访谈:陈立兴主厨

陈立兴主厨来自香港,1991 年起在那里开启了餐饮行业的职业生涯。如今,他负责监督娱乐场贵宾休息室和特别活动的日常餐饮运营与菜单的制作。


陈立兴主厨,行政副主厨,御匾会和红宝厅

谈谈您的厨师生涯。

我出生于香港,家人在香港经营一间茶餐厅。在厨师家庭里长大的我,从小培养了敏锐的味觉。我父亲相信,厨房里艰苦的训练可以磨炼我的性格和韧性,因此在 1989 年中学毕业后,他就说服我成为了餐厅的助手。在茶餐厅工作一年之后,我踏上了自己的探索旅程,1991 年,我以副主厨的身份加入富丽雅海鲜餐厅,正式开始了自己的职业生涯。

富丽雅海鲜餐厅是香港一家供应地道粤菜的中档中餐厅。在那里,粤菜烹饪的多样性和精准性给我带来了很多启发。每个厨房部门,从烧烤点心,到炖煮煎炒,都需要特别的烹饪技能和原料处理技巧。虽然我需要在短时间内学习很多东西,但这家餐厅为我留下六年的美好回忆,直到今天都深深印在我的脑海里。

上世纪 90 年代,粤菜在世界各地广受关注,很多中餐厅在海外不断扩张,新加坡也是如此。1996 年,我和另一位厨师同事受邀加入翡翠餐饮集团。当时只有 24 岁的我没有错过这个开拓视野的机会。在导师钱汉贤主厨的指导下,我接触到各种各样的中餐烹饪风格、地方食材和现代风味组合。这一切激发了我在不断开发创新菜式的同时,秉持着传统粤菜的根基。

今天,我负责管理娱乐场贵宾休息室的日常餐饮运营,同时我还担任御匾会和红宝厅的行政副主厨,负责满足特别活动的餐饮要求。在 2018 年加入滨海湾金沙之前,我在众多知名餐饮机构积累了烹饪团队的领导经验,其中包括御宝轩 (Imperial Treasure) 和雅亭假日酒店。

您的烹饪理念是什么?

作为厨师,我们一定要在各项工作中秉承追求卓越的精神。菜单上的每一道菜都要经过无数次尝试和调整,我们呈现的所有菜式都必须在口味和品质上保持一致。我们也要不断学习,提高对各种食材的认识,而食材正是美食的灵魂。细心周到地为食客提供最好的服务,这就是我们对宾客的尊重方式。

您有哪些招牌菜? 您是如何创造新菜式,不断给宾客带来惊喜的?

我的招牌菜大多是当地人和游客都很熟悉和青睐的经典粤菜。粤菜的魅力在于将简单的食材与浓郁的风味结合在一起,呈现出精致美馔。在红宝厅和御匾会,我们每周都会推出“主厨特色菜”,为食客奉上我的创意菜,例如白灼龙虾肉配鱼汤饭、蒜香和牛丁等。这些都是中餐厅的常见菜式,但每位厨师都会有自己的秘制配方。从选材、备料再到烹饪,每一个小细节都能影响菜品的味道。

在红宝厅,我们还会限时呈献主题特色菜,如越南菜、日料和泰餐。所有菜品均由餐厅自制,并根据当地口味做出适当调整。例如,很多餐厅在制作日式咖喱饭时都使用市面上相同的日式咖喱酱,它的味道稍显甜淡。而在红宝厅,我们使用自制咖喱酱,增加了辣度,减少了甜度,宾客非常喜欢这种浓郁的鲜辣口感。我始终鼓励自己的团队开发更多美食,同时改良现有菜谱。例如,我对越南牛肉河粉进行了风味改良,采用粤式制备技术,将牛骨烤制后再加入肉汤,增加汤底的香醇。

您对年轻厨师有哪些建议?

在酒店业,我们务必要以客为先。努力为他们提供服务,同时接受他们的反馈。我每天都会在餐厅巡视,与食客互动,阅读他们对我或其他员工提出的每一份反馈。顾客的评语表示我们有待改善,而每条称赞则是激励我更加努力的源泉。

其次,要有团队精神。从厨房到餐桌,每道菜都至少由三位厨师经手,需要大量的团队合作。一位厨师如果能补充团队的优势和劣势,为团队做出有效贡献,那么他的烹饪之旅必定走得更长远。

您还可能喜欢

Dwayne Emuang 主厨
Dwayne Emuang 主厨

餐饮副总监,滨海湾金沙

Dwayne 主厨深信优秀的品格和呈献美食的热忱是成就一位厨师的关键。

Fukashi Adachi 主厨
Fukashi Adachi 主厨

日料行政主厨,滨海湾金沙

在曼谷、旧金山和新加坡积累了 20 余年烹饪经验的 Fukashi主厨将自己擅长的日料带到滨海湾金沙的 RISE 餐厅和御匾会俱乐部。

Joeky Ang 主厨
洪赞颂主厨

高级副主厨,运财汇 

洪主厨是滨海湾金沙餐饮部的开拓者之一,在多家知名中餐厅累积了超过 35 年宝贵的烹饪经验。

Roy Foo 主厨
傅庆鸿主厨

厨师长,汤点和 The Nest

屡获殊荣的傅庆鸿主厨拥有超过 25 年的烹饪经验,如今带领着汤点和 The Nest 共35 人的高水平厨师团队。

Interview: Chef Eric Chan

Chef Eric helms from Hong Kong where he started his F&B career in 1991. Today, he oversees the daily food operations and menu creations for the casino’s VIP lounges and special events. 


Chef Eric Chan, Executive Sous Chef, Paiza Club and Ruby Lounge

Tell us more about your background and culinary journey.

I was born in Hong Kong where my family ran a cha chaan teng (Cantonese cafeteria). Growing up in a family of cooks helped develop my acute sense of palate. My father believed that the tough training in the kitchen can build my character and resilience, so he roped me in as an assistant after I completed secondary school in 1989. After a year at the cafeteria, I ventured out on my own and officially embarked on my career when I joined Fortune Seafood Restaurant as Sous Chef in 1991. 

Fortune Seafood Restaurant is a mid-range Chinese restaurant in Hong Kong offering truly authentic Cantonese cuisine. It was there where I was enlightened on the diversity and precision of Cantonese cooking. Each kitchen department, which ranges from BBQ and dim sum to braising, boiling and wok stir-frys, requires a specific skillset and finesse in handling ingredients. It was a steep learning curve, but fond memories from my six-year stint with the restaurant are deeply etched in my mind until this day.   

In the 90s, Cantonese cuisine was gaining traction around the world, with many Chinese restaurants expanding overseas and in Singapore. Together with a fellow chef, I was invited to join Crystal Jade Group in 1996. I was only 24 then, but that didn’t stop me from seizing the opportunity to widen my horizons. Under my mentor Chef Qian Han Yan’s guidance, I was exposed to a wide repertoire of Chinese culinary styles, regional ingredients, and modern flavour combinations, which fueled my interest in creating innovative dishes that stay true to my Cantonese roots. 

Today, I take charge in managing the daily food operations at our casino’s VIP lounges, as well as F&B requirements for special events in my role as Executive Sous Chef of Paiza Club and Ruby Lounge. Prior to joining Marina Bay Sands in 2018, I had accumulated experience leading culinary teams at numerous renowned establishments, which include Imperial Treasure Fine Chinese Cuisine and Holiday Inn Atrium. 

What is your culinary philosophy?

As a chef, it is important that we uphold a spirit of excellence in everything we do. Every dish on the menu is a recipe we have experimented and refined countless times, and all the dishes we serve must be consistent in taste and quality. We are also constantly learning and improving our knowledge on various ingredients, which are the soul of the dishes. Being meticulous and taking great care to serve the best to our diners are ways we show respect to our guests.

What are some of your signature dishes? How do you create new dishes that will keep surprising your guests? 

Most of my signature dishes are timeless Cantonese recipes, familiar and well-loved by locals and tourists alike. The charm of Cantonese cuisine lies in how simple ingredients can be elevated into fine dishes with bold flavours. Each week, we serve a ‘Chef’s Special’ at Ruby Lounge and Paiza Club, featuring some of my creations such as poached lobster meat served with rice in fish broth, and wok-fried wagyu beef cubes with garlic. These are common dishes in Chinese restaurants, but every chef has his own closely-guarded recipe. From sourcing to preparation and cooking, every small detail can impact the taste of the dish. 

We also offer limited-time themed specials at Ruby Lounge, featuring international cuisines such as Vietnamese, Japanese and Thai. We make our dishes in-house and tailor them to local palates. For example, many restaurants use the same commercial Japanese curry paste to make their katsu curry rice, which is a little too sweet and mild. At Ruby Lounge, we make ours with more spices and less sugar, and our guests love the stronger umami and heat. I always encourage my team to explore more cuisines and improve on original recipes. For example, I elevate the flavours of our Vietnamese beef hor fun by using a Cantonese preparation technique of roasting the beef bones before adding them to the broth, thereby enhancing its fragrance.

Share with us your advice to young chefs. 

In the hospitality industry, it is important that we always put our guests first (以客为先). Go the extra mile to serve them, and be receptive to feedback. I make my rounds in the restaurant every day to interact with diners, and read every written feedback given to me or my staff. Every comment points to an area for improvement, and every guest compliment is a source of motivation for me to strive even harder. 

Secondly, be a good team player. From kitchen to table, each dish is handled by at least three chefs, and there is a lot of team unity involved. A chef who can complement his team’s strengths and weaknesses and contribute effectively to the group will go far in his culinary journey.

You may also like

Chef Dwayne Emuang
Chef Dwayne Emuang

Associate Director of Culinary, Marina Bay Sands

Chef Dwayne believes that character and a heart to serve exceptional food are traits that determine a true chef.

Chef Fukashi Adachi
Chef Fukashi Adachi

Executive Japanese Chef, Marina Bay Sands

Having amassed over 20 years of culinary experience across Bangkok, San Francisco, and Singapore, Chef Fukashi brings his expertise in Japanese cuisine to Marina Bay Sands' RISE restaurant and Paiza Club.

Chef Joeky Ang
Chef Joeky Ang

Senior Sous Chef, Fatt Choi Express

A pioneer team member of Marina Bay Sands, Chef Joeky brings with him more than 35 years of culinary experience across renowned Chinese dining establishments.

Chef Roy Foo
Chef Roy Foo

Chef De Cuisine, Tong Dim Noodle Bar and The Nest 

With over 25 years of culinary experience under his belt, award-winning veteran Chef Roy Foo leads a 35-strong team at both Tong Dim Noodle Bar and The Nest.