RICHARD BRANSON 可能的使命

采访人:Eliza Leung


碳作战室创始人和维珍首席执行官兼董事长及他的同事 Jose Figueras 和 Peter Boyd 谈论了这项工作的性质、清洁技术及付出每一滴汗水。

  • 访谈

您在亚洲积极推动碳作战室。 为什么?

Branson: 我们建立碳作战室的原因是为在全世界建立业务关系,然后团结一致并想出有效而创新的方式以减少碳排放,而不必破坏业务。 因为长此以往地球会被碳包裹,而牢牢地把它自己困住,最终被毁灭,所以我们建立这个非盈利的机构是为分享最佳实践和想法。

关于碳方面,遇到了什么困难? 我们看不见这个敌人。 如果用电视摄像机来播放,它绝不是一个可以直视可以形容的话题。 记者想要报道的是具体的事物,他们可以真实地看见和感觉的事物。 这对碳而言,不是那么容易的。 但我们会尽我们最大的努力。

Figueras: Sir Richard 支持现今可以用一种盈利的方式减少 50% 的碳排放,而无需进一步的政府协商或国家之间的商谈。 这就是碳作战室操作的空间:通过碳减排创造利润,同时通过工作、机会、投资和新业务模式创造经济利益。 这确实是一项全球革新,需要用一种不同的角度看待。

Branson: 我们已在美国和英国建立了碳作战室。 我们非常希望看到在亚洲建立碳作战室,并让亚洲尽可能多的企业参与。 我们希望带领这个地区的精英人士进入这个计划,从而有利于业务发展和环境保护。

像新加坡的环境部就向我们表达了对海平面上升的担忧。 我们就要想出有效而创新的方法避免这种灾难的发生。

 

随着各种行业的不断发展,如何降低碳排放?

Branson: 就酒店而言,我们尽最大努力让自己的酒店事务井然有序。 例如,您将不会在维珍酒店看到任何塑料瓶。 我们已经禁止使用塑料瓶,我们自己的水瓶要么是玻璃瓶,要么就是可耐用瓶。 我曾住在内克尔岛,内克尔岛通过禁止使用塑料瓶,每年节约 $250,000 ,而这是学习内克尔岛做法的一个有趣例子。 概要:减少塑料的使用,让大家受益。

如果维珍提出省钱的想法,碳作战室就可将其分享给其它酒店,并倡议全球其它酒店实践这种想法。 滨海湾金沙的经济实践是环境与利润双赢最好的例子。 如果酒店构建能使用碳环保混凝土,那就更好了。 有很多可持续性方式可为您的业务节省大量资金。 碳作战室就是想在这方面贡献一份力量。

航空公司也对减少碳排放做出了许多有效实践,并节省了很多钱。 宇宙飞船进入的轨道是用 100% 的碳纤维制成。 并我们鼓励航空公司在未来通过类似的方式建造他们自己的飞机,以减少燃料燃烧。 亚洲航空不久前刚加入碳作战室,寻求采用清洁燃料,而我们也正在尝试让每个其它航空公司采纳这个想法。

最终它引起了行业内采用清洁燃料的兴趣:政府没有理由收税,而您也对使用非清洁燃料的航空公司更有竞争力。 采用清洁燃料可减少燃料成本,从而降低机票价格。 因此更多的人将有机会旅游,而祖父祖母们也可经常去看望他们的孙子孙女们。 通过有效而创新的方法解决碳排放将有益于每个人。

 

您与不太可能形成合作关系的行业合作?

Branson: 航运。 我认为这是还没接触到的、比较棘手的一个行业。 碳作战室得到了很多行业的支持。 我们希望在亚洲带动许多人与我们一起共谋蓝图。

Figueras: 正是。 马士基和 Rightship 是我们的合作伙伴。 我们一起建立一个网站,名为www.shippingefficiency.org,其为他们中的 60,000 人提供船只航行在世界的海洋,并给出了 A-to-G 效率评价,就好像他们是消费者购买的家电。 想要租船将商品从一个地方运到另一个地方的公司现可以浏览船舶能效,然后根据信息决定租谁的船。 碳作战室乐意、十分期待与私人企业/部门建立合作伙伴关系,共同减少碳排放,并对此坚定不移。

Boyd: 大数据。 现在是计算机和机械技术的爆炸时代,它们产生大量的信息。 如今有四百万的互连网站,而它正在朝十亿的数量增长。 通过每个部门的数据裁剪,将需要很多碳产生动力以将信息分享到全世界各地。

 

请谈一谈到目前为止您的亚洲之行。

Branson: 我从没有召开新闻发布会分享更有效、令人难以置信的观点。 我只是从我的肩膀看过,并感受我的呼吸。 同样,随着我们在新加坡付出的辛勤的汗水,我确信我们每个人都能将整瓶水循环利用。 对的。 相信它将在这很受欢迎。 我将放两个瓶子在我腿部的下端。

RICHARD BRANSON'S MISSION POSSIBLE

By Eliza Leung


The Carbon War Room founder and Virgin CEO talks alongside his colleagues Jose Figueras and Peter Boyd about jobs, clean tech and sweat.

  • Interview

You're in Asia promoting the Carbon War Room. Why now?

Branson: The reason we've founded the Carbon War Room is to get businesses around the world to unite and come up with imaginative ways to reduce carbon output without destroying business. We've set up this non-profit to share best practices and ideas because the planet could ultimately be destroyed by trapping itself in a big blanket of carbon.

What's difficult about carbon? We can't see the enemy. It's not particularly a sexy subject for the television cameras to broadcast. And journalists want to write about things which are tangible, that they can actually see and feel. It's not easy to make the case for carbon. But we're going to give it our best shot.

Figueras: What Sir Richard has been championing for is the 50% reduction of carbon emissions today which can be cut in a profitable way with no need for further governmental agreements or interactions between nations. This is the space where the Carbon War Room operates: making profit out of carbon reduction while creating economic well-being with jobs, opportunities, investments and new business models. This is a true revolution for a world which needs a different outlook.

Branson: We have the Carbon War Room set up in America and the UK. And we'd just absolutely love to see it set up here and involved with as many companies in Asia as possible. We want to bring wonderful people from this region into the fold so their businesses and the environment can benefit.

A country like Singapore has a Ministry of Environment who shares our worries about rising sea levels. We've got to come up with imaginative ways to avoid catastrophes like this from happening.

 

How are industries moving forth to reduce carbon?

Branson: In terms of hotels, we try our best to keep our own house in order. For instance, you won't see any plastic bottles at any Virgin hotel. We've banned them and bottle water ourselves in either glass or washable bottles. It's an interesting example we've adapted from Necker Island, the place where I live, which has resulted in savings of $250,000 a year. Bottom line: everyone can benefit from less plastic.

If Virgin comes up with a money-saving idea, the Carbon War Room can share it and educate other hotels around the world. Marina Bay Sands and its eco-practises is an example of an environmental win-win situation. If hotels could be built with carbon-friendly concrete, it would be so much the better. There are so many ways you can save your business large amounts of money in sustainable ways. And the Carbon War Room wants to help with that.

The airline industry is also doing a lot to reduce its carbon output and save money. We've sent a spaceship into orbit made with 100% carbon fibre. And hopefully we can encourage the airplane industry to build their planes in a similar way to dramatically reduce fuel burn. Air Asia has just joined the Carbon War Room in its quest to adopt clean fuels, and we're trying to get every other airline on board.

Ultimately it's in the industry's interest to adopt clean fuels: government doesn't have an excuse to tax, and you become more competitive against dirty fuels. And that could reduce the cost of fuel and price of a ticket. More people could travel and grandparents could visit their grandchildren more often. Addressing carbon output in imaginative ways is good for everybody.

 

Have you formed any unlikely partnerships with industry?

Branson: Shipping. I think there's an awful lot of industries that haven't been touched. The Carbon War Room has got so much firepower. We're hoping by being here in Asia, we can bring in a lot of players to work with us.

Figueras: That's right. Maersk and Rightship are our partners. Together, we've set up a website called www.shippingefficiency.org which gives ships, about 60,000 of them sailing in the world's oceans, an A-to-G efficiency rating as if they were appliances being bought by consumers. Companies chartering a vessel to move merchandise from one place to another can now look at a ship's energy efficiency and decide who to charter based on that information. The Carbon War Room enjoys, looks forward to, and is adamant about creating partnerships with the private sector to reduce carbon together.

Boyd: Big Data. There's an explosion of computer and machine technology and the amount of information they produce. Today, there are four hundred million interconnected websites that are growing to one billion. Data cuts through every sector and takes a lot of carbon to power that movement of information around the globe.

 

Tell us about your trip to Asia, so far.

Branson: I've never had a press conference with a more beautiful, incredible view. I just looked over my shoulder and my breath was taken away. Also, with the amount of water we sweat in Singapore, I'm sure we could each recycle an entire bottle of water. Right. It sure is hot here. I'm going to put two bottles at the bottom of my legs.