冰柠茶冰柠茶

新加坡当地饮品

新加坡不乏咖啡连锁店,但要想体验真正的新加坡特色,就得去kopitiam(咖啡街坊店)试试当地的咖啡、茶或者别处没有的饮品。在kopitiam小憩不仅能歇息双脚、补充体力,也是去新加坡必须体验一把的趣事。 
咖啡kopi
Kopitiam一词本身就见证了新加坡丰富的多文化遗产,该词将马来语/闽南语中表示咖啡的kopi和闽南语/客家话中表示店的tiam结合起来。新加坡四处可见不同形式的kopitiam——从购物商场中内设空调的美食广场到供应新鲜当地咖啡的柜台——但真正的kopitiam是一种供应当地饮食的露天“小贩中心”或嘛嘛档。当地的咖啡kopi也不同于世界其他地方的咖啡,咖啡豆是用黄油或人造黄油加糖烤制,然后用一口白布袋包起来,放在一个带有细长壶嘴的大金属壶内煮制而成。用这种方法制成的咖啡比你们当地星巴克的咖啡要香醇浓郁。 
冷饮
初访狮城的游客面对着各色选择,难免有些不知所措。叫一杯标准kopi,呈现在你面前的将是一杯掺有甜炼乳(他们从不用鲜奶)的咖啡。如果想要不那么甜的,可以点kopi C——这种咖啡掺的是淡奶和糖,也可以点kopi C kosong——这种只掺淡奶不掺糖。Kosong是马来语中表示零或空的词语,所以点kopi kosong就表示你不要加糖。想喝清咖啡的可以点kopi O(加糖清咖啡)或者kopi O kosong(无糖清咖啡)。想喝茶的就将上面这些饮品中的kopi换成teh
姜茶
当然,茶饮中还有teh halia(姜茶),这种茶被视作包治感冒头疼或早上不顺心的万灵药。如果觉得上述的饮品都太烫了,可以点kopi peng——冰咖啡。 想远离咖啡因的可以尝试别的选择:来杯好立克或者美禄(两种都是麦乳精饮料,只是美禄的巧克力味浓一些),冷热皆宜。如果想在朋友圈发点特别的,可以点恐龙美禄(一种上头覆有一堆美禄奶粉的冰美禄)或者哥斯拉美禄(一种顶上堆着冰淇淋或搅拌奶油以及更多美禄奶粉的冰美禄)。
粉红色饮品
小清新可以点bandung,这种拌了玫瑰露的乳制冷饮有时还会加点香兰叶,清甜提神,粉嫩消暑。觉得在新加坡kopitiam有吃有喝才过瘾的,可以点些当地美食。咖椰烤吐司、酱油溏心蛋配kopi,是经典的新加坡式早餐;在嘛嘛档,你还可以点teh haliaroti prata(印度飞饼)或者bandung配黄姜饭(nasi biryani)。你可以每天尝试由不同的饮品及美食搭配,从中获得无穷乐趣。

Iced Lemon TeaIced Lemon Tea

LOCAL SINGAPOREAN DRINKS

While there is no shortage of chain coffee outlets in Singapore, the truly unique Singapore experience is about heading to a kopitiam (coffee shop) and trying local coffee, tea or other drinks which you won’t find anywhere else. Aside from being a great way to rest your feet and refuel, a stop at a kopitiam is a must-do activity in Singapore. 
Coffee kopi
The word kopitiam itself is a testament to Singapore’s rich multicultural heritage: it is a combination of kopi, the Malay/Hokkien term for coffee, and tiam, the Hokkien/Hakka term for shop. Kopitiams are found in various incarnations around Singapore — from air-conditioned food courts in shopping malls to counters that will serve up fresh local coffee — but the real kopitiam experience is an open air ‘hawker centre’ or mamak stall serving local food and drinks. Local coffee, or kopi, is in itself different from coffee you’ll find in other parts of the world. The beans are roasted with butter or margarine and sugar, then brewed inside a white cloth bag placed in a large metal pot with a long, narrow spout. The result is a thicker brew and more intense taste than you’d find at your local Starbucks.
Iced Drinks
When confronted with the variety of options, however, it’s not unusual for a first-time visitor to feel overwhelmed. Ask for a standard kopi and you’ll get a cup of coffee with sweetened condensed milk (fresh milk is never used). If you prefer it less sweet, ask for kopi C – coffee with unsweetened evaporated milk and sugar, or kopi C kosong – coffee with evaporated milk and no sugar. Kosong is the Malay word for zero or empty, so ordering kopi kosong means you won’t get any sugar. If you prefer your coffee black, ask for kopi O (black, with sugar) or kopi O kosong (black and, you guessed it, no sugar). Substitute the word kopi for teh in any of the above combinations and you’ll get tea.
Teh Tea
Of course, there’s the added option of teh halia (tea with ginger), hailed as a cure-all whether you have a cold and a headache, or have just had a difficult morning. And if it’s too hot for any of the above, ask for kopi peng – which gets you an iced coffee. If you prefer to stay away from caffeine completely, you’ll find plenty of options available: ask for a hot Horlicks or Milo (both malted milk drinks, the latter being much more chocolatey) or an iced version of either one. If you really want something special to Instagram, ask for a Milo Dinosaur, a cup of iced Milo with a heap of powdered Milo on top, or a Milo Godzilla, an iced Milo topped with ice cream or whipped cream and possibly more powdered Milo.
Pink Drink

For something much lighter, ask for a bandung, a cold, milk-based drink flavoured with rose syrup and sometimes with the added aroma of pandan leaves – a refreshing, sweet and very pink drink to beat the heat!

If you don’t want to stop at drinking, add food to your kopitiam experience in Singapore. Kaya toast and soft-boiled eggs with soy sauce are part of a standard Singaporean breakfast with kopi; in a mamak shop, you might want to pair your teh halia with a roti prata, or your bandung with a nasi biryani. Just for fun, try a different combination every day.