展览主题

诺贝尔奖

当发明家、实业家阿尔弗雷德·诺贝尔在 1895 年立遗嘱时,便为世界上最著名的奖项“诺贝尔奖”奠定了基础。 

在即将辞世之际,诺贝尔立下了遗嘱:“请将我的财产变做基金,每年用这个基金的利息作为奖金,奖励那些在五个领域(物理、化学、生理学或医学、文学与和平)为人类做出卓越贡献的人。” 诺贝尔奖在 1901 年首次颁发。 “瑞典中央银行纪念阿尔弗雷德·诺贝尔经济学奖”在 1969 年首次进行颁奖。

荣获诺贝尔奖的成就推动了科学、文学与和平领域的发展。 在该展馆,每个奖项类别展示了三件物品。 每个类别中有一件物品与阿尔弗雷德·诺贝尔有关,其他两件与该领域的诺贝尔奖获得者有关。 中间的触摸屏提供有关该物品与获奖者的更多信息。

阿尔弗雷德·诺贝尔

诺贝尔奖创始人阿尔弗雷德·诺贝尔的生活多姿多彩。 他曾在多个不同国家居住,并经常旅行。 

诺贝尔在炸药领域创造出许多革命性发明,包括达纳炸药。 在工业社会快速发展的 19 世纪,他的发明成为采矿业与铁路、公路、运河及海港建造业的重要工具。 这些发明为工业帝国积累巨额财富奠定了基础。 诺贝尔终身未娶,无儿无女,没有人可以继承他的财富。 因而,他将自己的财产捐赠给诺贝尔奖基金会。

在该展馆,展出了阿尔弗雷德·诺贝尔去世后留下的许多物品。 这些物品反映了他作为一名化学家、发明家和实业家的工作,而且体现了他的个性和兴趣。 中间的触摸屏提供有关诺贝尔、其生活与工作的更多信息。

诺贝尔奖风雨历程

诺贝尔奖用于奖励在不同奖项类别领域取得巨大发展的人。

诺贝尔奖的故事也反映出其他更广泛的历史发展。 在某种程度上,科学与文学领域的发展具备其自己的内在动力,而且一般源于与社会的持续互动。 有时,诺贝尔奖获得者的选择与历史事件有着更加直接的联系,一些决策对公众思想产生了重要影响。

该展馆展示了来自过去每个十年的一件物品。 每件物品均与诺贝尔奖相关,但诉说着关于其所处时代的信息。 中间的触摸屏提供有关历年来诺贝尔奖获得者的更多信息。

诺贝尔奖在日常生活中的应用

我们日常生活中遇到的许多事情都与诺贝尔奖息息相关。 可以是为其创造者赢得诺贝尔奖的发现、发明或文学作品。 但在大多数情况下,其关联更加复杂或曲折。 荣获诺贝尔奖的发现已播下发展的种子,并逐渐应用于日常生活用品中。 更常见的是,诺贝尔奖获得者解释了世界是如何运转的以及重要的自然现象。

该展馆展示与荣获诺贝尔奖的成就相关的日常用品示例。 通过中间的触摸屏,您可以了解及检测与诺贝尔奖相关的日常生活用品方面的知识。

The Nobel Prize and the Future, Nobel Prize: Ideas Changing the World Exhibition at ArtScience Museum, Marina Bay Sands

诺贝尔奖与未来

明天,我们将面临哪些重要挑战? 我们无法预知。 但是,我们可以确定我们认为对未来至关重要的领域:能源和气候、水和食物、疾病和健康、文学的变化,以及创造更加和平的世界、更加稳定的全球经济。

也许,未来获得诺贝尔奖的成就将能够解答我们在这些领域面临的问题。 一些过去的诺贝尔奖是否有可能对未来也非常重要? 通过发展已获得诺贝尔奖的成就,可以揭示一些关于未来的提示吗?

该展馆邀请您思考您对未来的看法,以及我们如何以最佳方式应对挑战。 您将听到持不同观点的人们探讨对我们未来最重要的因素。 谁是对的? 也许他们都是对的。 如果可以选择,您最希望未来的诺贝尔奖颁发给哪个领域?

悉尼·布伦纳

悉尼·布伦纳是分子生物学的开创者之一。 他与弗朗西斯·克里克、西摩·本泽、弗朗索瓦·雅各布、马修·梅索森等著名科学家,为创立该全新重要领域作出了重大贡献。 

在投身生物技术学近 30 年后,悉尼·布伦纳于 1983 年应副总理吴庆瑞之邀来到新加坡。 按照悉尼·布伦纳的建议,成立了分子与细胞生物研究院 (IMCB),该研究院现已成为新加坡生物医学科学行业发展的关键催化剂。 

悉尼·布伦纳的大量科学著作,以及他为新加坡生物技术领域做出的卓越贡献,为他赢得了许多知名奖项,最终凭借线虫动物门秀丽隐杆线虫发现了遗传学研究的新领域,从而荣获 2002 年诺贝尔生理学或医学奖。

The Nobel Prize

When inventor and industrialist Alfred Nobel penned his will in 1895, he laid the foundation for the world’s most famous award, the Nobel Prize. 

In his will, Nobel decreed that revenue earned from his fortune should be used for prizes to those who “had bestowed the greatest benefit on mankind” within five fields: physics, chemistry, physiology or medicine, literature, and peace. The first Nobel Prizes were awarded in 1901. The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel was first presented in 1969.

Nobel Prize-awarded achievements have spurred development in science, literature, and peace. In this pavilion, three items from each prize category are on display. One item in each category is linked to Alfred Nobel, the other two to Nobel Laureates in the field. A touchscreen in the centre provides more information about the objects and Laureates.

Alfred Nobel

The founder of the Nobel Prize, Alfred Nobel, lived a multifaceted life. He spent time living in several different countries and travelled constantly. 

Nobel engineered a number of revolutionary inventions within the field of explosives, including dynamite. His inventions became important for mining and the construction of railroads, roads, canals, and harbours in the growing industrial society of the 19th century. They laid the foundation for an industrial empire that went on to earn him a fortune. Nobel never married and had no children who could inherit his wealth. Instead, he donated his money to the foundation of the Nobel Prize.

In this pavilion are a number of items that Alfred Nobel left behind when he died. They reflect his work as a chemist, inventor, and industrialist, but also his personality and interests. A touchscreen in the centre provides more information about Nobel and his life and work.

The Nobel Prize Over the Decades

The Nobel Prizes tell the story of developments made within the different prize categories.

The story of the Nobel Prize also reflects other, broader historical developments. To some extent, development within science and literature has its own inherent dynamic, while also resulting from continuous interaction with society at large. In some cases, the selection of Nobel Laureates has had a more direct connection to historical events and some decisions have had a major impact on the public mind.

This pavilion displays one item from each decade past. Each item is linked to a Nobel Prize, but also says something about its era. A touchscreen in the centre provides more information about the Nobel Laureates over the years.

The Nobel Prize in Our Daily Lives

Many things we encounter in our everyday lives are connected to the Nobel Prize. These could be discoveries, inventions, or works of literature that have earned their creators a Nobel Prize. In most cases, though, the connection is more complex or indirect. Nobel Prize-awarded discoveries have sown the seeds of developments that have gradually found application in everyday items. Even more often, Nobel Laureates have provided explanations about how our world works and about important natural phenomena.

This pavilion showcases examples of everyday items with links to Nobel Prize-awarded efforts. A touchscreen in the centre lets you both learn and test your knowledge about items in everyday life connected to the Nobel Prize.

The Nobel Prize and the Future, Nobel Prize: Ideas Changing the World Exhibition at ArtScience Museum, Marina Bay Sands

The Nobel Prize and the Future

What are the major challenges we will face tomorrow? We cannot know in advance. We can, however, identify areas that we believe are important to our future: energy and climate, water and food, disease and health, how literature changes, and creating a more peaceful world and more stable global economy.

Perhaps future Nobel Prizes will reward efforts that unlock the answers to problems we face in these areas. Might some of the past’s Nobel Prizes be important tomorrow, too? Could some clues about our future be found by developing achievements that have already received Nobel Prizes?

This pavilion invites you to consider how you view the future and how we can best meet its challenges. You will hear conversations between people with different ideas about what is most important to our future. Who is right? Perhaps they all are. If you could choose, what would you most like tomorrow’s Nobel Prizes to recognise?

Sydney Brenner

Sydney Brenner is one of the founding fathers of molecular biology. His work with notable scientists Francis Crick, Seymour Benzer, Francois Jacob, Matt Meselson, among many others, was critical in establishing this new and important field. 

After nearly 30 years of work in biotechnology, Sydney Brenner arrived in Singapore in 1983 at the invitation of the then Deputy Prime Minister Goh Keng Swee. Acting on the advice of Sydney Brenner, the Institute of Molecular and Cell Biology (IMCB) was formed, which is now a key catalyst in the growth of the biomedical sciences industry in Singapore. 

Sydney Brenner’s vast body of scientific work, in addition to his notable contributions to Singapore’s biotechnology field, has earned him numerous prestigious awards, culminating in the 2002 Nobel Prize in physiology or medicine for forging a new area of genetic research with the nematode worm, C. elegans.