小提琴和玫瑰小提琴和玫瑰

古典音乐指南

购物美食常常是新加坡之行的首要任务,但是,如果想有不同的体验,新加坡有很多欣赏古典音乐的机会值得尝试。过去几年里,当地古典乐坛一直在稳步发展。新加坡有许多很不错的艺术场馆,因此任何一个周末都可以轻而易举地欣赏到古典乐表演。
长号
首先推荐新加坡目前最大的古典乐团之一:新加坡交响乐团(SSO)。这个乐团成立于1979年,有很高的国际声誉和忠实的当地粉丝,经常有国际知名艺术家和指挥呈献特别演出。新加坡交响乐团经常在滨海艺术中心音乐厅演出,最近则在新装修的维多利亚音乐厅演出。
维多利亚剧院及音乐厅
维多利亚剧院及音乐厅经过全面整修,最近重新对外开放。这是新加坡古典乐团另一大支柱。此建筑始建于1855年,原本是一座纪念堂,如今已成为新加坡历史的一部分——二战时,这里是收治空袭受害者的医院,后来,又成了人民行动党成立的地点。音乐厅最引人注目的地方可能是它的巨型克莱斯管风琴。这是新加坡唯一的机械式管风琴,由2012根管组成。
滨海艺术中心
新加坡还拥有一座最先进的专供演出的艺术场馆:地标性的滨海艺术中心。这里可以欣赏到世界著名芭蕾舞团的演出,可以听到管弦乐、歌剧、合唱音乐和更有亲切感的独奏音乐和室内音乐。广场和室外剧场还会举行大量免费演出。想了解更多信息的古典乐迷可以去国家图书馆滨海大道分馆(library@esplanade)查阅浩瀚的音乐类书籍、乐谱和视听资料。
新加坡艺术之家
然而,并非所有的场馆和演出都这么大牌。紧邻维多利亚剧院和音乐厅的艺术之家提供独唱音乐会、室内音乐和钢琴演奏等多种古典乐活动——还经常开展影片评选活动和关于曲作者及音乐的一般性讨论。有两所院校也提供精彩的古典乐演出——著名的国泰影院附近的艺术学院和新加坡国立大学绿色校园中的杨秀桃音乐学院。大批很有前途的管弦乐队、社区合唱团、校园管弦乐队和室内音乐团体也在新加坡古典乐团崭露头角——他们的很多演出都极具观赏和聆听价值。
从高票价的重磅演出到亲切的音乐学院学生独奏表演,从古典歌剧到前卫艺术,本地古典乐坛可以满足各种品味和消费层次的需求。相对于一般性旅游行程,新加坡之行若能增添这样的活动当然会更有趣——而且,据说音乐可以震撼心灵,升华灵魂。

Classical Music - Violin and RosesClassical Music - Violin and Roses


Shopping and eating often rank among the top things to do in Singapore, but if you’d like to try something different, it’s worth checking out the many great opportunities to attend classical music performances in Singapore. The local classical music scene has grown steadily over the last few years and, with a plethora of great arts venues in Singapore, it’s not difficult to find a performance on any given weekend.
Trombone Players
A great starting point is one of the biggest presences in Singaporean classical music: the Singapore Symphony Orchestra (SSO). Established in 1979, the SSO has gained a strong international reputation and a loyal local following, and often features world-renowned guest artists and conductors. The SSO most often performs at the Concert Hall of the Esplanade - Theatres by the Bay and, more recently, at the newly-refurbished Victoria Concert Hall.
Victoria Theatre and Concert Hall
The Victoria Theatre and Concert Hall, recently reopened after a comprehensive refurbishment, is another mainstay in Singapore’s classical music scene. Originally a memorial hall which started being constructed in 1855, the building has been a part of Singapore’s history — from being used as a hospital for World War Two air raid victims, to being the site where the People’s Action Party was founded. The Concert Hall’s most striking feature is arguably the Grand Klais pipe organ, the only mechanical organ in Singapore, with 2012 pipes.  
Esplanade - Theatres by the Bay
Singapore also boasts a state-of-the-art purpose-built performing arts venue: the iconic Esplanade — Theatres by the Bay, where you can enjoy performances by world-renowned ballet companies and orchestras, opera, choral music and more intimate recitals and chamber music. There are also numerous free performances held at the Concourse and Outdoor Theatre. And for classical music fans who want to learn more the National Library branch at the Esplanade, library@esplanade, has a wide selection of music-related books, scores and audiovisual materials. 
Arts House Singapore
It’s not all huge venues and blockbuster performances, though. The Arts House, located next to the Victoria Theatre and Concert Hall, plays host to several classical music events including vocal recitals, chamber music and piano performances — and often holds events such as film screenings and talks on composers and music in general. Two educational institutions also offer great opportunities to attend classical music performances — the School of the Arts near the famous Cathay cinema, and the Yong Siew Toh Conservatory, nestled in the green campus of the National University of Singapore. A number of up-and-coming orchestras, community choirs, school orchestras and chamber groups are also making their presence felt in the classical music scene in Singapore — many of them well worth watching and listening to. 
From big-ticket blockbuster performances to intimate recitals by Conservatory students, from classical opera to avant garde, there’s something for every taste and budget in the local classical music scene. It’s certainly an interesting alternative to the usual things to do in Singapore — and after all, music has been said to uplift the soul.