理发店标志理发店标志

传统的新加坡理发店

每个国家、每种文化都有自己的理发传统,新加坡也不例外。步入新加坡一家传统理发店,体验他们为你提供的服务,不仅很好玩,还能交朋结友、谈天说地。 
新加坡理发店

新加坡的传统理发店一开始甚至不设店铺。惹兰苏丹( Jalan Sultan)附近的理发街上,沿途的路边理发店会设起临时帐篷和摊位、塑料椅、镜子、水盆来招待顾客。4、50年前,理一次发要花50分钱,不过你还可以多加刮脸、掏耳、按摩服务。

今天,路边理发店几乎要消匿无踪了——出于卫生和管理原因,这些路边摊不得不搬进理发店内。不过,牛车水和丹戎巴葛的后街偶尔还会见到路边理发店的影子。

新加坡理发店

无论在街边还是店里,大部分的传统理发师都没受过特殊培训,也没上过美发学校,他们只是从业多年,可能是家里传承下来的手艺,也可能是当学徒时习得的。

现在大部分理发店都搬进了室内,不过你仍然可以在中心地段的理发店内感受新加坡式的理发体验。这些店只有男理发师,店外有抢眼的蓝红白旋转立柱,一眼就能辨认出来。

理发工具

传统的理发沙龙大部分由印度和马来人经营,且大多数理发店都经历了一段悠长岁月。大部分理发店喜欢使用旧式工具,有时甚至会选用旧式剃刀而非现代电动剃须刀。

剃须刮脸后会用滑石粉来舒缓皮肤,之后理发师会用一把大刷来扫除皮肤上的多余滑石粉。传统理发店的收费低于精品店或连锁沙龙,而且理发师通常还会给你按摩按摩、开开玩笑、提供点宝贵的生活忠告。

新加坡残存的路边理发店和传统理发店都拥有一批忠实顾客,许多人还会口耳相传、互相推荐。如果你在网上搜不到传统理发店,也寻不见醒目的旋转立柱,不妨四处问问——尤其可以问问的士司机,说不定能从他们口中探知新加坡许多鲜为人知的宝贵信息。

barber shop pole signbarber shop pole sign

TRADITIONAL SINGAPORE BARBERS

Every country and culture seems to have its own barber traditions, and Singapore is no exception. Looking for a wonderful way to make friends and have fascinating conversations? Step into a traditional barber in Singapore and experience what they have to offer.
Barber Shop in Singapore

Traditional barbers in Singapore didn’t even bother with shops initially. Roadside barbers along Barber Street near Jalan Sultan would set up makeshift tents and stalls, plastic chairs, mirrors and water-filled basins to tend to their customers.

Today, street barbers are all but lost. For hygiene and regulatory reasons, they have been asked to move to proper barber shops. However, it is still possible to find the odd street barber along the back alleys of Chinatown or Tanjong Pagar.

Barber Shop in Singapore

Although most barbers have moved to proper shops now, you can still get a taste of the Singaporean barber experience in barber shops in the heartlands. These men-only barber shops are immediately recognisable from the spinning blue, red and white poles outside.

Whether on the street or in barber shops, most traditional barbers didn’t go to special colleges or styling schools. They’ve simply been in the trade for many decades and might have learnt the business from an older family member or as an apprentice. 

Tools for haircut

Traditional barber salons tend to be operated largely by ethnic Indians and Malays, and most of them have a long history of cutting hair. Most barbers prefer to use old-school tools, and even prefer old-fashioned shaving blades to the more modern electric shavers.

Talcum powder is used liberally to soothe the skin after a shave, and a large thick brush used to remove excess powder from the skin afterwards. Prices are lower compared to boutique or chain salons, and generally include a vigorous head and shoulder massage, banter, humour, and valuable advice on life!

The last remaining street barbers of Singapore and traditional barbers in barber shops both tend to have loyal followings and many recommendations come through word of mouth. If you can’t find a traditional barber by searching online or hunting for the distinctive rotating poles, feel free to ask around — especially taxi drivers, Singapore’s hidden treasure-troves of valuable information.