访谈:洪赞颂主厨

洪主厨是滨海湾金沙餐饮部的开拓者之一,在多家知名中餐厅累积了超过 35 年宝贵的烹饪经验。
洪赞颂,高级副主厨,运财汇

谈谈您的厨师生涯。

我在林厝港的一个小村庄长大,而我们家在那里经营一间小型蔬菜和家禽农场。我自小开始接触各种传统中式烹饪技艺,也学习了代代相传的食谱。我记得那时曾跟着祖母学做菜,而她是潮汕人,所以我学到了很多经典潮州菜肴。客家籍贯的妈妈同时也教会了我多道客家家传菜肴,如擂茶和酿豆腐。1984 年高中毕业后,我和几个朋友一起到麒麟阁海鲜楼当学徒,希望在服兵役前学习一技之长。这段经历激发了我对烹饪和中华料理的热忱,因此我在 1988 年服完兵役后又回到了麒麟阁, 正式开启我的厨师生涯。

30 年前,在一家传统的中餐厅当学徒谈何容易 - 我们需要在休息时间主动请教厨师,并同时兼顾和学习各项料理部门的技能,包括点心、烧烤、煲汤、炒菜等。我每天至少要工作 16 个小时,这段岁月对我而言是即艰辛且意义深厚的。

1992 年离开麒麟阁海鲜楼后,我加入了金玉满堂餐厅担任厨房助理的职务,并在接下来的 18 年里继续专研我的烹饪技巧。2010 年,我有幸获得了一次难得的机会,成为滨海湾金沙红宝厅的副主厨兼初创团队的一员。转眼至今,我是运财汇的高级副主厨,带领一支 17 人的厨师团队,负责监督运财汇的日常运营。

您的烹饪理念是什么?

我至今谨遵我烹饪导师对于厨德的教诲。作为一名厨师,我们必须保证呈上的每道菜品都符合超高标准。我们有义务选用上好食材,悉心料理,务必做到尽善尽美。

你是如何创造新菜式,为宾客带来源源不断的惊喜?

运财汇是一家全天候营业的餐厅,供应亚洲菜肴和本地美食。每个月,我们餐厅都会推出一款特色汤底,全使用新鲜优质食材,纯手工亲自制作。宾客们都很喜欢我们的汤品,因为他们保留了原汁原味且富有营养,价格也实惠。我的团队对不同的食材和搭配进行了多次尝试,而我个人最喜欢的就是茶树菇汤。茶树菇富含氨基酸,营养成分丰富,是煲汤的最佳选择,而且它会散发一种纯粹的香气,味道浓郁。我的团队也不断地寻找各种时令食材,为我们的宾客创造惊喜。

您如何超越标准为客人带来更多的惊喜?

我认为身为厨师很重要的一项工作就是与宾客建立友好的关系,分享每道菜背后的故事,并倾听宾客的反馈。这促使我们不断进步和提高水平,为宾客呈献一道又一道符合口味的佳肴。我每天一定会和宾客打招呼或聊一聊,并观察他们是否在享用我们的菜品。我曾遇到过同样热爱烹饪的宾客,而我们相互分享各自喜欢的食谱和食材。这样的互动交流营造出一种家的感觉,也是我们很多常客再次光临的原因。

您还可能喜欢

DWAYNE EMUANG 主厨
Dwayne Emuang 主厨

餐饮副总监,滨海湾金沙

Dwayne 主厨深信优秀的品格和呈献美食的热忱是成就一位厨师的关键。

Eric Chan 主厨
Eric Chan 主厨

行政副主厨,御匾会和红宝厅

陈立兴主厨来自香港,于1991 年开启他的餐饮职业生涯。他如今负责监督御匾会和娱乐场特殊活动的餐饮运营与定制特别菜单。

Fukashi Adachi 主厨
Fukashi Adachi 主厨

日料行政主厨,滨海湾金沙

在曼谷、旧金山和新加坡积累了 20 余年烹饪经验的 Fukashi主厨将自己擅长的日料带到滨海湾金沙的 RISE 餐厅和御匾会俱乐部。

Roy Foo 主厨
Roy Foo 主厨

厨师长,汤点和 The Nest

屡获殊荣的傅庆鸿主厨拥有超过 25 年的烹饪经验,如今带领着汤点和 The Nest 共35 人的高水平厨师团队。

Interview: Chef Joeky Ang

A pioneer team member of Marina Bay Sands, Chef Joeky brings with him more than 35 years of culinary experience across renowned Chinese dining establishments.


Chef Joeky Ang, Senior Sous Chef, Fatt Choi Express

Tell us more about your background and culinary journey.

I grew up in a village in Lim Chu Kang, where my family had a small vegetable farm and reared some poultry. Since young, I was exposed to various traditional Chinese cooking styles and recipes handed down from generations. I remember learning classic Teochew dishes with my grandmother from Chao Shan, China, and homemade dishes such as thunder tea rice and yong tau foo with my mother of Hakka descent. After finishing my secondary education in 1984, I joined Kirin Court Seafood Restaurant with a group of friends as kitchen apprentices, hoping to pick up a skill before we enlisted in the army. That was when my passion for cooking and Chinese cuisine was ignited, which led me to return to Kirin Court after completing my National Service in 1988. 

30 years ago, being an apprentice chef in a traditional Chinese restaurant was not an easy feat. We had to take initiative to consult senior chefs during our breaks, while performing our duties and picking up skills from all departments, which include dim sum, roasts, soups and stir-frys amongst others. I was working at least 16 hours every day – it was a tough but meaningful period for me. 

After leaving Kirin Court Seafood Restaurant, I joined Noble House Restaurant in 1992 as a Kitchen Assistant, and continued to refine my culinary techniques for the next 18 years. In 2010, I was presented with a lifetime opportunity to be part of the opening team Marina Bay Sands as its Sous Chef for the casino’s Ruby Lounge. Today, I lead a team of 17 culinary staff to oversee Fatt Choi Express’ daily operations as Senior Sous Chef.

What is your culinary philosophy?

One principle that I hold close to my heart is my mentor’s teaching on the importance of culinary ethics (厨德). As a chef, it is important that every dish we serve is consistent and prepared with sincerity. Our badge of responsibility is to serve only the best ingredients, treat them with respect, and present every dish with a spirit of excellence. 

How do you create new dishes that will keep surprising your guests at Fatt Choi? 

Fatt Choi Express is an all-day eatery which offers Asian delicacies and local delights. Each month, we offer an exclusive soup base made in-house from scratch using fresh quality produce. Guests love our soups for their natural flavours, nourishing benefits and great value. My team experiments with different ingredients and combinations, and one of my favourites is the tea tree mushroom soup (茶树菇汤). Tea tree mushrooms are rich in amino acids, packed with nourishing properties, and are perfect for soups as they exude a pure scent with intense earthy flavours. My team is always on the lookout for such seasonal produce that we can use to create new surprises for our guests.

How do you go the extra mile to surprise and delight guests?

To me, it is important for chefs to create that personal connection with guests, to tell the stories behind our dishes and get their feedback. This is how we keep improving to deliver dishes which appeal to their palates. I make my rounds every day to talk to guests and observe if they are enjoying the food. I’ve met guests who are passionate about cooking, and we often share our favourite recipes and ingredients to work with. These lively interactions make us all feel at home, which is why our regulars return to Fatt Choi Express time and again. 

You may also like

CHEF DWAYNE EMUANG
Chef Dwayne Emuang

Associate Director of Culinary, Marina Bay Sands

Chef Dwayne believes that character and a heart to serve exceptional food are traits that determine a true chef.

Chef Eric Chan
Chef Eric Chan

Executive Sous Chef, Paiza Club and Ruby Lounge

Chef Eric helms from Hong Kong where he started his F&B career in 1991. Today, he oversees the daily food operations and menu creations for the casino’s VIP lounges and special events.

Chef Fukashi Adachi
Chef Fukashi Adachi

Executive Japanese Chef, Marina Bay Sands

Having amassed over 20 years of culinary experience across Bangkok, San Francisco, and Singapore, Chef Fukashi brings his expertise in Japanese cuisine to Marina Bay Sands' RISE restaurant and Paiza Club.

Chef Roy Foo
Chef Roy Foo

Chef De Cuisine, Tong Dim Noodle Bar and The Nest 

With over 25 years of culinary experience under his belt, award-winning veteran Chef Roy Foo leads a 35-strong team at both Tong Dim Noodle Bar and The Nest.