新加坡的图书馆新加坡的图书馆

新加坡的图书馆

书虫们如果想初步了解狮城的历史和现状,不妨到新加坡的图书馆看看。位于维多利亚街的国家图书馆国家图书馆管理局的旗舰机构,另有几个分馆遍布小岛。如果你是新加坡居民但不是公民或永久居民的话,可以通过付费成为图书馆会员。然而,即使以游客身份购票参观新加坡图书馆也是很值的,爱书者来访新加坡时可以将其作为头等活动。
翻开的书页

海利纪念图书馆是新加坡第一所公共图书馆,于1923年在新加坡第一所学校——莱佛士书院的基础上建成。图书馆后来于1960年迁到史丹福路,被指定为新加坡国家图书馆。史丹福路上熟悉的红砖建筑在几年前被拆毁,但维多利亚街上白沙浮商业城和百胜楼交界处却有一栋崭新的国家图书馆大楼拔地而起。

这栋十六层建筑设有公共借阅图书馆、参考书阅览室和戏剧中心。这里也经常举办关于新加坡历史文化的展览,而且大部分都是免费对民众开放的;这些展览涵盖了摄影、家族家谱、制图学、战争历史等众多学科领域。

 

微型胶卷

李光前参考图书馆跨越多个楼层,藏有包括微缩胶卷、东南亚及新加坡书籍、地图和珍稀资料等的一系列参考书籍和材料。珍稀资料在未经允许的情况下不得参阅,不过可以在国家图书馆的网站上看到这些材料的电子版。该网站还收集了新加坡报纸和照片的数字资料。

另一座非常值得参观的图书馆——新开的乌节图书馆,位于乌节门。风格时尚,侧重于应用艺术、技术、生活方式和视觉传达设计,并藏有令人惊叹的一系列针对动画和设计领域的视频资源。

电子书

滨海艺术中心图书馆则是音乐爱好者的梦想,有各种各样关于表演艺术的书籍、古典音乐乐谱和古典音乐表演优质录音材料,还可以从这里纵览壮观的滨海湾美景。

如果你还不确定如何消磨新加坡的炎炎午后时光,想在静谧处探索狮城迷人文化历史的另一面,可以遁入任何一座国家图书馆分馆,在书香中忘我徜徉!

Singapore LibrarySingapore Library

BEST LIBRARIES IN SINGAPORE

Singapore’s libraries are a great place for the book lover to start understanding the country’s history and present. While the National Library on Victoria Street is the flagship branch of the National Library Board, there are many public libraries all over the island. If not a citizen or Permanent Resident of Singapore, you can still become a member of the library for a small fee. Even as a tourist, visiting a library in Singapore is well worth it and should be one of the top activities for bibliophiles.
Open Book

Singapore’s first public library was the Hullett Memorial Library, built in 1923 within the grounds of Raffles Institution, the first school in Singapore. The library eventually moved to Stamford Road in 1960 where it was designated the National Library of Singapore. The familiar red brick building on Stamford Road was torn down several years ago, but a new National Library Building was built in between Bugis Junction and Bras Basah Complex on Victoria Street.

This 16-storey building houses a public lending library, reference library, and Drama Centre. Exhibitions on Singapore’s history and culture are often held in this building, and most are free. These exhibitions span disciplines including photography, family genealogies, cartography, and war history. 

Microfilm

Located within the National Library, the Lee Kong Chian Reference Library spans multiple floors and contains a range of reference books and materials as well as microfilms, Southeast Asian and Singaporean books, maps and rare materials. Although the rare materials may only be accessed with permission, many are available in digital form on the National Library’s website. The website also includes digital collections of Singaporean newspapers and photographs.

Another library branch worth visiting when you’re in Singapore is the newly-opened Library@Orchard. This stylish space in Orchard Gateway focusses on the applied arts, technology, lifestyle and visual communication — with an impressive range of video resources on animation and design. 

Audio Book

And for an audiovisual learning session enhanced by spectacular views of Marina Bay, visit Library@Esplanade. With a wide variety of books on the performing arts, classical music scores, and audio material with excellent recordings of classical music performances, this library branch is a music-lover's dream.

So if you’re wondering how to spend a hot afternoon or rainy day in Singapore, and need a quiet place in which you can explore another side of this country’s fascinating culture and history, duck into the National Library or any of the Public Library branches and lose yourself in a book or two!