生命极限

创造生命或者延长生命,意味着什么? 这一部分将探索人类生命与寿命的极限。其中包括设计师 Agatha Haines 创作的五件人类婴儿雕塑,每一个婴儿都带有手术实施的身体改造,可谓引人入胜、发人深省。

展示的作品来自:Agatha Haines、Zoe Papadopoulou 和 Anna Smajdor、Jaemin Paik、Julijonas Urbonas、James Auger 和 Jimmy Loizeau 以及组织培养和艺术计划(Oron Catts 和 Ionat Zurr)。 
 

《变形》

《变形》,2013 年
Agatha Haines


Agatha Haines 曾就读于伦敦皇家艺术学院的互动设计专业,主要方向为人体设计。 

由她创作的《变形》展示了五件婴儿雕塑,每位婴儿的身体都通过手术进行了改造。每项改造都是为了帮助婴儿解决在未来可能会面临的问题,包括医疗、环境和社交能力等。父母究竟会为孩子付出多大的努力来帮助他们赢在起跑线上呢? 改变又应该被限制在怎样的范围之内?

《类生命无忧娃娃》,组织培养和艺术计划

《类生命无忧娃娃》,2000 年
组织培养和艺术计划

Oron Catts 和 Ionat Zurr


组织培养和艺术计划由艺术家 Oron Catts 和 Ionat Zurr 共同创建,他们在实验室环境中对活组织的使用问题进行了探索,并创建/培育了“类生命物体”。

《类生命无忧娃娃》是 2000 年在美术馆展览的首个利用活组织制作的雕塑。 

该作品的灵感来源于大人们送给孩子用于悄悄述说烦恼和忧虑的危地马拉无忧娃娃。《类生命无忧娃娃》由手工制作而成,使用的材料包括可降解聚合物和外科缝合线。这些娃娃体内种植了活细胞,会渐渐生长以取代聚合物。

《类生命无忧娃娃》既不属于存活状态,也不属于死亡状态,表达了对生命概念的一种质疑,即生命是由动物细胞组成,这些细胞是由维持生命的身体系统所维系的。

《如果大家都活到 150 岁》,Jaemin Paik, 2012 年

《如果大家都活到 150 岁》,2012 年
Jaemin Paik


您想活到 150 岁吗? 当前,有大量的研究小组正在钻研如何减缓甚至逆转人类的老化过程。Jaemin Paik 是一位韩国艺术家兼设计师,曾就读于伦敦皇家艺术学院的互动设计专业。在该作品中,她对人类寿命延长所带来的后果进行了一番探索。

如果我们都活到 150 岁甚至更久,那我们的家庭生活会产生怎样的变化? 一个家庭中可能出现六世同堂的局面,兄弟姐妹间的年龄差距悬殊,传统的家庭模型将发生急剧的变化,甚至可能因为成员过多、负担过重而瓦解。《如果大家都活到 150 岁》构想了这一有趣的画面,并提出一些替代性家庭模型,重新定义社会结构以适应人类的日渐增长的寿命。例如,在未来世界中,婚姻并不是终身制的,相反,婚姻更像是一种建立在合同之上的承诺,有效期 30 年,双方可以续签或者解除合同,从而减轻终身情感关系给人们带来的压力。 

Nadine

Nadine
新加坡南洋理工大学 (NTU) 媒体创新研究院 (IMI)


Nadine  是世界上最逼真的女性类人机器人之一。在新加坡制造的 Nadine 机器人以 Nadia Magnenat Thalman 教授为原型,其外貌和举止与人类极其相似。

Nadine 展现了当前人类在辅助科技研究领域所取得的先进成果,这些科技旨在造福那些具有特殊需求的人群。她可以陪伴和协助那些需要特殊照顾的人群。她可以为用户读书、展示图片、发起 Skype 聊天、发送电子邮件以及与用户的家人沟通。

该类人机器人的制作者是来自新加坡南洋理工大学媒体创新研究院的院长 Nadia Magnenat Thalmann 教授。

LIFE AT THE EDGES

What does it mean to create life, or extend a person's lifespan? This section of the exhibition explores the limits of human life and longevity. It includes a compelling and challenging work by designer, Agatha Haines, who has created five sculptures of human babies, each with a surgically implemented body modification.

Featuring: Agatha Haines, Zoe Papadopoulou and Anna Smajdor, Jaemin Paik, Julijonas Urbonas, James Auger and Jimmy Loizeau, Tissue Culture and Art Project (Oron Catts and Ionat Zurr). 
 

Transfigurations

Transfigurations, 2013
Agatha Haines


Agatha Haines studied Design Interactions at the Royal College of Art in London, and focuses on the design of the human body. 

Her project, Transfigurations, consists of sculptures representing five babies, each with a surgically implemented body modification. Each modification is designed to solve a potential future problem for the baby, ranging from medical or environmental issues to social mobility issues.How far might parents go to give their child an advantage? What circumstances justify modifying a child’s body?

SEMI-LIVING WORRY DOLLS, TISSUE CULTURE AND ART PROJECT

Semi-Loving Worry Dolls, 2000
Tissue Culture and Art Project

Oron Catts and Ionat Zurr


The Tissue Culture and Art Project was set up by artists Oron Catts and Ionat Zurr, working within a lab environment, to explore questions arising from the use of living tissues to create/grow “semi-living objects”.

The Semi-Living Worry Dolls were the first tissue engineered sculptures to be presented alive in a gallery in 2000. 

Inspired by the Guatemalan worry dolls given to children to whisper their worries and concerns to, the Semi-Living Worry Dolls were handcrafted out of degradable polymers and surgical sutures. The dolls were then seeded with living cells that gradually replace the polymers.

Neither alive nor dead the Semi-Living Worry Dolls challenge our concept of life, consisting of animal cells sustained by a life-support machine.

When We All Live to 150, 2012 Jaemin Paik

When We All Live to 150, 2012
Jaemin Paik


Would you want to live to 150? There are a number of research groups who are currently trying to discover how to slow down or even reverse the processes of aging. Jaemin Paik is a Korean artist and designer, who studied Design Interactions at the Royal College of Art in London. In this project, she explores the consequences of life extension.

How would family life change if we all lived to 150 or beyond? With up to six generations living together, and the possibility of huge age gaps between siblings, the traditional model of the family would change dramatically, perhaps even becoming unsustainable with the burden of its large membership. When We All Live to 150 playfully imagines this scenario, and proposes some alternative family models, re-defining social structures to better suit long life expectancy. For example, in this future, marriage does not last till death do us part. Instead, to ease the pressure of forming a lifelong bond, marriage is a contract-based 30 year commitment that can be renewed or expire. 

Nadine

Nadine
Institute for Media Innovation (IMI) Nanyang Technological University (NTU) Singapore
Nadine's Operating Hours:
Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Saturday - Sunday: 2:00pm - 6:00pm


Nadine is one of the most realistic female humanoid social robots in the world. Made in Singapore, Nadine was modelled on Professor Nadia Magnenat Thalman, she looks and acts incredibly lifelike.

Nadine is a cutting edge example of current research into assistive technologies that are being developed for people with special needs. She can be a companion who assists people who need extra support. She can read stories, show images, begin Skype sessions, send emails, and communicate with a user’s family.

Nadine has been created by Professor Nadia Magnenat Thalmann, Director of Institute for Media Innovation (IMI) at Nanyang Technological University (NTU), Singapore.