生命无处不在


无论在最深的大海还是酷寒的极点,无论在最高的山脉还是炙热的沙漠,都有生命有机体在茁壮成长。过去37亿年来,生命已进化至能够进驻地球的每个角落。这种跨越基因、物种和栖息地的多样性,是一种真正的宝藏,并具有不可估量的价值。

不过,如今存留世上的生命体尽管种类繁多,却仍只占地球上曾经有过的生命的不到百分之一。通过研究那些已成为化石的动植物,我们得以回溯过去,了解随着时间的推移,生命曾经历怎样的进化和演变。  

特色展品
古代巨鸟模型

渡渡鸟模型
  
 

人类入驻毛里求斯之后,渡渡鸟被推向灭绝。尽管这样的情形并非只发生在渡渡鸟身上,但它却成为最著名的因此而不复存在的鸟类。尽管如此,科学家从未找到过一只渡渡鸟的完整骨骼。这具模型是根据对其骨骼构造的现代认知制成,看上去比人们原先设想的要更加瘦削,体型也更加直挺。
剑齿虎

剑齿虎
美国
更新世时期,12,000年前

想象一下,天黑后如果遇到这种掠食者会如何。如果您生活在12,000年前的美洲,您很可能会遇到剑齿虎。剑齿虎拥有狮子般的体型和骇人的牙齿,它们会伏击大型食草哺乳动物,如北美野牛、巨型大地懒、骆驼、马,还可能有小猛犸象。斯剑虎在末次冰期结束时灭绝——它是少数几种可能会遇到人类的剑齿虎之一。

Silver chafer beetle, Central America

银色金龟子
中美洲

这只甲虫通过高度反光的鞘翅,来迷惑鸟类、爬行动物和猴子等捕食者。它们以为,那不过是中美洲潮湿云林中常见的巨大水珠,而不是可口的美食。发出金属色泽的是甲虫鞘翅的基层,上面覆有色素;基层上面尚有多层无色的薄翼, 从而构成类似光碟上的薄铝箔那样的光学效应。
Giant ground sloth

巨型地懒
  阿根廷
更新世,距今约1.2万年
捕食者想要扳倒一头巨型地懒绝非易事。它的皮比大象还要厚实,成年地懒体重可达约1500公斤。直至大概1.2万年以前,这些巨型哺乳类动物还生活在南美洲温带地区的开阔地带,并以植物为生。

Treasures of life are everywhere


Beauty and wonder can be found all around us. Living organisms have continued to thrive in all environments, be it the deepest seas or the frozen poles, on the highest mountains or in the hottest deserts. Over the last 3.7 billion years, life has evolved and bloomed to inhabit every corner of our planet. This rich diversity across genes, species and habitats, as well as life’s miraculous ability to find a way is one of earth’s true treasures.

Many of the treasures in this gallery reveal how the large variety of shape and guises taken by nature’s diversity is influenced by the environment and the species uncanny ability to adapt to it. Extinct creatures, such as the dodo, demonstrate the threat humanity poses to nature’s treasures, while the discovery of new species hints at nature’s ever evolving variety and ability to survive.

  

Highlights 
Dodo bird model

Dodo model
  
 
The dodo was driven to extinction by the arrival of humans on the island of Mauritius. Although far from unique in this respect, the dodo is now most well-known for this reason. But despite its fame, no full dodo skeletons exist from a single individual. This model shows the dodo with a much thinner, more upright, body shape than was initially thought, and is based on modern interpretations of the bird’s anatomy.

Sabre-toothed cat

Sabre-toothed cat
USA
Pleistocene Period, 12,000 years old
Imagine meeting this killer cat after dark. If you had been living in the Americas up to 12,000 years ago, it is possible you would have done just that. Lion-sized with terrifying teeth, this species ambushed large plant-eating mammals, such as bison, giant ground sloths, camels, horses and possibly young mammoths. Smilodon died out at the end of the last ice age – it is one of the few sabre-toothed cats that would have encountered humans.


Silver chafer beetle, Central America

Silver chafer beetle
 Central America
 
 
This beetle’s highly reflective wing cases confuse predators such as birds, reptiles and monkeys. Instead of a mouthful of food, they think they are simply seeing a giant water droplet, a common sight in the wet cloud forests of Central America. The metallic sheen is a base layer of colour pigment covered by several colourless, thin layers, causing optical interference in much the same way as the thin layer of aluminium on a compact disk.

Giant ground sloth

Giant ground sloth
 Argentina
Pleistocene Period, 12,000 years old
 
For a predator to bring down a giant sloth was a feat of epic proportions. Its hide was thicker than an elephant’s, and adults weighed about 1,500 kilogrammes. These giant mammals grazed on plants and lived in open habitats in the temperate regions of South America until about 12,000 years ago.