所有的可能 (All possible paths):滨海湾金沙展现理查德·费曼的求知人生所有的可能 (All possible paths):理查德·费曼的求知人生

所有的可能 (All possible paths):理查德·费曼的求知人生

2018 年 10 月 20 至 2019 年 3 月 3 日
深入感受诺贝尔奖获得者理查德·费曼的求知之心,在他的鼓舞下探索生活中所有的可能,广泛挖掘非凡发现,影响我们的未来。

在新加坡南洋理工大学(新加坡 NTU)和瑞典诺贝尔博物馆的通力合作,以及新加坡国立大学量子技术中心 (CQT) 的大力支持下,艺术科学博物馆策划并制作了这场全新展览,展出诺贝尔获奖物理学家理查德·费曼的辉煌与多面人生。

理查德·费曼是 20 世纪极具影响力的物理学家之一,“所有的可能”是对他诞辰一百周年的纪念。费曼是一位美国理论物理学家,以量子力学方面的研究闻名于世。量子力学是现代物理学的基础,也是我们今天日常生活中随处可见的一些技术成果的前提。费曼于 1965 年获得诺贝尔奖,他的研究工作永远地改变了物理学家思考问题的方式。

此次展出借助艺术、科学以及突出的当代设计形式,传达了费曼作品对于今天人们的重要意义与影响。展览展现了费曼的好奇天性和非常规的思维模式如何促使他探索诸多可能的人生道路,包括艺术和音乐。展览包括费曼的私人信件、文章、照片,以及他那只著名的邦戈鼓和他的亲笔画作,都是首次在美国之外的地方与公众见面。

展览的核心内容包括装置艺术、雕塑和沉浸式环境艺术。创作这些展品的是多位当代艺术家,包括王俊豪 (Jun Ong)、弗雷德里克·德·怀尔德 (Frederick De Wilde)、隅英二、::vtol::、爱德华·塔夫特 (Edward Tufte) 等人。他们的艺术作品带领观众更深入地领略费曼的科学世界。

展览分四个主题部分,带领观众走进现代历史上极为重要的一位科学家的世界,展示他的科学发现如何彻底地改变了我们对自然的理解。

“所有的可能”是今年世界各地百年费曼纪念活动的一个组成部分,各地都有纪念性大会和庆祝活动。NTU 也举办了名为“Richard Feynman at 100”的大型科学会议(10 月 22 日至 24 日)。

探索理查德·费曼的求知人生
理查德·费曼
1956 年理查德·费曼与邦戈鼓剪影,图片由加州理工学院档案馆提供
理查德·费曼
1963 年理查德·费曼演讲剪影,图片由加州理工学院档案馆提供
波之精髓理查德·费曼
::vtol::,波之精髓 (wave is my nature),2015 年,声光电混合装置艺术,图片由艺术家提供
理查德·费曼肖像画
理查德·费曼肖像画
文集
作为百年费曼纪念活动的一部分,费曼的好友和同事也撰写文章,缅怀这位科学家。这些文章可以下载。
 
互动
计划

公共导览

英语公共导览
周五家庭欢聚日,11 月 2 日、9 日、16 日和 30 日 | 下午 3:00 至下午 3:45
周六,11 月 3 日、10 日和 24 日 | 下午 5:00 至下午 5:45
周日,11 月 4 日、11 日和 25 日 | 下午 5:00 至下午 5:45

中文普通话公共导览
周六,11 月 3 日、10 日和 24 日 | 下午 2:30 至下午 3:15
周日,11 月 4 日、11 日和 25 日 | 下午 2:30 至下午 3:15
地点:展览入口,地下 2 层

跟随我们的导览一窥理查德·费曼的精神世界,了解他的思想如何启发了今天科学界的一些最激动人心的点子。

*免费向费曼纪念活动的持票者开放。最多限 25 位参加者。数量有限,先到先得

费曼的纳米世界!

周五家庭欢聚日,11 月 2 日、9 日、16 日和 30 日 | 下午 4:30 至下午 5:30
地点:彩虹屋,地下 2 层

在这个可以亲自动手操作的工作坊探索纳米世界的神奇。和朋友一起找到我们日常生活中的微字母,尝试破译来自朋友的密码!

*每位参与者仅需新币 5 元。最多限 20 位参与者,名额有限,先到先得。

点击此处预订我们的工作坊

合作伙伴

“所有的可能”是艺术科学博物馆、南洋理工大学以及诺贝尔中心合作的结晶,承蒙米歇尔·费曼和加州理工学院量子技术中心出借主要展品,为本次展览作出巨大贡献。

 

南洋理工大学

新加坡南洋理工大学 (NTU) 属于研究型公立高校,拥有约 33,000 名本科生和研究生,分属工学、商学、科学、人文、艺术、社会科学学部以及跨学科研究生院。学校还与伦敦帝国理工学院合作设立了李光前医学院。

NTU 也是世界一流自主学院的所在地,包括国立教育学院、拉惹勒南国际研究院、新加坡地球观测与研究所和新加坡环境生物工程中心,另外还容纳了南洋环境与水源研究院 (NEWRI) 、南洋理工大学能源研究所 (ERI@N) ​等多家领军研究中心。

NTU 在世界大学排名中名列全球第 12 位,已成为过去五年中全世界最顶尖的年轻高校。主校区经常被列入全球 15 大最美丽的大学校园行列。



诺贝尔博物馆

这位诺贝尔巨匠的勇气、创造力和毅力不断激励着我们,为我们展现未来的希望。诺贝尔中心与诺贝尔奖一样跨越自然科学、文学与和平等领域,组织有关当代重大问题的展览、学校课程、讲座和对话。

在过去的 20 年里,诺贝尔中心的巡回展览已经遍及世界各地。中心与教师队伍通力合作,和数千名热情求知的学生面对面交流。中心在斯德哥尔摩和奥斯陆举办和展览、国际会议、数字渠道和活动,力求打造平台,让敢于挑战现状、勇于提出新问题、秉承新思维和愿意为改造世界做贡献的人群邂逅彼此。




新加坡国立大学量子技术中心 (CQT)

新加坡国立大学量子技术中心 (CQT)是新加坡的国家级卓越研究中心。它汇集了物理学家、计算机科学家和工程师,开展量子物理学基础研究,基于量子现象构建设备。量子技术新型学科的一众专家正努力将自己的发现成果应用于计算、通信和传感领域。

2007 年 12 月,CQT 在新加坡国家研究基金会和教育部的支持下成立。中心由新加坡国立大学主办,在南洋理工大学和新加坡科技设计大学也设有人员。

债权人
加州理工学院

加州理工学院是享誉全球的科学与工程学院,融汇了全世界最聪慧的头脑和最具创意的工具,致力于解决基本科学问题,化解迫在眉睫的社会挑战。加州理工学院出众的师生队伍正在拓宽我们对宇宙的理解,发明未来技术,研究方向涵盖了量子科学与工程、生物信息学、生命本原乃至人类行为、经济学、能源和可持续发展。

加州理工学院规模虽不巨大,但珍视卓越与雄心。学院教员和校友创造的贡献已经赢得了国家和国际认可,曾拿下 38 项诺贝尔奖。学院负责管理美国太空总署喷气推进实验室 (JPL),发送探测器,探测太阳系各大行星,量化地球变化;拥有并运营着多处大型科研设施,如地震实验室和全球天文观测台网络,包括帕洛马山和凯克天文台;协同建立并管理激光干涉引力波天文台 (LIGO),2016 年该台首次观测到了引力波。


理查德·费曼之女米歇尔·费曼 (Michelle Feynman) 在此次展览的筹办中发挥了不可或缺的作用。她慷慨地出借了多件其父生前的私人物品,比如私人书信、家庭照片、他的邦戈鼓,还有他的多件绘画作品。

All Possible Paths: Richard Feynman’s Curious Lifeat Marina Bay SandsAll Possible Paths: Richard Feynman’s Curious Life

All Possible Paths: Richard Feynman’s Curious Life

20 October 2018 till 3 March 2019
Be inspired by the curiosity that drove Nobel Prize winner Richard Feynman to explore all possible paths in life, leading to many extraordinary discoveries that could impact our future.

The brilliant and multi-faceted life of Nobel Prize winning physicist Richard Feynman is being showcased in a brand new exhibition, curated and produced by ArtScience Museum, in collaboration with Nanyang Technological University, Singapore (NTU Singapore) and the Nobel Museum in Sweden, with support from the Centre for Quantum Technologies (CQT) at the National University of Singapore.

All Possible Paths marks the centenary of one of the most influential physicists of the 20th century, Richard Feynman. Feynman was an American theoretical physicist known for his work in quantum mechanics — the basis of modern physics and of many technological advances that now feature in our everyday lives. Feynman received the Nobel Prize in 1965, and his work changed the way physicists think forever.

All Possible Paths uses both art and science, as well as striking contemporary design, to convey the importance and relevance of Feynman’s work for today’s audiences. The exhibition shows how Feynman's curious nature and unconventional thinking drove him to explore many paths in life, including art and music. It includes personal letters, papers, photographs, Feynman’s famous bongo drums and his own paintings, which are being exhibited outside of the United States for the first time. 

At the centre of the exhibitions are installations, sculptures and immersive environments created by contemporary artists such as Jun Ong, Frederick De Wilde, Eiji Sumi, ::vtol::, Edward Tufte and others, which take visitors deeper into Feynman's science through art.

Presented in four thematic sections, the show transports visitors into the world of one of the most important scientists of modern times, and shows how his discoveries have revolutionised our understanding of nature.

All Possible Paths is part of the Feynman Centenary, which is being celebrated around the world this year, with conferences and festivities, including a major scientific conference at NTU called, Richard Feynman at 100 (22-24 October).

Explore Richard Feynman’s Curious Life
Richard Feynman
Richard Feynman with bongo drums, 1956, Courtesy of Caltech Archives
Richard Feynman
Richard Feynman giving a lecture, 1963, Courtesy of Caltech Archives
wave is my nature Richard Feynman
::vtol::, wave is my nature, 2015, Mixed media installation, Courtesy of the artist
Portrait illustration of Richard Feynman
Portrait illustration of Richard Feynman 
Essays
Feynman’s friends and colleagues have contributed essays to share their memories of him as part of the celebration for his centenary, the essays are available for download.
 
Interactives
Programmes

Public Guided Tours

English Public Guided Tours
Family Friday 14 & 28 December | 3.00pm - 3.45pm
Saturday 1, 8, 15, 22 & 29 December | 5.00pm - 5.45pm
Sunday 2, 9, 16, 23 & 30 December | 5.00pm - 5.45pm

Mandarin Public Guided Tours
Saturday 1, 8, 15, 22 & 29 December | 2.30pm - 3.15pm
Sunday 2, 9, 16, 23 & 30 December | 2.30pm - 3.15pm
Venue: Exhibition Entrance, Basement 2

Join our guided tour to peer into the mind of Richard Feynman and discover how his thinking has provided the starting point for some of the most exciting ideas in science today.

*Complimentary to ticket-holders of Feynman. Up to 25 participants on a first-come, first-served basis

‘Feyn’ out about Nano!

Family Friday 14 & 28 December | 4.30pm - 5.30pm
Venue: Rainbow Room, Basement 2

Explore the wonders of the nano world in this hands-on workshop. Work with your friends to find the micro-letters in our daily lives and have a go at ‘decoding the quote’ from your friend!

*$5 per participant. Up to 20 participants on a first-come, first-served basis.

Click here to book our workshops

Partners

All Possible Paths is a collaboration between ArtScience Museum, Nanyang Technological University and Nobel Centre, with key contributions and loans from the Centre for Quantum Technologies, California Institute of Technology and Michelle Feynman.

 

Nanyang Technological University

A research-intensive public university, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore (NTU) has around 33,000 undergraduate and postgraduate students in colleges of Engineering, Business, Science, Humanities, Arts, & Social Sciences and its Interdisciplinary Graduate School. It also has a medical school, the Lee Kong Chian School of Medicine, set up jointly with Imperial College London.

NTU is also home to world-class autonomous institutes – the National Institute of Education, S Rajaratnam School of International Studies, Earth Observatory of Singapore, and Singapore Centre for Environmental Life Sciences Engineering – and various leading research centres such as the Nanyang Environment & Water Research Institute (NEWRI) and Energy Research Institute @ NTU (ERI@N).

Ranked 12th in the world, NTU has been placed as the world’s top young university for the past five years. The University’s main campus is frequently listed among the top 15 most beautiful university campuses in the world.



Nobel Museum

The courage, creativity and persistence of the Nobel Laureates inspires and gives us hope for the future. Based on the Nobel Prize’s unique combination of fields – natural sciences, literature and peace – the Nobel Center c/o organizes exhibitions, school programmes, lectures and dialogues about the great issues of our time.

Over the past 20 years, the Nobel Center c/o’s travelling exhibitions have toured all over the world. The center have worked together with teachers and met thousands of curious school children. With the exhibitions, international meetings, digital channels and activities in Stockholm and Oslo, the center aims to create encounters between people – people who dare to challenge the status quo, who want to ask new questions and think new thoughts, who want to contribute to a better world.




The Centre for Quantum Technologies (CQT)

The Centre for Quantum Technologies (CQT) is a National Research Centre of Excellence in Singapore. It brings together physicists, computer scientists and engineers to carry out basic research on quantum physics and to build devices based on quantum phenomena. Experts in this new discipline of quantum technologies are applying their discoveries in the fields of computing, communications and sensing.

CQT was established in December 2007 with support from Singapore’s National Research Foundation and Ministry of Education. It is hosted by the National University of Singapore and also has staff based at Nanyang Technological University and Singapore University of Technology and Design.

Lenders
Caltech

Caltech is a world-renowned science and engineering Institute that marshals some of the world's brightest minds and most innovative tools to address fundamental scientific questions and pressing societal challenges. Caltech's extraordinary faculty and students are expanding our understanding of the universe and inventing the technologies of the future, with research interests from quantum science and engineering to bioinformatics and the nature of life itself, from human behavior and economics to energy and sustainability.

Caltech is small but prizes excellence and ambition. The contributions of Caltech's faculty and alumni have earned national and international recognition, including 38 Nobel Prizes. The Institute manages the Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL) for NASA, sending probes to explore the planets of our solar system and quantify changes on our home planet; owns and operates large-scale research facilities such as the Seismological Laboratory and a global network of astronomical observatories, including the Palomar and W. M. Keck Observatories; and cofounded and comanages LIGO, which, in 2016, observed gravitational waves for the first time.


Michelle Feynman, Richard Feynman’s daughter has played an integral part in creating this exhibition. She has kindly loaned many of her father’s personal items such as personal letters and family photographs, his bongos and a number of his paintings.