新加坡的地下生活

新加坡面积相对较小,不过由于这座城市很多地方是多层的,所以也有很多可供游历之处。游客们一般会在地面或者岛上遍布的高楼内游玩购物。不过新加坡的地铁、购物中心、旅客地道、地下通道以及大名鼎鼎的最低能在海床下20米飞驰的滨海高速公路(MCE)所构成的地下网络也值得一游。所以如果你不想被热带暴风雨淋成落汤鸡,或者想要乘凉避暑,就可以去探索新加坡奇妙的地下世界。
地下通道

新加坡是座繁忙的城市,许多建筑大厦都是通过地下通道彼此连通的。幸运的是,大多数的行人通道都标识清楚。假如你在主要的交叉路口失去了方向,你可以顺着标识,找到正确方向。

如果你想听街头艺人唱歌奏乐,可以到乌节路的地下通道。这里的街头艺人会现场演奏吉他、小型电子琴甚至口琴。许多卖艺者会演奏60至70年代的老歌,为原本繁忙的通道增添生机乐趣。如果你刚好碰到了街头艺人,不妨站在一旁听一会儿。喜欢的话,可以放几枚硬币或几张钞票。有些卖艺者有视觉障碍,所以请耐心欣赏他们的才华。

地铁车门

之后你就可以伴着身后的音乐踏上旅程了。新加坡的地铁(MRT)系统速度超快,运行有序,你会惊讶地发现几站之后你就已经被带出城外,来到了新加坡的另一个地区了。

在上车之前,还可以观赏下周围的海报和艺术作品。许多车站都会发布一些近期的表演或促销活动信息。有些车站会以受托展示项目之艺术专业学生的作品作为装饰。游客可以在周末沿着车站漫步走到空调支线隧道,有时能看到一群学生在排练舞蹈或戏剧。看着这些孩子认真的模样,也会令人感触良多。

商场-包包

许多地铁站会直接连通地下购物商场。所以,从中央商务区的某一区走到另一区而完全不用暴晒于烈日之下是完全可能的。地下购物商场很适合购物狂和吃货,因为这些商场都有小吃摊,能供应各色美味。地铁上无法进食,不过可以在这些地下美食市场大快朵颐。

实际上,你可以在樟宜机场就开始你的地下之旅。3号终点站的B2层是又长又宽的零售店和咖啡厅,超市、便利店、幸运抽奖点,甚至还有喷泉,可以坐着静看周围的世界。

港口

说到水,如果你是从机场到市区的,可以叫司机带你穿过滨海高速公路。这条五道地下高速公路可谓建筑奇迹,其最低点位于海床以下20米,穿出地面后右手边是滨海湾的壮丽风景,左手边则是壮观的集装箱港。

离开地下世界之际,很可能已经是黄昏时分,一天的时间已在不知不觉中融进了壮阔的热带日落景象中。这时候可以奔赴各类夜总会和地下餐厅以及河滨酒吧。你可以自己稍微探索,也可以快速问下路人,以此发掘出地图上未标明的时尚夜店。

新加坡有足够的深度吸引你,所以只管走向地下世界,从全新的角度来了解新加坡吧。

EXPLORING SINGAPORE'S UNDERGROUND

Singapore may be a relatively small city, but there’s a lot to explore when you consider that many parts of the country are multi-layered. Apart from ground-level attractions and high-rise malls, there's a sophisticated underground network of trains, shopping centres, passenger tunnels, underpasses, and the famous Marina Coastal Expressway (MCE) which runs 20 meters under the seabed at its deepest point. So if you’re reluctant to get wet in a tropical thunderstorm, or just feel like escaping the heat, head underground and discover some amazing places.
underground tunnel

Singapore has its fair share of hustle and bustle, with several underpasses connecting the many buildings and towers to each other. Fortunately they are mostly well-signed, so if you become disoriented while making your way under a major intersection, you need only follow the signs to emerge at the correct point.

For some music with your underground commute, head to the underpasses around Orchard Road, where buskers perform lively tunes on guitars, small electric pianos, and even harmonicas. Many buskers choose oldies from the 60s and 70s and add plenty of sparkle to an otherwise busy passageway. A few buskers are visually handicapped so take time to marvel at their talents and, if you feel like it, show your appreciation by dropping in a few coins or notes.

mrt doors

With the music behind you, it’s time to ride the rails. Singapore's Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) system is super fast and super organised and you may easily be surprised at how quickly you can find yourself out of the city and in another part of the country in just a few stops.

But before you board, have a look at some of the posters and artwork. Many stations feature great information on an upcoming performance, or a sale nearby. Some are decorated with work by art students who’ve been commissioned to display their projects. On weekends, a stroll past the station to the air-conditioned feeder tunnels may bring you to a collection of students practicing for a dance performance or play. Watching these kids do their thing is quite an experience!

mall bags

Many MRT stations are directly connected to underground shopping malls that spread under large parts of the city. So in effect, you can travel from part of the CBD to another and never emerge into the sunlight. And that’s okay for the serious shopper or foodie, because just about all these malls have food stalls that cater to every palette imaginable. There’s no eating on the trains but there’s plenty to chow down in these basement food markets.

In fact, you can begin your basement experience in Changi Airport itself. The B2 level at Terminal 3 is a long and wide expanse of retail and cafes, with supermarkets and convenience stores, lucky draws, and even a fountain to just sit and watch the world go by. 

shipping port

And speaking of water, if you’re heading to the city from the airport, ask your driver to take you via the Marina Coastal Expressway. It's a short detour but worth the trip. The five-lane underground highway is an architectural marvel that dives 20 meters beneath the seabed at its lowest point, before surfacing to a gorgeous view of Marina Bay to your right and the container port to your left.

When you finally do emerge, don’t be surprised to see the day already dissolving in a spectacular tropical sunset. That’s the time to head to the various night clubs and underground restaurants and bars around and near the river. A little exploring or a quick chat with a passerby may land you in a trendy new nightspot that’s not on the map.

Singapore has greater depths to offer than initially meets the eye, so go ahead and make your way underground. You'll get a new perspective and come to know the city on a whole different level.