesus. Today, the courtyards and cloisters house restaurants and shops, and the original Gothic Chapel is still standing; with its dramatic arched ceilings, fine plaster work and stained glass, it is one of Singapore’s most dramatic event venues.
The architectural exploration of Singapore’s past doesn’t stop with churches. Check out other colonial buildingsbridges and shophouses to catch a glimpse into Singapore’s history.