色彩斑斓的店屋色彩斑斓的店屋

新加坡的店屋风格

新加坡那些特色鲜明的英国殖民地风格建筑相当醒目,不过,有点历史的大街小巷那一排排色彩缤纷的店屋也十分吸睛。
唐人街

店屋,顾名思义,就是上层住人、下层经营的商铺。在牛车水,即使是走马观花,也会看到很多稍高的店屋。新加坡最常见的还是两层楼的店屋,其高度因当初的技术水平和建筑资源而受到了局限。

店屋的门开在一楼,要穿过一个公共拱廊。也许是宽度的原因,那些又长又窄的拱廊被称为“五脚基”。这种步行道贯穿整排店屋门前,如果店屋建在山上或斜坡上,则会建有短短的台阶。虽然店屋里边属私人领地,但五脚基却属于公共区域。

店屋

虽然被称为店屋,但是这种商铺当年却是功能多多:既可以当吃饭的地儿,还可以当小型修车铺。现代的店屋功能基本上没变,可以是零售商店、食肆、办公室及培训室。

在店屋里穿行肯定很有趣:窄窄的木楼梯与墙壁及屋顶之间呈对角线状或直立状的圆木柱子相得益彰;天花板上是成排的横梁,支撑着屋顶。外面的房顶上则是比较醒目的橙色陶土瓦。这些陶土瓦因具有防火功能和其它抵抗恶劣天气的性能而备受人们青睐。

店屋全貌

在新加坡早期的历史上,店屋是具有工具性功能的社会组成部分。很多业主利用一楼做生意,而把二楼留做家庭和私人住所。然而,由于当时的商业和社会性质,一家人生活在楼上,而陌生人在楼下做生意的现象并不罕见。

有时,好几家人会一起住在店屋的生活区域。这是因为,尽管店屋临街的一面很狭窄,很多店屋却向里延伸了许多,使得这个区域可以划分开来,供好几家人居住。

店屋的结构设计独具匠心,许多情况下,相邻的住所之间只隔着一堵墙,没有距离间隔开来。于是,长长的一排店屋就成了梯田状。

色彩缤纷的店屋

东南亚其它地区的店屋跟新加坡的店屋在风格上有着或微妙或显著的差异,这是因为新加坡殖民地的创始人莱佛士爵士曾规定:所有店屋的正面要统一,且所有步行道的宽度要一致,便于行人通行。

店屋已成为新加坡不可或缺的标志,常常是高档餐馆经营场所。许多店屋里边的房屋之间建有开放式庭院。有些店屋区拥有多个内部庭院,如今用作露天餐厅和多功能区。

这些店屋生动的外观令人赏心悦目,而丰富的色彩、图案及装饰品,使得每个店屋都给人独特的感觉。新加坡的许多店屋至今仍受到精心保护,还发挥着最初的功能。

Colourful ShophousesColourful Shophouses

SHOPHOUSE STYLES IN SINGAPORE

It’s easy to spot Singapore’s distinctly British colonial architecture, but it’s impossible to miss the country’s colourful rows of shophouses that line the streets and alleys of Singapore’s historical neighbourhoods.
Chinatown

As the name suggests, a shophouse is essentially a shop with a residence above it. The height of these shophouses was originally restricted by the technology and building resources available. Two-storey ones are the most popular, though a quick stroll through the Chinatown district will reveal taller versions. 

The entrance to a shophouse is on the ground floor, through a public arcade. These long and narrow channels are called five-foot walkways, presumably due to their width. Running the length of an entire row of shophouses, the walkways have brief step intervals for shophouse rows built on hills or slopes. While the inside of shophouses are private, these five-foot walkways are considered public.

After Work Drinks Shop Houses

Though called shophouses, these shops served a variety of functions: from eating houses to small garages for vehicle repairs. The shophouses of modern Singapore are essentially unchanged in these functions, serving as retail stores, restaurants, offices and training spaces.

Navigating these shophouses must have been interesting on narrow wooden stairs that matched the diagonal and tree-shaped supporting beams between the walls and ceiling. Rows of horizontal beams run across the ceiling to support the roof. The exterior roof is easily recognisable by its orange clay tiles. These tiles were particularly favourable because of their resistance to fire and other weather conditions.

Peranakan Shophouses

The shophouse was an instrumental component of community in Singapore’s earlier days. Many owners ran their businesses on the ground floor and reserved the upstairs for their families and private residences. However, owing to the nature of commerce and community back then, it was not uncommon for a family to live upstairs above complete strangers who ran their businesses below.

Sometimes several families occupied the residential areas of these shophouses. This is because while the shophouses had narrow street facades, many of them extended backwards to a great length. It was therefore possible to partition this area and house multiple households.

The architecture of these shophouses was designed such that in many cases only a wall separated one residence from the other. There are no gaps between houses and the row of shophouses may be considered one long terraced building.

Colourful Shophouse

Shophouses in the rest of South East Asia have subtle or significant differences from Singapore’s own style. This is because Sir Stamford Raffles, founder of colonial Singapore, stipulated that each shophouse have a uniform front as the others and that each walkway measure a specific width to follow consistency and allow for easier passage for pedestrians.

Singapore’s shophouses have become an integral icon of the country, and are frequently the sites of upscale restaurants. Many shophouses were constructed with an open courtyard inside, between the houses. Some of these shophouse rows have multiple internal courtyards that today host open-air eateries and function spaces.

The vivid facade of these shophouses makes for a pleasing sight and plethora of colours, designs, and decorations give each shophouse a unique feel. Many of Singapore’s shophouses remain carefully preserved and continue to serve their original purpose.