冰淇淋冰淇淋

新加坡的冰淇淋雪糕

新加坡天气热得连当地人都抱怨。久居狮城的人都会摸索出自己的消暑之道:清凉舒适的服装、拖鞋、经常待在空调房内、喝冷饮消暑。当然也少不了冰淇淋。和新加坡其他美食一样,这里的冰淇淋种类之多,简直令人吃惊。 
威化饼冰淇淋
新加坡的小朋友最爱学校外头的冰淇淋车。如今,连乌节路这类购物区都能看到冰淇淋车。小贩会给你一块长方形的冰淇淋(一般有3-4种口味可供选择),夹在两片华夫饼之间或者包在一片厚厚的多彩甜面包中。传统的冰淇淋车还贩卖红豆冰棒。 
印度Kulfi冰淇淋
新加坡也汇集了世界各地的冰淇淋。Dondurma是一种土耳其雪糕,比大部分的冰淇淋黏腻弹滑,路边摊制作dondurma的过程也是一场视觉盛宴。另外还有印度kulfi,大部分印度餐厅的甜点处和一些专门的kulfi吧都有贩售,这种冰淇淋用奶油、玉米淀粉和香料制成,口味从开心果、香草到百利甜酒、玫瑰都有。如果你想尝试淡一点的口味,可以试试北海道冰淇淋,一般在专门的冰淇淋店和购物商场的摊位里都买得到。 
红豆冰
红豆冰虽然严格来说不是冰淇淋,但却是新加坡最出名的冰品——盛在碗里的刨冰晶莹剔透,又加了各色配料为其增光添色。制作红豆冰时,首先在碗里铺上厚厚一层棕榈果籽、红豆和果冻,接着加入小山似的刨冰,淋上多彩甜浆和炼乳,撒上甜玉米。有时还会在甜点上放一勺带有果酱或巧克力酱的冰淇淋。如果你只想吃刨冰和上头的配料,可以叫kosong(意思是“空”)红豆冰。 
缤纷冰淇淋
此外,新加坡还有各种圣代和挖球销售的意式手工雪糕——既有国际品牌咖啡馆和冰淇淋店,也有简单的意式冰淇淋摊位,更别说各色酸奶冰淇淋了。不过最令人感兴趣的大概是冰淇淋的缤纷口味了。常见的有荔枝、青桔、椰子、红毛榴莲等热带水果口味,另外还有红豆、马六甲椰糖、煎蕊、抹茶、榴莲果甚至虎牌啤酒等充满异国风情的口味!

Ice CreamIce Cream

ICE CREAM IN SINGAPORE

Even the locals say it: Singapore weather is hot. Most people who’ve lived here long enough have a tried-and-tested combination of cool, comfortable clothes, flip flops, frequent air conditioned escapes, and iced drinks to beat the heat. And then, of course, there’s ice cream. The ice cream options in Singapore are just as varied as any other type of food you’ll find on the island. 
Wafer Ice Cream
Children in Singapore love the familiar sight of the ice cream cart outside school. Today, these carts can be found even in shopping districts like Orchard Road. You’ll get a rectangular block of ice cream (there are normally 3-4 flavours to choose from), in between two thin wafers or in a thick multicoloured slice of sweetened bread. Traditional ice cream carts also often sell red bean ice cream on sticks.
Kulfi Ice Cream
Singapore is also where you can find ice cream varieties from all over the world. Dondurma is Turkish ice cream that is stickier and stretchier than most commercial ice cream – and is often prepared with a great deal of visual spectacle at street stalls. Then there’s the Indian kulfi, found in the dessert section of most Indian restaurants and in a couple of specialist kulfi bars, made with cream, cornstarch and spices – and available in flavours ranging from pistachio and vanilla to Baileys and rose. If you’re after something lighter and softer, try some Hokkaido ice cream, typically sold at specialty ice cream cafés and at stalls in shopping malls. 
Ice Kacang Dessert
And while not technically ice cream, Singapore’s most famous iced dessert is ice kacang – a snowcone in a bowl, with lots of extras. Ice kacang starts with a generous serving of palm seeds, red beans and jelly in a bowl. A mountain of shaved ice is then added, and then drizzled with multicoloured sweet syrup, condensed milk, and sweet corn. In some versions, a scoop of regular ice cream with fruit paste or chocolate syrup tops the dessert. If all you want is the ice and toppings, ask for it kosong, which means empty. 
Colourful Ice Cream Assortment
Even if all you’re looking for is a regular ice cream sundae or a scoop of gelato, Singapore has plenty of that too – with international brand cafés and ice cream parlours, and simple gelato stands, not to mention a whole slew of frozen yogurt options! But what you may find most interesting is the variety of flavours you’ll see. Tropical fruit flavours like lychee, calamansi, coconut and soursop are almost standard – and then there are the more exotic ones like red bean, gula melaka, chendol, matcha, durian and even Tiger beer!