新加坡龟屿岛 - 新加坡旅游景点新加坡龟屿岛 - 新加坡旅游景点

新加坡神话传说

大多新加坡导游都会告诉你狮城的饮食购物好去处、合适的旅游计划以及体会新加坡文化的理想地点。不过揭开这些表面,你可以在书中、在世世代代口耳相传的民间故事中,发现新加坡充满了迷人的神话传说,这些神话传说潜移默化地造就了狮城历史。本文讲述了几个最广为人知的新加坡传说,并介绍了如今可以去追溯缅怀这些传说踪迹的场所。
狮子 - 新加坡旅游攻略

几乎所有新加坡小朋友都耳熟能详的传说是关于新加坡得名的故事——公元11世纪,苏门答腊三佛齐帝国的桑尼拉乌达玛王子在新加坡附近海域中航行。他在某座岛上狩猎时将一头鹿追赶到了悬崖顶,看到了海洋对面的另一座岛屿,那里白沙如银,看起来像一袭纱衣。有人告诉他那座岛名为淡马锡(新加坡旧名)。

他回到船上,下令驶向淡马锡,但途中遭遇暴风雨,其下属不得不将重物扔出船外,以免船只沉没。但仍然有沉船的趋势,所以王子不得不将其王冠投入海中以平息海怒。王冠入海后,暴风雨奇迹般地静止了。安全登陆淡马锡后,王子开始狩猎,却看到一头长着橙色鬃鬣的野生动物。王子的佐使告诉他那是一头狮子(“singha”)。王子以此为祥兆,决定留在新加坡,将其命名为“Singapura”(“狮城”)。

新加坡龟屿岛 - 新加坡旅游景点

现在,我们知道新加坡并非狮子的生息地,但却有马来亚虎栖息于此。如今还能在浮尔顿一号(鱼尾狮公园)附近河口看到鱼尾狮,其狮头代表着新加坡的力量与信心。想了解老虎的传说,可以前往莱佛士酒店的长廊酒吧,据说这里拍到了新加坡的最后一头老虎。

参加南岛巡游以探索东南亚地区小岛的游客,很可能会看到龟屿岛。据说曾有一群马来人和华人渔民乘着船在龟屿岛附近徘徊,然后出现了一只巨大的陆龟,陆龟变成了一座岛屿,从而救了这些渔民。渔民建了一座中式庙宇并在庙宇上造了一座马来圣祠,以表达他们的谢意——这些建筑如今仍屹立于岛上。  

新加坡河道游船 - 新加坡旅游攻略

另外一个著名的新加坡民间传说是关于古代新加坡的马来英雄Badang的。Badang家贫体弱,住在新加坡河岸,他每天晚上都会在河岸设陷阱来捕鱼。有天他发现有只妖怪一直在偷他的鱼,他就怒责这只偷鱼的妖怪,妖怪就表示要实现他的一个愿望来补偿他,所以Badang就许愿希望拥有超人力量。之后他很快就被提拔成了宫廷武士,享誉整个帝国。他曾收到来自印度最强壮男人的决斗挑战,经历的所有比赛未尝败绩。

最后一场比赛的是扔石头;Badang毫不费力地就将一块巨石扔进海里,最后落在了新加坡河口附近。这个传说流传多年之后,在新加坡河口发现了一块石头,上面留有难以破译的铭文。许多人都认为这就是Badang所扔的石头。后来,为了拓宽河道而炸毁了石头,不过如今还残留着一块碎片,这块碎石被称为新加坡古石——古石现陈列于新加坡国家博物院

试着更加深入地探索新加坡历史,你一定会发现其他激动人心的神话传说——之后可以将追溯传说作为你新加坡之旅的重点行程!

Kusu Island SingaporeKusu Island Singapore

SINGAPORE MYTHS AND LEGENDS

Most tourist guides to Singapore give you the low-down on where to eat and shop, what to do, and where to experience the culture of the country. But under the surface, in books, and in the whispered folktales passed from generation to generation, you’ll find that Singapore is filled with fascinating myths and legends that have shaped its history. Here are some of the most popular Singaporean legends, and where you can see their traces today.
Majestic Lion

The legend that almost all Singaporean children know is the one about how Singapore came to be named. The story goes that a prince of the Sumatran Srivijaya Empire, Sang Nila Utama, was sailing in the waters around Singapore in the 1200s. He was hunting on a island in the region when he chased a deer to the top of a cliff and saw another island across the sea: one with white beaches that looked like a sheet of cloth. He was told that the island was called Temasek (Singapore’s traditional name). 

He got back on his ship to make the crossing to Temasek, but a violent storm occurred, and his men had to throw heavy items overboard to prevent the ship from sinking. When it didn’t seem to help, the prince was urged to throw his crown overboard to appease the sea. When he did so, the storm abated. Landing safely on the shores of Temasek, the prince began a hunt, upon which he saw a wild animal with an orange mane. His minister told him that is was a lion, or ‘singha’. Believing that it was a good omen, the prince decided to stay in Singapore and named the island ‘Singapura’, or, ‘Lion City’.

Kusu Island Singapore

Today, we know that Singapore was never home to lions, but it was home to the Malayan tiger. Still, you’ll be able to see the Merlion, with the head of the lion that represents Singapore’s strength and confidence, at the mouth of the river near One Fullerton. And for tiger lore, head to Long Bar at the Raffles Hotel, where the last tiger in Singapore was allegedly shot.

Take a southern island cruise to explore some of the smaller islands in the area, and you’ll come across Kusu Island. It’s said a group of Malay and Chinese fisherman were in their boats and were floundering near the island, when a giant tortoise appeared and saved them by turning into an island. The fisherman built a Chinese temple and a Malay shrine on the temple as a mark of their gratitude — both these structures still stand on the island today.

Singapore River Ferry

Another well-known Singapore folk tale is that of Badang, a Malay hero in ancient Singapore. Badang was poor and weak, and lived on the banks of the Singapore River, where he would set a trap to catch fish every evening. When he found that a genie had been stealing his fish, he confronted the genie angrily and was granted a wish in return, so he wished for superhuman strength. He was soon appointed a court warrior and became famous throughout the empire. He was challenged to a duel the strongest man in India and won all the contests.

The last contest was a rock throwing contest; Badang effortlessly flung a huge rock into the sea and it landed near the mouth of the Singapore River. Many years after this legend was told, a rock was discovered at the mouth of the Singapore river, with an undeciphered inscription. Many believed that this was the rock thrown by Badang. The rock was blown up to widen the river, but a fragment survives until today and is called the Singapore Stone – hich you can see on display at the National Museum of Singapore.

Try exploring some of Singapore’s history in a little more depth and you’re bound to uncover all sorts of other exciting myths and legends – then put legend-tracing on the top of your list of things to do in Singapore!