极简主义极简主义

极简主义:空间 光 物

11 月 16 日开幕

今年 11 月,艺术科学博物馆与新加坡国家美术馆联合推出整个东南亚地区的首场极简主义艺术展。本次展览由新加坡国家美术馆发起,两家博物馆共同举办,通过 130 多件不同凡响的艺术作品,探索极具开拓性的极简主义运动源流,许多参展作品是第一次在新加坡亮相。

艺术科学博物馆的主题展将极简主义的根源追溯至 2,000 年前印度教与佛教的哲学思想与文字,并探讨了一位知名日本学者的禅宗实践。今天,许多极简主义者都曾受教于这位学者。展览收入许多有影响力的艺术家作品,比如 Mona Hatoum(黎巴嫩/英国,1952 年)、Carmen Herrera(古巴-美国,1915 年)和 Richard Long(英国,1945 年)。此外,艺术科学博物馆还邀请多位亚洲艺术家参展,包括宋冬(中国,1966 年)、谭平(中国,1960 年)和蔡佳葳(越南/法国/台湾,1980 年),透过他们的作品,呈现中国极繁主义,当代抽象主义和概念主义视野下的极简主义。

艺术科学博物馆的展览部分还收入了一些作品,思考虚空与“无”的观念。这些原则与极简主义和科学都存在共鸣,艺术科学家 Frederik De Wilde(比利时,1975 年)就在其作品中表现了这一点。极简主义之声与实验派音乐的重要性在特设的“声音展室”得到体现,也反映在一件由新加坡艺术家 Jeremy Sharma(新加坡,1977 年)全新创作的特约声效作品中。

新加坡国家美术馆承担的部分展览,探索了极简主义艺术自 20 世纪五十年代至今的发展,回顾它从绘画、雕塑到装置和沉浸式环境艺术的转变。展览收入过去 70 年来最重要的几位艺术家的作品,包括 Mark Rothko(美国,1903-1970)、Donald Judd(美国,1928-1994)、Yayoi Kusama(日本,1929)、Charlotte Posenenske(德国,1930-1985)、Lee Ufan(韩国/日本,1936)、Olafur Eliasson(丹麦/冰岛,1967)、Anish Kapoor(印度/英国,1954)、艾未未(中国,1957),以及新加坡艺术家 Kim Lim(1963-1997)和唐大雾(1943)。

展览开放期间,两处场馆都将举办音乐、电影和舞蹈表演,展现极简主义对其他艺术形式的影响。

 

关于新加坡国家美术馆

新加坡国家美术馆是一家视觉艺术机构,其现代艺术公共收藏规模在新加坡和东南亚位居第一。美术馆坐落于市政区的中心,由市政厅和前最高法院大楼这两座具有国家纪念意义的历史建筑构成。经过修复与重建,成为今天的国家美术馆。美术馆在其常设展与特展中,展出来自新加坡国家馆藏 (The National Collection) 的本国及东南亚艺术作品,体现着新加坡独特的文化传统与地理位置。美术馆还与各国博物馆合作,联合推出全球背景下的东南亚艺术,让新加坡成为一个地区乃至国际性的视觉艺术中心。

2016 年,因其对新加坡旅游业蓬勃发展所做的贡献,美术馆在著名的新加坡旅游大奖评选中荣获“最佳景点体验”、“突破性旅游贡献”和“最佳客户服务(景点类)”等奖项。

MinimalismMinimalism

Minimalism: Space. Light. Object.

Opens 16 Nov

This November, ArtScience Museum and National Gallery Singapore are collaborating on the presentation of the first exhibition of Minimalism in Southeast Asia. Initiated by the National Gallery Singapore and spread across both museums, the history and legacy of this groundbreaking movement is explored through more than 130 extraordinary works of art — many being shown in Singapore for the first time.

ArtScience Museum’s thematic exhibition traces the roots of Minimalism back to the 2000 year old texts that formed the basis for Hinduism and Buddhism, and the Zen Buddhist practices of a Japanese scholar who taught many of those now associated with Minimalism. Alongside the work of influential artists such as Mona Hatoum (Lebanon/UK, 1952); Carmen Herrera (Cuba-USA, 1915) and Richard Long (UK, 1945), ArtScience Museum’s exhibition references Minimalism as seen in Chinese Maximalism, contemporary abstraction and conceptualism through the work of Asian artists such as Song Dong (China, 1966); Tan Ping (China, 1960) and Charwai Tsai (Vietnam/France/Taiwan, 1980) amongst others.

ArtScience Museum’s exhibition also includes works that meditate on notions of the void and ‘nothingness’ – principles that resonate with both Minimalism and science as seen in the work of art-scientist Frederik De Wilde (Belgium, 1975).  The importance of minimalist sound and experimental composition is reflected in a dedicated Sound Room as well as in a newly commissioned soundwork by Singaporean artist Jeremy Sharma (Singapore, 1977).

National Gallery Singapore’s exhibition explores the development of Minimal art from the 1950s to the present day, tracing its shift from painting to sculpture, to installations and immersive environments. It features work by some of the most significant artists of the past 70 years, including Mark Rothko (USA, 1903-1970), Donald Judd (USA, 1928-1994); Yayoi Kusama (Japan, 1929); Charlotte Posenenske (Germany, 1930-1985); Lee Ufan (Korea/Japan, 1936); Olafur Eliasson (Denmark/Iceland, 1967); Anish Kapoor (India/UK, 1954); Ai Weiwei (China, 1957); as well as Singaporean artists Kim Lim (1963-1997) and Tang Da Wu (1943).

Throughout the duration of the exhibition, both venues will host music, film and dance events, showcasing the impact Minimalism has had on many other art forms.

 

About National Gallery Singapore

National Gallery Singapore is a visual arts institution which oversees the largest public collection of modern art in Singapore and Southeast Asia. Situated in the heart of the Civic District, the Gallery is housed in two national monuments - City Hall and former Supreme Court that have been beautifully restored and transformed into this exciting venue. Reflecting Singapore’s unique heritage and geographical location, the Gallery features Singapore and Southeast Asian art from Singapore’s National Collection in its long-term and special exhibitions. The Gallery also works with international museums to jointly present Southeast Asian art in the global context, positioning Singapore as a regional and international hub for the visual arts.

In 2016, the Gallery won the awards for “Best Attraction Experience”, “Breakthrough Contribution to Tourism” and “Best Customer Service (Attractions)” at the prestigious Singapore Tourism Awards for its role in adding to the vibrancy of Singapore’s tourism landscape.