访谈:Dwayne Emuang 主厨

Dwayne 主厨深信优秀的品格和呈献美食的热忱是成就一位厨师的关键。


Dwayne Emuang 主厨,餐饮副总监,滨海湾金沙

谈谈您的厨师生涯。

我出身自马来西亚的美食之都槟城州,生长在欧亚家庭的我从小接触当地多元化的美食。即便如此,我从未想过成为一名厨师。直到我身为全职系统工程师并工作了大约一年后,我才发现朝九晚五的工作并不适合我。那时的我非常热爱名厨 Jamie Oliver 和 Gordon Ramsay ,经常关注他们的烹饪节目。随着我对烹饪的兴趣日渐增长,我决定大胆尝试,并在 2008 年加入了槟城贵都大酒店的高档法式餐厅成为学徒。那段经历是让我大开眼界的探索之旅,因为我没有任何烹饪背景或经验,而一切都需从头学起。尽管每天工作时间很长,我很享受一个团队各任其职,合作无间地把最好的用餐体验呈现给宾客们。

我厨师生涯的转折点是于2010 年来到新加坡,加入了名厨餐厅 CUT by Wolfgang Puck,成为初创团队的一份子。在我烹饪导师Joshua Brown主厨的指导下,我在2015 年成为CUT餐厅的副主厨,而同年也以副主厨的身份加入了Spago by Wolfgang Puck 餐厅,成为初创团队的一份子,并于2017 年间晋升成为行政副主厨。

在 Jean Georges Vongerichten 的 The Dempsey Cookhouse 餐厅任职行政主厨两年后,我在 2019 年重返滨海湾金沙,担任 RISE国际自助餐厅和 Renku的行政副主厨,后来晋升为这两家餐厅的行政主厨。目前,我担任滨海湾金沙餐饮副总监,主要负责酒店的食品供应采购,同时为各家餐厅拟定长远营运计划、指定菜单和提升服务水平等方面的规划。

您的烹饪理念是什么?

我从初步学习烹饪时就深刻体会到食物的魅力所在。简单的一餐不仅可以填饱肚子,更能为宾客带来一整天的愉悦心情。身为厨师,我们必须尊重自己的职业,也身兼款待服务业推广大使。除了完善烹饪技巧之外,我认为厨师们还要尽心尽力为每位宾客提供优质的用餐体验,无论是为他们特定菜品、或植入一些小惊喜等。这种以客为尊的思维模式将决定我们如何调整特制各种用餐体验,提供超出预期的服务。

一位好厨师必须有那些重要的品质?

我重视一名厨师的诚信和热忱。烹饪技巧可以学习,手法也可以锻炼,但成就一位厨师的关键是精湛烹饪背后的厨德和动力。烹饪并不是什么高深的学问,但一名厨师如果没有优秀的品性和对烹饪的热忱便不能持续发展事业。在餐饮行业尤其如此——它需要高度的奉献精神、纪律和刻苦耐劳的品性。

此外,一名好的厨师也要身兼数职,尤其当他逐渐成为领导者。一名主厨就同时扮演了人力资源经理、会计、营销主管和活动策划等多个角色。从日常的厨师排班和管理成本和预算、到制定菜单、发挥创意满足宾客的要求,和领导合作无间的烹饪团队,一名主厨需要精通烹饪之余的多项技能。

您最喜欢哪种美食?

在我心中,没有什么能比得上家常菜,尤其是对我们这些每日在外用餐的厨师而言。我最喜欢的是我妈妈的招牌欧亚菜,例如魔鬼咖喱(Curry Deba)和亚参猪肉(Babi Assam)。对我而言,这些美味菜肴就是家的味道。

如果在休息日外出就餐,与其到高档餐厅用餐,我会选择到休闲的煮炒摊。受到西式烹饪培训的我若到高档餐厅总会忍不住要细细品尝菜肴,研究其烹饪手法等, 仿佛又回到了自己的工作岗位。然而,和朋友在煮炒摊享用一顿丰盛的晚餐则是非常舒服的体验,也是我在新的一周返工前最享受的放松方式。

您还可能喜欢

Eric Chan 主厨
陈立兴主厨

行政副主厨,御匾会和红宝厅

陈立兴主厨来自香港,于1991 年开启他的餐饮职业生涯。他如今负责监督御匾会和娱乐场特殊活动的餐饮运营与定制特别菜单。

Fukashi Adachi 主厨
Fukashi Adachi 主厨

日料行政主厨,滨海湾金沙

在曼谷、旧金山和新加坡积累了 20 余年烹饪经验的 Fukashi主厨将自己擅长的日料带到滨海湾金沙的 RISE 餐厅和御匾会俱乐部。

Joeky Ang 主厨
洪赞颂主厨

高级副主厨,运财汇 

洪主厨是滨海湾金沙餐饮部的开拓者之一,在多家知名中餐厅累积了超过 35 年宝贵的烹饪经验。

Roy Foo 主厨
傅庆鸿主厨

厨师长,汤点和 The Nest

屡获殊荣的傅庆鸿主厨拥有超过 25 年的烹饪经验,如今带领着汤点和 The Nest 共35 人的高水平厨师团队。

Interview: Chef Dwayne Emuang

Chef Dwayne believes that character and a heart to serve exceptional food are traits that determine a true chef.


Chef Dwayne Emuang, Associate Director of Culinary, Marina Bay Sands

Tell us more about your background and culinary journey

I grew up in a Eurasian family in Penang, a Malaysian state known for its vibrant food culture. Despite being exposed to various cuisines from young, being a chef was never on the cards until I started my first full-time job as a systems engineer. After about a year into this 9-to-5 job, I realized a desk-bound working environment is just not for me. At that time, I was a big fan of celebrity chefs Jamie Oliver and Gordon Ramsay, and would always tune in to their cooking shows. As my interest in cooking blossomed, I took the leap of faith to join a French fine dining restaurant in Hotel Equatorial Penang in 2008. Without any culinary background, I had to learn everything from scratch - it was an eye-opening journey of discovery. Despite the long hours, I thrived in being a team player and most of all, in knowing that my guests enjoyed their meals. 

The turning point of my culinary journey was when I arrived in Singapore in 2010 to join the award-winning CUT by Wolfgang Puck as part of its opening team. Under the guidance of my culinary mentor Chef Joshua Brown, I became Sous Chef of CUT in 2015, and in the same year, joined the pre-opening team of Spago by Wolfgang Puck as Sous Chef, and progressed to Executive Sous Chef from 2016 to 2017.

After a two-year stint as Executive Chef of The Dempsey Cookhouse by Jean Georges Vongerichten, I returned to Marina Bay Sands in 2019 as the Executive Sous Chef of RISE and Renku, before progressing to become the Executive Chef of both establishments. In my current role as the Associate Director of Food and Beverage for the integrated resort, I take charge of the property’s food supply chain, and chart the outlook, menu creations and service levels for F&B outlets within the casino. 

What is your culinary philosophy?

One thing I’ve learnt from the get-go was to believe in the power of food – how a simple meal goes a long way beyond sustenance to brighten up a day. As chefs, we have to respect our profession and be good ambassadors of the hospitality industry. In addition to perfecting our culinary craft, I believe a chef should strive to enhance the dining experience for every guest who steps into the restaurant, whether it is customizing a dish, or collaborating for a surprise celebration. This guest-centric mindset will determine how we adapt, tailor the experience, and deliver beyond expectations. 

What are the most important qualities of a good chef? 

I value the integrity and passion of chefs. Culinary techniques can be learned and skills can be trained, but the heart and drive behind great cooking are the traits that determine a true chef. Cooking is not rocket science, but without good character and strong interest, a chef cannot go far. This is especially true for this industry, which requires high levels of dedication, discipline and resilience.

A good chef is also one who wears many hats, especially as he progresses to take on leadership roles. Essentially, a head chef is all at once, a human resource manager, accountant, marketing lead, and event organizer. From day-to-day chef rostering to managing costs and budgets, designing interesting menus, being creative to cater to specific guests’ requirements and rallying the culinary team, chefs need to be adept in many areas beyond the kitchen. I

What is your favourite meal?

Cliché as it sounds, nothing beats homecooked food, especially for chefs who often eat out. My favourites are my mum’s signature Eurasian dishes such as Curry Debal (Devil’s Curry) and Babi Assam (Tamarind Pork). These flavourful dishes spell home to me. 

If we were to eat out on off-days, I would prefer heading to a nice tze char stall over a fancy restaurant. I’m trained in Western cuisine, so it feels like I’m back to work when I visit Western restaurants – I can’t help examining the dishes and studying the techniques. On the other hand, catching up with friends over a hearty meal at the hawker centre is a comfortable experience and the best way for me to unwind before the start of a new work week. 

You may also like

Chef Eric Chan
Chef Eric Chan

Executive Sous Chef, Paiza Club and Ruby Lounge

Chef Eric helms from Hong Kong where he started his F&B career in 1991. Today, he oversees the daily food operations and menu creations for the casino’s VIP lounges and special events.

Chef Fukashi Adachi
Chef Fukashi Adachi

Executive Japanese Chef, Marina Bay Sands

Having amassed over 20 years of culinary experience across Bangkok, San Francisco, and Singapore, Chef Fukashi brings his expertise in Japanese cuisine to Marina Bay Sands' RISE restaurant and Paiza Club.

Chef Joeky Ang
Chef Joeky Ang

Senior Sous Chef, Fatt Choi Express

A pioneer team member of Marina Bay Sands, Chef Joeky brings with him more than 35 years of culinary experience across renowned Chinese dining establishments.

Chef Roy Foo
Chef Roy Foo

Chef De Cuisine, Tong Dim Noodle Bar and The Nest 

With over 25 years of culinary experience under his belt, award-winning veteran Chef Roy Foo leads a 35-strong team at both Tong Dim Noodle Bar and The Nest.